We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for basic comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive for basic comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Lodge is nicely done architecturally as it is spread out so as to present the property as the wooded wilderness that it is in a nearly natural way except, of course, for the roadways, parking lots and buildings. Staying at the Lodge is definitely not like checking into the usual commercial chain motel. It is rustic in its architecture and the lack of the standard pool/spa/gym as part of a monolithic building adds to the experience of being in the woods. The room was well maintained and clean. When a maintenance issue arose(failed light fixture) it was attended to immediately and corrected. Nevertheless, I do not believe that the price of lodging is justified.
I assume that the adjunct food service/restaurant review should be separate, but I cannot remain silent: The restaurant should be avoided if at all possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    381
    196
    79
    27
See reviews for
289
368
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed 4 nights over Labor Day weekend at a rate of $223 per night. For that we got a room lit by three 13 watt fluorescent lights and got no improvement when we complained. Nor did the staff react to the horribly squeaky bathroom door. There is no outdoor space with your room or near the hotel buildings- no chairs, tables or patio to enjoy the sounds, sights, and smells of the outdoors, nor do any of the rooms have a view other than the parking lot a or hillside. The main lodge dining room has horrible ventilation and was hot and stuffy because the architect did not allow for sufficient opening windows. The food is pricy, and while the ingredients are of good quality, it lacks any enhanced flavor at all - no spice nor sauce to enhance the basic ingredients. I will say to pay attention to the vegetable of the day, for it is generally fresh and interesting. The vegetables we had like broccolini and asparagus were tasty but cooked al dente so they had a crunch to them. Of curse, the wine list is incredibly pedestrian and over priced. A wine at Costco that was $6.99 was $34 at Wuksachi. Bring your own and pay the $10 corkage fee.
What else could go wrong? Our last night there, after having made reservations in the restaurant two weeks in advance of our stay, our reservation was claimed by someone else and we were relegated to the first available table. I complained and got some juvenile (they are teenagers after all) explanation of the party needing a place for 4? Huh? What does that have to do with us? No manager ever appeared to discuss our plight nor make an offer to improve the situation.
Wuksachi is part of the Delaware North Corporation monopoly in the US national parks. They bid to provide every concession in the parks so there is no competition. No competition for price, quality, or service. Because they employ mostly foreign teenagers who have no career path in mind, there is no sense of survival by providing responsive customer care.

There are a feew places outside the park between Wuksachi and Grants Grove that are in the National Forest and these places are run by locals. They may not appear as fancy but in the long run you will receive greater value there than by subsidizing the political profit maching of DNC.

Room Tip: Go some where else outside the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Background: we were travelling independently around California and Hawaii for a month and were keen to visit Sequoia for some hiking.
Arrival: no queue and a pleasant enough welcome. Nice reception and a great location. We were given the location of our room and advised where to park, which is not at the same place as the reception lodge. It really is not far from car to room, no effort and after all it is a NP.
Room: spacious, very clean and better than anticipated. Beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Small fridge. Very quiet at night.
Restaurant: this lodge is totally let down by the restaurant. We booked in advance (thanks for the previous Trip Advisor hint). The staff are great, but the food is really very poor. Having eaten beautiful fresh, interesting food it was such a disappointment as a vegetarian to be offered such dismal options. How about a nice salad bar, that way everyone could get plate food (even those who had been unable to book).
Would we return? Probably not, no great complaints apart from the restaurant, but it is expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our room was spacious, including a sofa and reading chair. The room and bathroom were extremely clean. The view from our room was spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It was fun to look out the window early in the morning and at dusk to watch several deer grazing in front of us. Sunset views from our window were wonderful and we loved watching a rainstorm approach and then see a rainbow emerge following the storm. Picture perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reseda, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

For those of us who don't do tent camping this hotel is a great alternative. It is a little pricey, but pretty much everything up in Sequoia is a bit high.
Place is operated by Delaware North Companies so the service is sometimes a bit lacking. Some minor issues I encountered that made this 4 stars:

Bathroom door handle did not lock
Sliding door in our superior room was about to fall off the hinge
Windows had these fans in them (which is nice because there is no AC in any of the buildings) but you couldn't close the window all the way or take the fan out to close the window (but it never got too cold inside)
Bathrooms in general were OK cleanliness-wise, same with the beds (though mine had some failed patchwork attempts on it)
Also we had a room change for the last night of our stay & the luggage got sent to the wrong room.

Something I was pleased with was that the National Park Service was installing some water meters & the hotel was very prompt in informing us before the service of when the water would be off and notifying us when it was turned back on.

Overall a fairly pleasant stay up in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: If you're not in the best of shape you may want to ask an employee to help you with your luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

The views from the room, from the lodge, from the buildings were all tremendous.

The staff was also very friendly. We had an awesome meal at the lodge as well (though expensive @ $130 for 2 people!!).

The rooms...meh. Did I mention the views? Seriously, the rooms are passable but the air conditioners don't work in them or are permanently turned off. There is no AC in the lodge either and it was a bit stuffy. The bed/bathroom were standard discount motel fare.

Room Tip: When they say "we offer help with your luggage" TAKE IT! The parking lot is at a much low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having stayed in a few National Park lodges, we always assume a rather bare bones type of place (i.e. Yosemite Lodge At The Falls) in a fabulous location, so Wuksachi Lodge was a pleasant surprise. Not a luxury property, but a good choice here. The main lodge (free Wi-Fi) houses the front desk, gift shop, restaurant, large fireplace and seating area. Front desk staff were super nice. Restaurant was very good for dinner. Breakfast was just okay (continental or hot buffet are offered).

Three large cabins are situated within walking distance to the lodge contain the rooms. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. No A/C, but cool at night, so wasn't necessary. Great hotel option for those traveling in Sequoia/King's Canyon National Parks because of location/amenities. There are plenty of camping options in the area, of course, but Wuksachi Lodge is a terrific alternative for the non-camping set (like us!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi
Wuksachi Village And Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.