We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good all-rounder” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good all-rounder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Reception desk wasn't very helpful, walkways around accommodation blocks and site generally very poorly lit. However, rooms were good and the location was stunning. Food expensive, stock up with snacks and drinks before arriving!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    476
    249
    94
    33
See reviews for
384
488
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Second visit to the Wuksachi lodge after 13 years. We love the place, hiking among these amazing sequoias. This lodge is a very convenient place to stay in this national park, away from the crowds. The rooms are quite dated but offer everything you need, and they are spacious. The restaurant is nice, but the food is not exceptional. Surprised that theres is no orange juice at breakfast ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed one night, and overall, everything was fine.

We only had three frustrations:

The first frustration was that we had requested our box lunches be prepared for 11:00am for the following day, the receptionist had made the official request, but the following day, the lunch was not available until 12Noon. Even after the receptionist that morning continued to request the lunch be made. I think it had something to do with when the restaurant people start their shifts and a possible cultural/language/work ethic breakdown between the Reception and the support staff. I think that some people working at this location are not quite familiar with American English and American work Ethic culture. Please make sure that all supporting staff is trained for both. The receptionists were great, no problem with them.

The second frustration was that the sofa bed was slightly broken and very uncomfortable.

The third frustration was there was no air-conditioning.

Other than that, everything was pretty and fine.

Even saw some deer around the lodge.

Room Tip: there was no air-conditioner in our room, during the day it gets a little warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed three nights at the lodge last week. After reading some reviews I was wondering what to expect of the lodge. Happy to report that while it is not the St regis for a National park lodge it was quite comfortable, clean and spacious.
We have stayed three times at the Yosemite lodge and this was certainly nicer.
If I could compare to the similar priced property in Yosemite the one item the location lacked was comfortable if any chairs near the lodge buildings . Late afternoon or after dinner I always enjoyed sitting on our patio at the Yosemite lodge .
Here the nearest chairs are at the main building a bit of a schlep away. I suggest having some nice adirondack chairs available.
The restaurant was quite good for a National park and the servers quite helpful with my wife's gluten issues
All in all a great time

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wuksachi Lodge is in a great location near the center of Sequoia National Park. It is located just off the Generals Highway about 10 minutes from the Lodgepole Visitor Center and very close to most of the main hikes and attractions of Sequoia Park. This hotel is not in Kings Canyon National Park and is an hour drive from Grants Grove and about 2 to 2.5 hours to the bottom of Kings Canyon (5 hours round trip). Don't stay here if you are planning on spending lots of time in Kings Canyon.

The Lodge is nice and is in a great location. Ignore the more negative reviews of the lodge on this site as most of the bad reviews focus on things that have little importance compared to being inside the fantastic park. After reading some of the reviews I warned my wife that our hotel room may be old and worn out. We were really surprised when we walked in the door and everything looked clean and relatively new. This hotel even has cable TV (some National Park lodges are rustic and do not have TV’s).

The Lodge consists of a main registration building with a restaurant and then three actual lodges about a half a block from the registration building. There is lots of parking near the three lodges but the parking for the registration building is not near the front desk (maybe they planned it that way so you can see nature while eating in the restaurant instead of a parking lot). We stayed in the third lodge which is the farthest from the registration lodge – but the walk is still not bad. There is a slight walk up a gradual hill from the parking lot to the rooms (and no elevator in the building). They have a bunch of luggage carts you can use for free or the front desk will send someone over to help you (for a tip). This short walk did not bother me except I forgot a snack in the car and had to go out later in the evening to retrieve it before the bears became active and wrecked my rental car. The parking lot is VERY dark at night.

Overall my wife and I were very happy with our stay at this lodge and recommend it. Also, if you are planning on spending more than one day in the park you have to stay in a park property (as the drive into the Park is very slow). Staying outside the Park in Three Rivers and driving in everyday will take way too much time. Also, if you suffer from motion sickness the drive in from Three Rivers winds around the mountain and may cause a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've read mixed reviews here about the Wuksachi Lodge and did want to share we enjoyed our stay. We weren't there for hotel service, food etc. and we didn't have kids to care for, so things may have been easier for us. We were simply there for the National Forest. College students from all over the world who are majoring in the service industry do internships at the Wuksachi Lodge. That means interns are ALWAYS being trained so things, especially in the restaurant are going to take longer that what one might expect. They work in the kitchen, at the front desk and provide all kinds of other customer services including translating for visitors.

Our room was fine. It was comfortable, simple and clean. It was nice to also have a mini-frig. If you're expecting that you're going to get awesome service, it's important to remember that everything has to be "imported" into the park, including all of the food - and all the garbage has to be exported OUT of the National Park. The Lodge offered shuttle services to most of the local venues so you didn't have to drive your car if you didn't want to. They also offered a BBQ night where hotel guests could eat outside and enjoy stories that were told by individuals in period costumes. They depicted life in the area as it would have been like for the earliest settlers. We also had a really cool time during the start gazing event hosted by the Lodge.

Again, you just have to remember you're in a national park, and things are going to be different in every sense of the word. Most of the time we spent in our room was "recovery time." Staying at the Lodge enabled us to do everything we wanted to do in the park. We had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Our room faced the woods so every morning deer would graze right outside our window. The deer grazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room in the Stewart building (3rd floor, 2nd floor is the main entry floor, so only 1 flight of stairs to go up). Our room faced the forest behind the building, which was beautiful. The room itself wasn't fancy, kind of equivalent to like a Days Inn. 2 Queen beds, mini frig, easy chair, table with 2 chairs, desk/chair. There was a ceiling fan and a window fan, which kept the room cool (we didn't even miss the AC). As many reviewers have said before it's pricey compared to regular chain hotels but for a one-time trip it was super-close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor require no stairs to access them. Ask for a room facing the forest (not the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.