We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Support staff needs to listen to the requests made by reception desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Support staff needs to listen to the requests made by reception desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed one night, and overall, everything was fine.

We only had three frustrations:

The first frustration was that we had requested our box lunches be prepared for 11:00am for the following day, the receptionist had made the official request, but the following day, the lunch was not available until 12Noon. Even after the receptionist that morning continued to request the lunch be made. I think it had something to do with when the restaurant people start their shifts and a possible cultural/language/work ethic breakdown between the Reception and the support staff. I think that some people working at this location are not quite familiar with American English and American work Ethic culture. Please make sure that all supporting staff is trained for both. The receptionists were great, no problem with them.

The second frustration was that the sofa bed was slightly broken and very uncomfortable.

The third frustration was there was no air-conditioning.

Other than that, everything was pretty and fine.

Even saw some deer around the lodge.

Room Tip: there was no air-conditioner in our room, during the day it gets a little warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    381
    196
    79
    27
See reviews for
289
368
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed three nights at the lodge last week. After reading some reviews I was wondering what to expect of the lodge. Happy to report that while it is not the St regis for a National park lodge it was quite comfortable, clean and spacious.
We have stayed three times at the Yosemite lodge and this was certainly nicer.
If I could compare to the similar priced property in Yosemite the one item the location lacked was comfortable if any chairs near the lodge buildings . Late afternoon or after dinner I always enjoyed sitting on our patio at the Yosemite lodge .
Here the nearest chairs are at the main building a bit of a schlep away. I suggest having some nice adirondack chairs available.
The restaurant was quite good for a National park and the servers quite helpful with my wife's gluten issues
All in all a great time

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wuksachi Lodge is in a great location near the center of Sequoia National Park. It is located just off the Generals Highway about 10 minutes from the Lodgepole Visitor Center and very close to most of the main hikes and attractions of Sequoia Park. This hotel is not in Kings Canyon National Park and is an hour drive from Grants Grove and about 2 to 2.5 hours to the bottom of Kings Canyon (5 hours round trip). Don't stay here if you are planning on spending lots of time in Kings Canyon.

The Lodge is nice and is in a great location. Ignore the more negative reviews of the lodge on this site as most of the bad reviews focus on things that have little importance compared to being inside the fantastic park. After reading some of the reviews I warned my wife that our hotel room may be old and worn out. We were really surprised when we walked in the door and everything looked clean and relatively new. This hotel even has cable TV (some National Park lodges are rustic and do not have TV’s).

The Lodge consists of a main registration building with a restaurant and then three actual lodges about a half a block from the registration building. There is lots of parking near the three lodges but the parking for the registration building is not near the front desk (maybe they planned it that way so you can see nature while eating in the restaurant instead of a parking lot). We stayed in the third lodge which is the farthest from the registration lodge – but the walk is still not bad. There is a slight walk up a gradual hill from the parking lot to the rooms (and no elevator in the building). They have a bunch of luggage carts you can use for free or the front desk will send someone over to help you (for a tip). This short walk did not bother me except I forgot a snack in the car and had to go out later in the evening to retrieve it before the bears became active and wrecked my rental car. The parking lot is VERY dark at night.

Overall my wife and I were very happy with our stay at this lodge and recommend it. Also, if you are planning on spending more than one day in the park you have to stay in a park property (as the drive into the Park is very slow). Staying outside the Park in Three Rivers and driving in everyday will take way too much time. Also, if you suffer from motion sickness the drive in from Three Rivers winds around the mountain and may cause a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've read mixed reviews here about the Wuksachi Lodge and did want to share we enjoyed our stay. We weren't there for hotel service, food etc. and we didn't have kids to care for, so things may have been easier for us. We were simply there for the National Forest. College students from all over the world who are majoring in the service industry do internships at the Wuksachi Lodge. That means interns are ALWAYS being trained so things, especially in the restaurant are going to take longer that what one might expect. They work in the kitchen, at the front desk and provide all kinds of other customer services including translating for visitors.

Our room was fine. It was comfortable, simple and clean. It was nice to also have a mini-frig. If you're expecting that you're going to get awesome service, it's important to remember that everything has to be "imported" into the park, including all of the food - and all the garbage has to be exported OUT of the National Park. The Lodge offered shuttle services to most of the local venues so you didn't have to drive your car if you didn't want to. They also offered a BBQ night where hotel guests could eat outside and enjoy stories that were told by individuals in period costumes. They depicted life in the area as it would have been like for the earliest settlers. We also had a really cool time during the start gazing event hosted by the Lodge.

Again, you just have to remember you're in a national park, and things are going to be different in every sense of the word. Most of the time we spent in our room was "recovery time." Staying at the Lodge enabled us to do everything we wanted to do in the park. We had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Our room faced the woods so every morning deer would graze right outside our window. The deer grazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room in the Stewart building (3rd floor, 2nd floor is the main entry floor, so only 1 flight of stairs to go up). Our room faced the forest behind the building, which was beautiful. The room itself wasn't fancy, kind of equivalent to like a Days Inn. 2 Queen beds, mini frig, easy chair, table with 2 chairs, desk/chair. There was a ceiling fan and a window fan, which kept the room cool (we didn't even miss the AC). As many reviewers have said before it's pricey compared to regular chain hotels but for a one-time trip it was super-close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor require no stairs to access them. Ask for a room facing the forest (not the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Indeed, as many others have noted, the Wuksachi Lodge is perfectly located with spectacular views. And, you are a captive audience as there are not a lot of other choices for lodging nor food. This hotel has the potential to live up to the luxury that is implied by its cost, but falls far short because of management shortcomings. We had booked adjoining rooms for our family of five and were told that we had two sleep sofas in an adjoining room to the master bedroom. In fact, one of the sofa beds was in the master bedroom and did not even have a mattress in it. Hence, one of our sons had to sleep on the floor. The room did not appear to have been vacuumed before our stay. The staff at the front desk, while pleasant, couldn't seem to diverge from their scripts and thus, seemed incompetent. Finally, the food in the restaurant, while good, took longer to arrive than it should have for a good restaurant. I am glad we were not in a hurry. And, it was very expensive for what it was. There are lots of opportunities here for hotel management improvement. In contrast, we had a wonderful stay at Bear Paw Camp and I cannot say enough good things about the facility and the staff. It is hard to believe they are managed by the same people.

Room Tip: If you are planning on using sofa bed(s) in your room, make sure that they (first) have a mattress a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The lodge is almost central to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon and therefore perfect for exploring both parks. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Public areas were pleasant. Our only knock was food. You are a captive audience, so really no choices. Breakfast was expensive although you could opt for just continental. Beware of dinner the day of arrival. The restaurant was booked solid so either eat at 10:00PM (not good for the kids) or carry your dinner to your room. Book dinner ahead and you should be fine.
They offered to help with luggage and we declined, but then found a steep hill to climb to the lodge buildings. We should have accepted their help. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi
Wuksachi Village And Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.