We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The lodge is almost central to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon and therefore perfect for exploring both parks. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Public areas were pleasant. Our only knock was food. You are a captive audience, so really no choices. Breakfast was expensive although you could opt for just continental. Beware of dinner the day of arrival. The restaurant was booked solid so either eat at 10:00PM (not good for the kids) or carry your dinner to your room. Book dinner ahead and you should be fine.
They offered to help with luggage and we declined, but then found a steep hill to climb to the lodge buildings. We should have accepted their help. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    509
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
400
536
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice location to enjoy the park, room was modern compared to most other parks hotels or lodges, look to be built in the 1990's kind of dormer feel.
RESTURANT food was good, but could of used air condition or at least a better air cooling system,
Plenty of wild life around including bears, see some dumb kids chasing a bear while their even dumber parents were taking pictures. I Guest that nature will clean up the gene pool?
Nice hikes located near by.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

There are limited options to stay within Sequoia National Park other than camping; Wuksachi is a convenient location and offers what you need, but is a bit worn in terms of the hotel rooms. I would stay there again for the convenience of being at the national park. We very much enjoyed our stay and recommend it for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This lodge, right in the middle of Sequoia park's main attractions, could not be better located. The setting is really nice and the restaurant/breakfast area has got nice views. Nevertheless, like most lodges within National parks, the rooms are a bit dated (but clean in that case).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresópolis, RJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Unforgettable experience. Stay inside this Park is amazing. Wuksachi Lodge offers really big rooms, nice service and good food. The only problem is to take bags from the parking lot to the room when the path is frozen, this was the only bad experience in this trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was really was looking forward to staying here. The location in the middle of Sequoia was terrific and gorgeous. We loved seeing the wildlife right outside our building and the views were wonderful, but, the hotel could use some updates. The rooms were mediocre with a "deluxe" simply being a regular room with a popped out wall for a rollaway. The rooms needed some updating...I was thinking rustic, but these rooms were ordinary. The food at the restaurant was good, especially the breakfast, but very pricey. Unfortunately, they do not accommodate early hikers or others. There was no way to get a very early breakfast or even make one with a microwave. I also totally agree with an earlier reviewer regarding more outside seating. A wraparound deck at the lodge would be wonderful to sit and look at The views and enjoy cocktails or snacks. They definitely under-utilize the property. It has so much potential, but, seems to need a makeover of sorts especially for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really liked this hotel however, there are several improvements needed to make it more comfortable and accommondating for the traveler; especially with the cost of the hotel. The good thing was the location within the park made it easy to get to the various sites at Sequoia and Kings Canyon. However, the improvements needed include: there needs to outdoor seating near each cabin section. We stayed at Stewart and we would have loved to been able to sit outside in the evening and enjoy the sunset and visit with other guests. Secondly, there should be more seating near the lodge/resturant area. Every night we tried to go and sit outside there, however we could never get a seat. The lodge needs to extend the porch around to the side or other areas so that at least 30 guests can sit outside. It was far too hot to sit inside when we visited in July. Also, there should be free coffee provided in the lodge or in each cabin reception area. I don't really like the idea of coffee pots in the rooms and I really, really hate the idea that the coffee cups are just wiped out and not replaced! Please stop this practice as it is disguisting. I much more prefer that a large coffee station be maintained in the lobby of each cabin /lodge and let us drink have a good quality coffee experience! Lastly, there needs to be another type of food options here. Like a deli or small resturant that maintains good quality food for a lower cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.