We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet seclusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quiet seclusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This property has many endearing qualities. First, the location is excellent for traveling in and around Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. The accommodations are about what you might expect. It was clean and comfortable but rustic. We had a great time in the parks. The WiFi at the Lodge was spotty at best and cellphone and 3G/4G coverage is very limited in this park system. Don't expect to have good access. Enjoy the out of doors and relax. I would go back to this hotel again. The food at the onsite restaurant was fair. The service at the restaurant was sometimes good and sometimes not. Definitely not a 4 or 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    457
    240
    91
    32
See reviews for
371
460
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just remember you are in a National Park Lodge. We stayed in the Stewart building and the rooms are average but large. The mattress and pillows are quite worn. We went in late June during a very hot spell. The rooms were quite hot even when we had the ceiling fan, small fan and window fan blowing. It did cool down the first night but the second night was very hot. Learned quickly to make reservations for dinner right at check-in. Food was ok and staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely return during cooler season of the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Comfortable accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location, and of course there is plenty to explore in the surrounding national park. Plenty of wildlife - deer roam nearby and don't seem concerned about proximity to humans.

About the only challenge is dining. The rooms have no self-catering, so you have to look elsewhere. The Lodge restaurant is fine, but a little expensive and pretentiously ambitious. It is fine to eat there once - but you might not want to dine that way every night. Similarly the breakfast buffet is a little pricey for what it is. At the other end of the spectrum the nearby Lodgepole offers a rather unpleasant burger outlet (smelly inside, fly-blown outside) and a more reasonable deli which is only open for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge for one night. There are a lot of trails right off the main parking lot. But as a runner, the trail to Lodgepole isn't an easy one most of it is down hill and it is full of loose rocks so be careful! It is a great walking trail though.. Beautiful scenery. Returning to the room from an exhausting day of hiking and exploring the Sequoia National Park was fantastic. Large rooms, hot shower what more could you ask for? We had reservations at the restaurant in the lodge at 7:45 and we arrived 10 minutes early and checked in but we were told we could not be seated, although 2/3 of the restaurant was empty. (Strike one) Once we were seated it took about 15 minutes just to get our drink order in. and we didn't get bread (Strike two) Once we ordered our meals it took about an hour for the food to come out which was ridiculous considering how small the portions were. Plus, they got my brothers order wrong and still charged us extra. (Strike three) The penne pasta was very good and although they had poor service their chocolate mousse cake was exceptional! A drive into Lodgepole for lunch or dinner is well worth it. Overall, I was very happy with my stay at the Wuksachi Lodge and I will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Last minute reservation but scored a gem. Used 2 superior rooms which were expensive but probably par for the course. The majestic scenery combined with an ample facility made our stay memorable. We scored a bear sighting on the morning. The only negative experience was the lodge touted 'wolverton BBQ'. They advertised to arrive any time 5-7:30 but we discovered if you were not there at 5, you may as well skip it. Food was interesting, entertainment mediocre at best. Stick with the lodge restaurant breakfast, box lunch or dinner and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Sequoia, and staying at the Wuksachi was a great part of it. On the first morning, we woke up early and walked out the door to see a family of deer munching away on the bushes outside the lodge. Where else do you get that, and hot showers at the end of a long day of hiking? To be sure, the lodge is relatively simple in decor but the rooms are large and comfortable (we had a family of four in one room with an extra bed with no problem at all). Breakfast at the lodge was great, with a choice of full buffet with everything for $12 and half buffet (basically fruit, cereal, yogurt and pastries) for $6. We had dinner there one night but were not very impressed by the offerings (the salmon was too salty and the vegan burger inedible). With respect to the negative reviews, if one wants a nice, comfortable place to sleep and shower while spending most of one's time exploring the park then the Wuksachi is a great place. If one wants a full service five star hotel, this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, saw a bear so giving this place 5 stars. Rooms comfy, dinner booked 1 day in advance, yummy raspberry champagne cocktail and v enjoyable experience all round. Most expensive place on trip but thought loads better than Yosemite experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.