We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge for one night. There are a lot of trails right off the main parking lot. But as a runner, the trail to Lodgepole isn't an easy one most of it is down hill and it is full of loose rocks so be careful! It is a great walking trail though.. Beautiful scenery. Returning to the room from an exhausting day of hiking and exploring the Sequoia National Park was fantastic. Large rooms, hot shower what more could you ask for? We had reservations at the restaurant in the lodge at 7:45 and we arrived 10 minutes early and checked in but we were told we could not be seated, although 2/3 of the restaurant was empty. (Strike one) Once we were seated it took about 15 minutes just to get our drink order in. and we didn't get bread (Strike two) Once we ordered our meals it took about an hour for the food to come out which was ridiculous considering how small the portions were. Plus, they got my brothers order wrong and still charged us extra. (Strike three) The penne pasta was very good and although they had poor service their chocolate mousse cake was exceptional! A drive into Lodgepole for lunch or dinner is well worth it. Overall, I was very happy with my stay at the Wuksachi Lodge and I will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    478
    250
    95
    33
See reviews for
385
493
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Last minute reservation but scored a gem. Used 2 superior rooms which were expensive but probably par for the course. The majestic scenery combined with an ample facility made our stay memorable. We scored a bear sighting on the morning. The only negative experience was the lodge touted 'wolverton BBQ'. They advertised to arrive any time 5-7:30 but we discovered if you were not there at 5, you may as well skip it. Food was interesting, entertainment mediocre at best. Stick with the lodge restaurant breakfast, box lunch or dinner and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Sequoia, and staying at the Wuksachi was a great part of it. On the first morning, we woke up early and walked out the door to see a family of deer munching away on the bushes outside the lodge. Where else do you get that, and hot showers at the end of a long day of hiking? To be sure, the lodge is relatively simple in decor but the rooms are large and comfortable (we had a family of four in one room with an extra bed with no problem at all). Breakfast at the lodge was great, with a choice of full buffet with everything for $12 and half buffet (basically fruit, cereal, yogurt and pastries) for $6. We had dinner there one night but were not very impressed by the offerings (the salmon was too salty and the vegan burger inedible). With respect to the negative reviews, if one wants a nice, comfortable place to sleep and shower while spending most of one's time exploring the park then the Wuksachi is a great place. If one wants a full service five star hotel, this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, saw a bear so giving this place 5 stars. Rooms comfy, dinner booked 1 day in advance, yummy raspberry champagne cocktail and v enjoyable experience all round. Most expensive place on trip but thought loads better than Yosemite experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am shocked by the negative comments made by other reviewers. You are in a national park! If you are looking for the Ritz, you are in the wrong place and should plan a different type of vacation. If you are out to enjoy nature with comfort and relaxation in mind, this is your place. Is the WiFi great? No. But once again, you are in a national park! If you cannot make do with limited technology for a short time, then once again, you are in the wrong place. We LOVED everything about our stay here. Immedaiately after arriving, we set off on a short walk from a trail on the property. Within five minutes, we saw our first bear! Amazing! The rooms, while not luxurious, are very clean and satisfactory. All staff (gift shop, desk, cleaning) were all friendly. We stayed for three nights, and were so glad we made the choice to stay here. For the convenience and atmosphere, this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As other review state the rooms are very average motel style rooms that take no advantage of the setting or the views. The lodge itself is a nice building, with a bar, sitting area, small giftshop and a poor restaurant. The place desperately needs some terraces, balconies or outdoor seating areas. In the bedroom wings there is nothing at all, and in the lodge there is a small amount of outdoor undercover seating with a view of the driveway, plus the sitting area near the bar. Everything gets filled up as people have nowhere else to go other than sit on their beds in the rooms.
The restaurant has pretensions of grandeur but the food is pretty ordinary. I had a steak with quinoa which came with a small mountain of quinoa but no sauce or flavourings - think Peruvian cardboard in flavour. My cobbler has some really nice apple under a mountain of crust. The chef also needs to learn that Caesar salad is more than cos lettuce with grated parmesan cheese. The management of the restaurant is weird - if you have a booking at 6:30, but as we did arrive at 6:15, they won't let you in even if there are free tables everywhere. They seem to know the staff can't cope so leave 1/3 of the restaurant empty all the time even with people waiting. I would recommend a short drive to lodgepole market and have a burger or sandwich and save your money.
We would not return to Wuksachi lodge.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - all are pretty ordinary. The larger rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here 1 night mid-June while visiting Sequoia & Kings Canyon. We arrived about 7 pm, checked in & ate dinner @ Peaks Restaurant--make reservations 1 month in advance & ask for window seat. The Lodge offers free baggage delivery--TAKE IT! The lodges are a short drive away from check-in & the parking is NOT directly in front of the buildings. There are luggage carts available in the entryways.

A special "thank you" to the DNC employee (said he was from Visalia) who helped us with our luggage & refused the tip we offered -- said it was part of his job -- what a professional!

Our room was on the 2nd floor--there are NO elevators, so this may be a problem for those with mobility issues. Our room had 2 Q beds, desk, mini fridge, coffee maker, TV, table w/chairs, closet, bench, chair, bath w/tub & hair dryer, ceiling fan -- no balcony or patio-- for those who care.

The lodge is "secluded" & offers a restaurant / lounge / gift shop. Saw many people using internet in the lobby/lounge area. There isn't A/C in rooms, but it did get cold at night & we used the ceiling fan to circulate the air. I would stay here if we visited again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.