We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot property and not in a good way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hot property and not in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I would agree with others that the main advantage of Wuksachi is its location. It is ideal for the close Big Forest , for Grant's Grove and King's River. But we were there in 87 degree and 75 degree weather. The facility has no air conditioning. The rooms have some exhaust fans which get the room near outside temperature by about 2 a.m. But the main lodge gets heated by a greenhouse effect and the lobby and the dining hall were sweat lodges. In addition the dining room is full of flies and the meal needs a lot of driving them off or swatting them. The meals were average to poor, an apple cobbler with five pounds of dough and five ounces of apple. The other food was OK, the rooms average. Grant's Grove Village and Lodge would be my next choice, air conditioning and really friendly people.

Room Tip: Do take advantage of the help with luggage to the room. It is a real hassle to do it yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    462
    241
    91
    32
See reviews for
374
463
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked this lodge as we wanted to avoid the long drives between Three Rivers and the National Park during our visit. We booked a superior room. The check-in was friendly and fast and we were given a top floor room no. 330 in the Sequoia Building. As this is bear country we had to empty our car and carry all the luggage to our room. We got hold of a luggage trolley and were able to this in two trips. It is quite a drag but we did not mind. The room was fantastic. It has a separate bed- and living room which can be divided by a sliding door. In the living room there was a fridge plus coffee maker. The TV was very old but then you are here to enjoy nature. From our room we were able to get WiFi reception, which is provided free. From our three windows we had a great view towards the woods. We even saw a bear with her two cubs directly from our window. Wow. The amenities in the bathroom were ok. They provide shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The room was clean. The furniture was really outdated but thats ok. As there is very little lighting around the building it was dark (although we had a full moon) which we loved. The beds were comfy and we had 3 nights of good sleep. Next time we visit Sequoia NP we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, it's really worth it as you get more space. Stayed in room 330 in the Sequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

First of all, in case you don't know, let me tell you that hotels in national parks are not plentiful and are expensive where they do exist. So the price for a room at the Wuksachi does not compare favorably with other hotels, so you mustn't expect it to. My family just returned from a two week trek where we visited 5 western national parks, and the Wuksachi compares favorably to any of the other national park accommodations we saw. We wanted to stay inside Sequoia but did not want to camp, so our options were slim to none anyway. So we were willing to pay the $270 or so per night for the largest room they have. I think it's called a superior room and consists of a large room with two queens, a table and chairs, and a huge closet alongside a second "living room" with a sleeper sofa, chair, tv in an armoire, and a fridge and coffee pot. The extra room was great for our family of four, and one of our sons didn't even mind that the mattress on the sleeper sofa was thin because it meant a break from having to share a bed with his brother. They boys loved having this space to themselves, so I'm glad I paid the extra for it.

So here are some good things about the Wuksachi. First of all, it is super peaceful and lovely to be sleeping in the woods with mountain vistas all around. If that appeals to you, you will probably like it here. We were on the corner of our building and heard zero sounds from the other rooms, and of course there are no traffic sounds to be bothered with. The room decor isn't fabulous, but the room is comfy, and we found the queen beds and pillows to be very comfortable. We all slept great here with just the windows opened a bit. There is no a/c but there was a window fan and another fan in the living room area as well as a ceiling fan. And with the superior room we were able to spread out. You are walking distance to the lodge restaurant and about two miles away from the Lodgepole area where there is a grocery store and deli, so while food options are limited they do exist.

If you have mobility issues, I would not recommend the Wuksachi as you do have to walk to the restaurant as well as up a hill to your room. The rooms are in three separate buildings that share a parking area, so you will have to get yourself and all your luggage up that hill and into your room. The front desk attendant offered to get us assistance if we needed it, but we pulled it off. However, a busload of elderly tourists stayed in the building next to ours, and lodge employees handled all of their luggage for them. We even saw folks in wheelchairs making it up the hill to their rooms as well as over to the restaurant, but I fear someone with serious mobility issues (or someone who just doesn't like to have to walk much) would be disappointed in the Wuksachi. The housekeeping staff, and all the staff we came in contact with, were very friendly, and our room was very clean, but there were stains on the bedspreads, which is terribly icky.

Of all the places our family stayed on our mammoth trip, the Wuksachi was one of our favorites because of the peaceful and beautiful surroundings. However, if you're looking for a luxury experience, you're bound to be disappointed.

Room Tip: The superior room is much larger than the other rooms and is located on the end of the building, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It's a good lodge but somewhat expensive for the price. Rooms are spacious, beds are decent and they have decent furnishings. Services are good - we asked for extra pillows and blankets and they were delivered within 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the king and queen rooms in the Stewart building. The King room is convenient for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After reading reviews, I was aware of some of the concerns but decided this was still the best option for our schedule. Oops. I had no idea just how family unfriendly we would find it. After driving and walking all day with 2 kids the last thing we wanted to do was sit down to dinner and did not realize there was absolutely no other option on site. We luckily made it down to the deli at Lodgepole before it closed to grab something for dinner. The luggage situation is a bit crazy. We were in the building at the top of the hill so everything had to be loaded and dragged up the hill on a luggage cart. This is not a small task when you have 4 suitcases plus a cooler and backpacks to deal with. Because of the bears, nothing can be left in cars, so no leaving a bag or two in the car. I seriously underestimated the size of the hill you deal with. Why is there not an unloading area at the upper building??

The rooms are nothing special. Nicer than the Lodge at the Falls, but not nice enough to justify the high price. Beds were not comfortable and need replaced.

On the bright side, the location is really nice. We saw a bear and two cubs right in front of the hotel before we even got out of the car. Of course when the kids saw the bears they did not want to walk up that hill towards the woods! The WiFi actually worked pretty well, which was nice since we had not had much signal for a couple of days. There were good points, but this was not a good choice for us. Maybe couples instead?

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton le Fylde, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked in here for three nights. The main building is a great place to be and full of character so the bedrooms are going to be a disappointment! They are in separate blocks a few minutes away. It is expensive for what you get, but compare it with the competition prices and facilities it is relatively very good. The place is all a bit tired although it is clean, the food is OK and the staff do try to be helpful.
It IS THE BEST location by far, as you can dump the car and use the free shuttle buses to get you to all the sights you would wish to see in the area. It is all about the location and there is nothing to match it is this respect. You can save yourself a lot of driving time and have a better holiday experience by staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

In the heart of the National Park, real bear country.We stayed in the Silliman building a short walk to the main hotel & restaurant. The room was OK , average. But as there was no where else to go we were forced to eat at the hotel. Very disappointing service & food not very special. The hotel must improve this aspect as I can see we are not the only ones to mention it.
There was a wonderful star gazing talk given by one of the park rangers which we enjoyed very much. It was a delight to see so many stars in the night sky & have them named.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.