We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very nice and clean. The price was very reasonable, considering the location. Beautiful scenery and nearby to the main attractions...General Sherman few minutes away. The only downfall is the restaurant...dinner is overpriced and breakfast service was very poor. We had to wait a long time to receive silverware after we had our food on our table. Be sure to arrive early because when we got there they seemed to be cleaning out and were preparing to close the dining room early. Their "market" has very little selection, I will bring own food next time we come.

Room Tip: Recommend you bring food, snacks , and water with you.There is nowhere else to buy any food only the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Martha C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback and will do our best to make the necessary changes to the areas mentioned. We are pleased that overall you did enjoy your stay with us, and look forward to having you with us again.

Thank You,

J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    507
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
398
535
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights to see the sequoias, and it was the perfect spot. The rooms were quite nice, although it is a distance from the parking lot. The room wasn't fancy but more than adequate. The restaurant was nice but expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Cynthia0104,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for giving us such wonderful feedback. We do enjoy hearing when one of guest's have such a pleasant stay. We look forward to heaving you stay with us again, and if there is anything we can do for you, or plan on booking again with us please contact me directly.

Thank you,

J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed this place! Our room was lovely and very clean. The furnishings were a little tired, but our room was big, clean, and reasonably priced. The layout of the buildings is a bit strange - the 3 buildings that contain the rooms are separate from the lobby/restaurant building, and you have to walk down a path to get there. The location is great for seeing Sequoia, though you are going to drive a lot in this park. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the food was quite good. We ate several meals here and nothing was bad. All in all, a beautiful and relaxing place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Elpasomom,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We always appreciate to hear from our guests to know what we are doing well and what needs improvement. We do hope that we have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future. If you would like to contact me directly for future bookings please feel free.

Thank you,

J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The rooms were very nice, and the price unusually reasonable for lodging in the center of a national park in the middle of nowhere. There's no cell service anywhere around here, but the wifi worked well. Great location for accessing areas of the park. Check-in and check-out were a little slow, but no complaints otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wuksachi is odd. In some ways I do agree with other reviewers-I do think the management feel there is a captive audience hence little effort is made to make the experience extra ordinary. I got a Travelzoo deal and it prompted me to stay here. You are paying for the location and the location is superb. But NONE of the buildings, guest rooms or lodge, take advantage of the location. The set up and building arrangement is terrible. I arrived on a day their computers were down. Arriving about 3:30 you would think they would have tried to get people started early. But I was told they don't check in till 4. So they had a long line of people waiting while they wrote everything by hand. The rooms are old, tired, dark and grotty. The "mountain view" rooms overlook the parking lot. I opted for the tree view as I didn't want to see, and hear, people getting in and out of their vehicles. There was mold in the bathroom and cobwebs in the corners of the rooms by the door. One of my pillows had seen better days and smelled of mold so strongly is stayed on my hand. I left it on the floor with a note saying it should probably be thrown out. I hope it was and not just moved to another room. I also had some rather ugly stains on my pillowcases. They were obviously clean but you would think they would have tossed something that looked like that. Also, the front doors are left unlocked to the individual dorm style quarters so anyone can come in and out of the buildings. I found this unsettling. Why have a card reader there if it isn't used. Part of the reason I opted to stay there was safety as I was on my own. I felt vulnerable with the doors not being locked. Especially since the quest rooms are not attached to the lodge. The lodge isn't very inviting. As others had said there is really no place to congregate and no fire in the main room. It kind of looks cheap and cold as well. I purposely booked dinner there the night I arrived and asked to sit by the fire as I was on my own and studying. I imagined the fire would provide light and heat on a cold night (there is still snow on the ground). I arrived to find it unlit. The waiter told me they only light it when it is VERY cold as it makes the waitstaff uncomfortable/overheated. Um, it wasn't that busy so they weren't running around nor was it very warm. Sounds like laziness to me. From the sound of the laughter coming from the kitchen they seem to be having a good time tho!! I don't eat meat and my waiter was actually really great about my ordering side dishes as my main. The soup was delicious (potato) and the veggies were great but skip the organic wild rice as it is truly tasteless-no seasoning at all. I didn't go back the next night as I found the dinner experience uninviting. And for the cost, not worth it. That being said my Travelzoo deal included 2 box lunches a day. The normal charge for a box lunch is 12.95. It was a basic sandwich, a apple, a cookie packaged in plastic or a nature valley granola bar, a bag of sun chips and a bottle of water. Personally, had it not been included I would have not gotten it. Again, it felt like they knew that food was at a premium and people should take what they get and be glad for it! Also, the shop that is advertised isn't really a shop. Its a room that needs to be unlocked it you want anything. I went looking for milk since the coffee in room only came with powdered creamers. They had 8 pints of milk that were all set to expire the next day! I took the one and only soy milk they had!

If you are willing to pay a premium for the advantage of being literally a 5 min ride to Lodgepole, a 10 minute ride to General Sherman and a 15 min ride to Giant Forest this place is totally worth it! That is the one and ONLY reason to stay here. I did find the subordinate staff friendly and willing to try and help when needed. I left the maid a tip both days and found a thank you note and a fancy towel decoration in my room along with lots of tea (I asked for some more!) I really wish I could say more positives but I think next time I am going to try John Muir. I headed up to Grants Grove Village and had a look around there. The energy was decidedly much more friendly and inviting. The desk manager there even wrote down the name of a alternate small hotel right outside the gates that would let me bring my dog. The restaurant looked better and the same lady did me a great Latte! Peace!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J David H, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear AveburyL,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback about your stay. We want to apologize about the issues you mentioned and please know that we will be doing all we can to fix it. We would like to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again, so please feel free cont act me directly for booking your next reservation.

Thanks Again,
J David Hauswirth, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a good size room with a king bed, nice chair and sofa. Pictures here are accurate. Rooms are plain, but comfy with coffee maker and refrigerator. Dining room is nice and pricey, but food nearly matches the price. Need to be prepared to walk. Dining is 200yards from rooms. Rooms are over 100 feet from parking. Scenery is terrific. Location in woods with views of high peaks. Combined price of dinner and room is good for what you get.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff are very friendly. But the main point of staying here is to be in the middle of the forest, the views are amazing and its so handy for exploring Sequoia National Park!
But the restaurant prices are extortionate - a salad for $10, and its a really small salad, a burger for $18! They even charge you $5 for having a 2nd plate and sharing - appalling! There's not even a microwave in your room so you can't do yourself some food in the room, so you don't really have much option - they're not stupid are they.... This would put me off coming back.
Tip: bring some cereal, milk, bread and sandwich filling and do your own breakfast and lunches (because you'll need all your money for an evening meal!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.