We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Room expensive for what you get (even taking into consideration it's a resort location in a Nat'l Park. The "green" and "eco-friendly" #@&%%# is a little over the top. I'm on vacation; I like longer showers, I like clean towels every day. Know I am old-fashioned but I still like value for my dollar. $180 a night for what amounts to a 3 star room is a little much. Yes it was clean. Yes it was quiet. But it was 3 star quality. Restaurant service was not good. Was informed (after complaining) that there were some staffing issues that night. Dinner served cold. Lunch next day served cold. Dinner the last night was quite good. Would I return?..... probably not. Other side of the Park has a 3 star lodge that has 3 star prices and a very nice coffee shop style eatery.

Room Tip: Opt for the superior room. They are end units that are sort of a suite set-up. Being on the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    444
    231
    89
    32
See reviews for
356
449
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Typical Delaware North Property that gives "lip service" to "guest service" but the reality is far less. The staff at check-in were bored and trained to give their spiel wthout attention to guest questions. Plan on lugging your own bags UPSTAIRS to your room. The room was spacious and clean but lacked warmth or thoughtfulness to guest needs. There was no table and chairs at which to sit even though there was more than ample space in the room. The breakfast buffet was ordinary and not refreshed, and wound up being quite expensiive for what was offered. The wood burning stove in the lobby area filled the dining room with smoke, but the staff just shrugged as if it was a common occurrence. On the other hand, the Giant Sequoias are awesome and trump the man-made mediocrity of the lodging.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a lovely location but it also was a comedy of hits and misses.
1) I register under myself and add my husband as a guest yet upon check in. He is the only listed and only one spoken to directly! Did I time warp in my climb up this mountain?
2) I was forewarned that there was a disconnect between the rooms and the lodge and I was prepared for this but I was not prepared for icy pathways that have not been cleared causing the trip from our car to the rooms a long and painful one.
3) Room was dirty in corners due to slapdash vacuuming and urine on the toilet and base.
4) Reservations must be made for dinner. Dinner is held in a large and lovely dinning room but service is also hit and miss. Bread at the table but no butter. Large windows to view the stunning view but seemly not double pained as cold was seeping in everywhere. Eat quickly as food gets cold fast. The only heat I could feel and see was the large fireplace but woe to those who are not seated by the fire as when exploring I noticed all the heaters were turned off--In the Winter!
5) Truly gorgeous location -that can not be disputed.
6) Price for food and rooms certainly not worth was is given to you and it is too bad if you want food in your room cause there is no microwave and the small gift center and restaurant are not open very long.
Would I stay here again? Only for the view and at a bargain rate. I have had more for less.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The room was basic but cozy. It was hard to get the right temp on the thermostat, either we were freezing or super hot so did not sleep well the night we there. The views were breathtaking and there was deer all around which was awesome. The things that were disappointing to me is that we only stayed one night and we had planned to purchase a couple of souvenirs from the gift shop that were of importance to us. We were told the gift shop was closed for inventory but maybe later that night. Later that night still closed but we were told to come back first thing in the am. We specifically wait to leave until the gift shop would be open in the am only to find out that nope.. its still closed another day. We were then told we could purchase what we wanted on the internet. Went to the internet site - clicked shop gift shop and nothing comes out but a description of the gift shop. You cannot purchase anything online. Also, did not like the fact that their lighting is terrible for it being so dark and the only place that you can eat. We could not see in front of us to get from the hotel building to the lodge. Cells do not work up there and if you need to use the phone not only are you paying the long distance rate but you are paying their 20 percent up charge. The food was good, but way to expensive and not a lot of normal food options. I think that if you have no choice on where you are going to eat there should be more options then just options you would find in a high class restaurant. I cant imagine what the cost would be for a family with children. All in all, I would not stay here again. I would stay down the mountain and come up for the day. The area is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We unfortunatly stayed only one night and arrived very late, after dark from Las Vegas. The staff was great at checkin and we needed more info. They helped us very quickly and profesionaly. The rooms are big and what we saw the next morning has a great view. I will recomend people stay more than one night. I was disapointed not to be able to stay longer and explorer the area more.

Room Tip: Can't realy help. The hotel looks great and rooms are nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Wuksachi lodge for one night in December 2012, pretty much on a whim.

The rooms are pretty basic, but have everything you need (including good, high speed internet, which I did not expect).

The accommodation is spread across three lodge buildings that are set into the national park forest. It really is a lovely setting, and the sunset over the mountains (which comes early) is quite stunning.

Although the rooms are just OK, the highlight of Wuksachi is the main lodge building with its restaurant, bar and fireplace. The restaurant took us by surprise - excellent meals and very good service. The fireplace was perfect for a pre-dinner bottle of wine.

Don't go expecting a 5 start hotel, but you can book in at Wuksachi confident of a very pleasant stay in Sequoia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Yorkshire, uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

as one of the only hotels within the national park you're pretty stuck for hotels to stay in. this hotel though is very nice and the setting is amazing. wild deer walk around in the grounds and a perfect starry night can be witnessed after dark. the beds are comfy and the bathrooms clean and well lit. the staff are amazing and helped us through a mix up caused by our travel agents.

the only down side to this hotel is the lack of eateries, the only choice you really have is the hotel restaurant, which, as with any hotel restaurant is a little highly priced, but delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.