We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view and area but a little disappointed with the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent view and area but a little disappointed with the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The room was basic but cozy. It was hard to get the right temp on the thermostat, either we were freezing or super hot so did not sleep well the night we there. The views were breathtaking and there was deer all around which was awesome. The things that were disappointing to me is that we only stayed one night and we had planned to purchase a couple of souvenirs from the gift shop that were of importance to us. We were told the gift shop was closed for inventory but maybe later that night. Later that night still closed but we were told to come back first thing in the am. We specifically wait to leave until the gift shop would be open in the am only to find out that nope.. its still closed another day. We were then told we could purchase what we wanted on the internet. Went to the internet site - clicked shop gift shop and nothing comes out but a description of the gift shop. You cannot purchase anything online. Also, did not like the fact that their lighting is terrible for it being so dark and the only place that you can eat. We could not see in front of us to get from the hotel building to the lodge. Cells do not work up there and if you need to use the phone not only are you paying the long distance rate but you are paying their 20 percent up charge. The food was good, but way to expensive and not a lot of normal food options. I think that if you have no choice on where you are going to eat there should be more options then just options you would find in a high class restaurant. I cant imagine what the cost would be for a family with children. All in all, I would not stay here again. I would stay down the mountain and come up for the day. The area is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    382
    197
    79
    28
See reviews for
290
369
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We unfortunatly stayed only one night and arrived very late, after dark from Las Vegas. The staff was great at checkin and we needed more info. They helped us very quickly and profesionaly. The rooms are big and what we saw the next morning has a great view. I will recomend people stay more than one night. I was disapointed not to be able to stay longer and explorer the area more.

Room Tip: Can't realy help. The hotel looks great and rooms are nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Wuksachi lodge for one night in December 2012, pretty much on a whim.

The rooms are pretty basic, but have everything you need (including good, high speed internet, which I did not expect).

The accommodation is spread across three lodge buildings that are set into the national park forest. It really is a lovely setting, and the sunset over the mountains (which comes early) is quite stunning.

Although the rooms are just OK, the highlight of Wuksachi is the main lodge building with its restaurant, bar and fireplace. The restaurant took us by surprise - excellent meals and very good service. The fireplace was perfect for a pre-dinner bottle of wine.

Don't go expecting a 5 start hotel, but you can book in at Wuksachi confident of a very pleasant stay in Sequoia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Yorkshire, uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

as one of the only hotels within the national park you're pretty stuck for hotels to stay in. this hotel though is very nice and the setting is amazing. wild deer walk around in the grounds and a perfect starry night can be witnessed after dark. the beds are comfy and the bathrooms clean and well lit. the staff are amazing and helped us through a mix up caused by our travel agents.

the only down side to this hotel is the lack of eateries, the only choice you really have is the hotel restaurant, which, as with any hotel restaurant is a little highly priced, but delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Only stayed the one night whilst travelling around America. Friendly staff and very busy restaurant. The front desk took our booking for dinner but did not inform the restaurant. However, the restaurant staff (who were excellent) kindly fitted us in although several others were still waiting for a table. The rooms were very basic and disappointing. Probably the worse room we stayed in during our 4 week holiday but not many other options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The lodge building is very nice, rustic with big timbers. The rooms are located in separate buildings a short distance away across the entrance road. We were on the second floor and there are no elevators, so had to take the suitcases up the stairs (the staff said that help with luggage is provided upon request). The room we had was OK, although the mattress was too hard for me. There was a small TV which we did not use and a coffee maker. The check-in check out staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful. We had one dinner and a buffet breakfast at the lodge which I found surprisingly reasonable price-wise.

Room Tip: Easier for luggage if on ground floor as no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The setting is very nice and convenient to some points of interest but the mattresses were so hard in our room. The rest of the room was nice but you could tell they tried to make things look nice but the did it with very inexpensive items. There isn't a lot to choose from in this area so you're kind of forced to choose from only a few places. The restaurant had a nice view in the morning and was very expensive for breakfast. Dinner was pricey but pretty good just a bit salty on my entree. The server and staff seemed very nice and the setting is nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi
Wuksachi Village And Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.