We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain rooms, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Plain rooms, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The lodge building is very nice, rustic with big timbers. The rooms are located in separate buildings a short distance away across the entrance road. We were on the second floor and there are no elevators, so had to take the suitcases up the stairs (the staff said that help with luggage is provided upon request). The room we had was OK, although the mattress was too hard for me. There was a small TV which we did not use and a coffee maker. The check-in check out staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful. We had one dinner and a buffet breakfast at the lodge which I found surprisingly reasonable price-wise.

Room Tip: Easier for luggage if on ground floor as no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    493
    256
    97
    33
See reviews for
394
517
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The setting is very nice and convenient to some points of interest but the mattresses were so hard in our room. The rest of the room was nice but you could tell they tried to make things look nice but the did it with very inexpensive items. There isn't a lot to choose from in this area so you're kind of forced to choose from only a few places. The restaurant had a nice view in the morning and was very expensive for breakfast. Dinner was pricey but pretty good just a bit salty on my entree. The server and staff seemed very nice and the setting is nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived to Wuksachi quite late (around 9pm) and everything looked so romantic. We were just a little bit afraid because of black bears that we heard about :-) The main building looked amazing from inside, everything wooden and very nice. We drove to the detached building where we slept and everything was fine there as well but the main building looked better. The room was OK but for that price I would expect much more nicer one. Of course, the reason of the price we paid was the LOCATION that was perfect for the next day trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Restaurant here is really good. The burger was delicious. And they have a great view from the dining area. The rooms weren't that big but it was cozy. We got there in the middle of a surprise blizzard at around 2 am. The guy that worked a the front desk at night was weird. He told us to watch out for bears as we left for our room. After hearing that, it was a long dark walk through the snow to the block of rooms we were staying in. In the morning we found the day staff to be bright and friendly. Breakfast was good, and we were in driving distance of several well-known sequoias.

Room Tip: Be careful of Bears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Wuksachi in June of 2012. It was a multigenerational family vacation and we had no complaints. I wasn't expecting a bath tub (expected a shower stall) but I was glad to have it for bathing my toddler son. I was also surprised to find a mini fridge in the room. How convenient!

We spotted lots of deer around the lodge and even saw a bear on our drive into the park.

The lodge hosts great events such as the stargazing lecture that we enjoyed. Definitely make a reservation for the Barbeque! It was one of the highlights of our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the lodge in the Sequoia building. The rooms had a separate t.v and lounge area that could be sectioned off and used as another bedroom, very nice. Nice clean rooms, very apt for a mountain setting. We also dined in the hotel restaurant and was impressed by the food and service. The bar area was way too small, but that was no big deal. Free morning coffee at the lodge was great and the staff all friendly. The gift shop staff seemed very confused to carry out the simplest of tasks and the long transactions to be the only hiccup in a great stay. I'd totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore md
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very disappointed in the accommodations at Wuksachi. When we arrived it was early evening but already dark. When we checked in we were told there were luggage carts provided, however when we reached our cabin, it was pitch black the lighting was nearly nonexistent, there were carts, however there were two sets of outdoor stairs and two levels of indoor stairs, and there was nor way one could negotiate luggage carts up those sets of stairs. We nearly killed ourselves trying to carry our bags up to our rooms up,those steps in the dark. The rooms were very roomy with a beautiful view, however they were very dingy and outdated. Bed linens had stains, and were thin and dingy. there were also stains on the wall and door in the bathroom. Yuk. One of the lamps in room was broken, the ceiling fan was literally Coated with dirt and dust and had dobviously not been cleaned since before summer. Also our phone was broken. The bathroom fan made so much racket it was unusable, however it was attachéd to the light so there was no way not to use it. The shower curtain was soiled and should have been replaced.There were no laundry facilities and no one at the desk could give us information about the park tour. We had similar experience with the dining hall, dirty utensils, dirty seats and stained coffee cups in dining room. It seems like they were trying to make the leftovers last through the week with day old appearing baked goods, definitLy not homemade pastries. Every morning the scrambled eggs were mixed with whatever was left from previous days breakfast. We did however have an excellent waitress, Lola, who was very gracious, helpful with the menu. Everett at front desk was very pleasant tried to be helpful. I think most of the issues could be remedied by better oversight and anticipation of guests needs at the management level. This is really beautiful country, one does not need fancy accommodations or gourmet meals, but a cozy clean, room with a warm welcoming woodsy decor and clean atmosphere are great to come 'home' after along day hiking and other outdoor activities. One does not want to return to a room with old mattresses and outdated facilities.

Room Tip: Bring your own food and a flashlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.