We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the lodge in the Sequoia building. The rooms had a separate t.v and lounge area that could be sectioned off and used as another bedroom, very nice. Nice clean rooms, very apt for a mountain setting. We also dined in the hotel restaurant and was impressed by the food and service. The bar area was way too small, but that was no big deal. Free morning coffee at the lodge was great and the staff all friendly. The gift shop staff seemed very confused to carry out the simplest of tasks and the long transactions to be the only hiccup in a great stay. I'd totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    429
    213
    85
    32
See reviews for
315
431
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore md
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very disappointed in the accommodations at Wuksachi. When we arrived it was early evening but already dark. When we checked in we were told there were luggage carts provided, however when we reached our cabin, it was pitch black the lighting was nearly nonexistent, there were carts, however there were two sets of outdoor stairs and two levels of indoor stairs, and there was nor way one could negotiate luggage carts up those sets of stairs. We nearly killed ourselves trying to carry our bags up to our rooms up,those steps in the dark. The rooms were very roomy with a beautiful view, however they were very dingy and outdated. Bed linens had stains, and were thin and dingy. there were also stains on the wall and door in the bathroom. Yuk. One of the lamps in room was broken, the ceiling fan was literally Coated with dirt and dust and had dobviously not been cleaned since before summer. Also our phone was broken. The bathroom fan made so much racket it was unusable, however it was attachéd to the light so there was no way not to use it. The shower curtain was soiled and should have been replaced.There were no laundry facilities and no one at the desk could give us information about the park tour. We had similar experience with the dining hall, dirty utensils, dirty seats and stained coffee cups in dining room. It seems like they were trying to make the leftovers last through the week with day old appearing baked goods, definitLy not homemade pastries. Every morning the scrambled eggs were mixed with whatever was left from previous days breakfast. We did however have an excellent waitress, Lola, who was very gracious, helpful with the menu. Everett at front desk was very pleasant tried to be helpful. I think most of the issues could be remedied by better oversight and anticipation of guests needs at the management level. This is really beautiful country, one does not need fancy accommodations or gourmet meals, but a cozy clean, room with a warm welcoming woodsy decor and clean atmosphere are great to come 'home' after along day hiking and other outdoor activities. One does not want to return to a room with old mattresses and outdated facilities.

Room Tip: Bring your own food and a flashlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Vlaardingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to explore Sequoia National Park a bit. Especially the ancient forrest with their big trees. Accommodation is basic but sufficient. The Lodge serves great breakfast, lunch and diners. Excellent location, breathtaking views... I will go again...

Room Tip: All rooms are quite basic, but that is not where you should go here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really enjoyed everything about this Lodge in the Sequoia Nat'l Forest. The rooms were huge and clean. The hotel staff was super nice and attentive. Had an electrical outlet issue when we first arrived, but the maintenace man was there very quickly and had it fixed. There are no street lights at night...so, carry a flashlight when going and coming from the building. The Lodge's restaurant was spectacular. We stayed for two nights and never ate anything that was not 5 star good. The breakfast was a bit mediocre...but lunches and dinners were fabulous. The view from the dining room is spectacular. We took the guided forest tour...out guide was a bit on the snooty side...but the views and experience over-rode her demeanor. I would recommend this lodge toi anyone that wants to experience what the Forest has to offer. There was a bot of road construction going on when we visited..this made for a lengthy wait to get off the mountain. Our overall experience was great.

Room Tip: Take a flashlight! It is pitch black outside afdter dark outside the lodge buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a great stay here! The room was large and although it's not super fancy, it is a lodge after all and was just what we expected. We had lovely views form lost of windows and a peaceful time. The bedrooms are located in separate buildings from the main lodge where you register and go for meals. At night they loan you a flashlight to walk to your room because it's so dark and quiet. Very cool! Be patient with staff - all very nice but seasonal and not always knowledgeable. Bring snacks - restaurant not very good.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to walk up some stairs - we volunteered for a top floor and were given a large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the beginning of October, so Sequoia park was very quiet, which was fantastic.

When we arrived at the lodge there was a family of dear grazing right next to the car park, and the whole area was so quiet!

Reception was friendly and efficient. Slightly surprised at the lack of an elevator, but we only had to go down one level. The room itself was superb, I have a feeling that we were in the 'superior' room - we hadn't paid for this (result!). The beds were VERY comfortable.

We had dinner at the restaurant, mainly because there is absolutely nothing in the surrounding area. The drinks and the meal were quite expensive, however the food was really good, so I didn't feel like I had been ripped off.

Overall we would definitely return. Sequoia national park is certainly worth a visit - I think we will try a similar time of year, as it was so quiet!

Room Tip: If you have a mobility issue make sure that you let them know. There is an accessible floor, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at many National Park lodges and have a great affection for them, so we were predisposed to love this lodge. Too bad it was such a disappointment.

The Good (Location/Room) - The building itself is nice (though not as grand as many lodges), and the location in the park is unbeatable. The room itself was also nice, though relatively plain. That said, we don't expect much luxury from a "rustic" lodge. We chose the suite so that our 1 year old could sleep in one room while we relaxed in the other, and that was a good choice.

The Bad (Bed/Food/Room Convenience) - The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and neither my wife nor I slept much during our three nights at the lodge. As noted by many reviewers, the food is pretty bad and very overpriced (though the dining room was very pretty). My blueberry-glazed salmon was salty almost to the point of being inedible. I don't recall what my wife ate, but she was unimpressed as well. Also, the rooms are INCREDIBLY inconvenient. The parking lots are large and, depending on your location and available parking spots, you may have to park a good 5 minute walk from your room (as we did a few times). Not fun when you're carrying a load of outdoor gear, a young child, and the supplies that go with that child. Moving from car to room was a nightmare!

The Ugly (Service) - This is what really dragged the lodge down. The service was poor and disorganized in a way that speaks to an utter lack of good management or standards. And, to be clear, we're not travelers that require pampering - just a minimum level of competence and hospitality. About 25% of the interactions we had with staff met this expectation. A few examples of the bad ones:

1. The cleaning staff failed to replace missing toilet paper or tissues. Instead of replacing dirty glasses and cups in our room, they put them in a pile in our sink. The beds were short-sheeted, making for uncomfortable evenings.

2. After standing in line for about 15 minutes, we checked in at 4:05 pm (check-in time is 4:00 pm). The desk clerk explained that the rooms hadn't "made it into the system yet" and asked that we come back in about 15 minutes. Come back in 15 minutes? The lobby was filled with people grumbling about waiting for their rooms. Were we all supposed to rush the counter in 15 minutes? Were we supposed to all stand in line again? Were they going to tell us when the rooms were ready? I just went to the back of the line and, after waiting another 10 minutes fuming, checked in for the second time.

3. In the morning, I asked the desk clerk for some natural sugar (rather than artificial sweetener) for the coffee by the front desk. He responded that they only had artificial sweetener. When I told his they had it yesterday, he said " okay, I'll go get some." Seriously?

Sure, these are each individually small things, but the sum total of these and other interactions we had with staff left us feeling awkward and unwelcome. If it weren't for the wonderful location and nice facility, I would have given this place 1 star. Also, I will note that this did appear, by far, to be the nicest of the facilities in the park. Unfortunately, the service didn't live up to that standard.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with children, I recommend the suite. Also, ask for a room and a building w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.