We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's with the poor reviews?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What's with the poor reviews?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I always like to stay somewhere nice and close to a trail head prior to our annual backpack trips. For our pre and post 7 day backpack trip lodging this year, my husband and I were fortunate enough to stay in the Wuksachi Lodge superior suites (rooms 223 and 312). Unlike the negative reviews I read prior to booking our stay, I found EVERY single employee to be cheerful, helpful, and extra accommodating to our needs. We picked the large suite because we wanted to have enough room to bring our backpacks in (45 and 65 lbs) to recheck prior to starting the High Sierra Trail. The rooms are VERY large and appointed with beautiful, new furniture suited to a forest setting. The refrigerator and coffee maker made it very convenient to eat dinner in our room and get a quick breakfast for an early start to our backpack. Can't say enough of the comfort, convenience and styling of the rooms. The shower was HOT with plenty of water pressure and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The superior suites are the only rooms with true aircon which was a blessing during the hottest week the Sequoias have experienced in many many years. We ate dinner in the restaurant and I have to say, I was jealous of my husband's duck breast with roasted yukon gold potatoes, broccolini and the most beautiful big arugula leaves I have ever seen. (we were anxious to eat fresh veggies after our dehydrated dinners on the trail). I had the Caesar salad and requested salmon with it. Our waitress asked if the chef could do it--no problem and very reasonably priced...$13.00. Highly recommended for anyone looking for exceptional lodging prior to or after a backpacking trip in the Sequoias. We visited the Lodgepole area down the road and it is packed with tourists and campers. The Wuksachi Village area was far less busy and the expansive grounds provided a sense of peace and quiet that we truly enjoyed. Go for the superior suite and you won't be disappointed in anyway....it has 2 sofa beds plus the king bed to accommodate a family of 6 although the single bath may be a bit of a crush. We would go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior suite with a window onto the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    509
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
400
535
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 9 years ago and it was superb, so much we booked again this year despite high cost. However, very disappointed in its present condition. Whereas the restaurant previously was excellent, it is now only moderate at best! Menu selection was limited and very expensive for breakfast, dinner and lunch. This is especially a problem, as when staying here there is no real practical alternative to eating in the restaurant. The room decor was tired with broken and ill fitting window fans and when we took our room we found the previous occupants left over takeaway lunch in the fridge!
Disappointed that such superb potential of a memorable stay in a beautiful location, was spoilt by what appeared to be lack of concern to keep standards high. Typical problem arising from not having any competition in the area!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Superb location in the heart of Sequoia. Great as a base for sight-seeing. The central lodge houses the registration and restaurant, and the rooms are in three separate buildings a short walk away but with separate parking, so do not unpack the car until after registration. Rooms and restaurant are only average at best, but expensive. You are paying for the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed one night August. The room was clean and decorated as expected from photos. The room as NO a/c. I did not think this would be a problem but, it was. The room was very hot when we got into it. After that shock we settled in. Had dinner in the restaurant. The service was VERY slow. We had to ask for refills and our check. The food was fine and I did not think that the prices where that high.

Our main problem was that a very loud machine noise started up at 1:30 am. It went on for over 18 min. We called the Front Desk and they told me it was the fire suppression equipment and that it should shut off and to call back in 10 to 15 min if it was still on. It was so loud that the wall was vibrating! It did shut off but, restarted 8 more times that I counted until I fell asleep after 2:45. When we checked out the front desk clerks admitted that there are 3 rooms that have this problem and they suggested I report my problem on the comment card that I would receive after my stay. I asked to speak to the GM as that was their only option of a remedy to me. The Assistant GM did significantly discount the room price for me when she came up to the Front Desk to talk to me. However, she claimed that they did not know what was causing the noise and was going to have an engineer check into it. The night staff and the Front Desk clerks both know what we were complaining of and seem to feel that it was a fairly common occurrence with the 3 rooms referenced by our check out person so I was surprised that the Assistant GM claimed to not know what was causing the noise. The location was great. We would stay again, not in summer (no A/C) if we could get a room that was not one of the "3" problem rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and the EU
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I would agree with other reviews that the rooms are quite gloomy and reflect an American obsession with 'ye olde log cabin'. However, if as we were, you want somewhere comfortable to explore the two parks from an incredibly good location, a peaceful setting with helpful staff and a good value restaurant then you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The park is wonderful but unfortunately the lodge is the ONLY place to stay. Site is paradise.

We thought the Lodge was built in the 1960's. To our astonishment, it was built in 1999!! The rooms are very outdated and gloomy. Ugly old US fittings, old style patterned carpets, bedspreads etc. Ventilation is very poor with noisy "3rd world" type fans put in bottom of sash windows and run all the time to keep room cool despite air being cool and fresh outside (V poor design). Room spacious, functions well and bed comfy.

Main lodge quite sinister too -- gloomy and stuffy (POOR DESIGN -- need to be able to use natural ventilation and let some light in through roof). Food & service for dinner and breakfast was very average (US negatives without US positives). There is a BBQ in park if you can find it -- excellent.

The US National Park Service is clearly living in the past. Could do SO MUCH better. Service does not match needs of many of the customers we met.

Room Tip: Some rooms at front have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Enjoyed a very pleasant three night stay here. Lovely setting, with deer browsing in the grounds and fantastic views. Excellent location for visiting anywhere in Sequoia National Park and also convenient for Kings Canyon. We had a very large room which was kept clean throughout our stay. No air conditioning, only a fan, but we managed fine with that. Public areas are attractive with a large lounge area. Full breakfast was included in our room rate and it was excellent, with a huge selection. The menu for dinner was varied enough to suit most tastes, some of it good value. Food was lovely. Service was a bit slow at times as the restaurant was very busy. Bar prices were very high. Overall, though, I would recommend Wuksachi Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.