We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking and tranquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

...are the only words close enough to describe the location. The lodge is right smack inside Sequoia National Park and just 20 minutes drive from the General Sherman Tree.

The main lodge - where the front desk and restaurant are - is rustic and very well kept although the lodge where the rooms were located could use a little sprucing up. That said, our room was a spacious and very comfortable even with 2 double beds. There is wi-fi in the room but no phone reception. Then again, you'd lose the phone reception miles before you reach the lodge. The shower tub was clean and the amenities were more than sufficient. Being right inside the national park, we had the forest and wildlife just outside our window. It was magical. We were 'greeted' by a doe when we arrived and continued to see her and presumably, her family (!) throughout our 3-day stay.

The only downside - we had to haul our luggage to the room with a well worn luggage cart. The main lodge was a 5-minute walk away so I suppose we could have asked for some help but since our luggage were manageable, we moved everything on our own. Second complaint was the poor lighting along the paths leading out from the (rooms) lodge.

Dining is at the lodge's restaurant and that was the only place available for miles. Prices were a wee bit on the high side but then you have to remember that you're inside a national park, just like if you're on an island resort in the middle of the sea. As to whether the taste can match the price, well, it's both yes and no. I was fortunate enough to have had selected a rather decent pork chop the first night and the trout on my second night was much better. My sister, on the other hand, had the saltiest crab-cakes ever, which had to be exchanged for something else. We also tried the pizza, which was a disappointment but the vegetarian pasta was good. Reservation for dinner is a must. The buffet breakfast selection was decent but you must arrive well before 0900 as the closing time is 0930 and they do not replenish the finished items after 0900.

The staff at the Front Desk and restaurant were friendly and helpful.

The National Park was absolutely awesome and in my opinion, the best that California has to offer. We had 3 bear sightings - a highlight for us - on our way to the Giant Forest and Moro Rock, where we went twice, for the sunset on our first evening and the sunrise the next day. The giant sequoias, the wildlife, the scenic splendor, were truly memorable.

Would I recommend the Wuksachi Lodge? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    444
    231
    89
    32
See reviews for
356
449
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Location, location, location! Fantastic views right in the Sequoia National Park. Everybody should take a couple of days to visit this national park- remarkable!!! Photos that I've seen of these huge sequoias do not show their true majesty. Be sure to watch a sunrise or sunset from the walkway between the 3 bedroom buildings and main lodge. Dinners in the main lodge are excellent, but pricey; make your dinner reservations while reserving your room. Beware that there are bears everywhere and never leave food in your car. My only disappointment was the unacceptable behavior of one of the front desk employees. (I'm hoping that she was experiencing a bad day.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in September. Scenery was fantastic and we even were lucky to see deer and bears on our first night. The room was adequate, we have stayed in worse. Staff were very friendly upto a certain point.

I must say that you are part of a captive audience while stayinng here as there is only one option for dinner, and given that there was only a choice of 5 mains courses it was a very limited choice. On our first evening we booked a table for dinner. As stated in previous reviews we were left waiting for approx 30 mins even though tables were available. We were shown to a table by the window that looked very romantic, however, the window was open and it appeared that this could not be closed, so we had to ask to me moved. The move happened without too much fuss. My husband and i ordered the same thing 'pork loin' as this was the only thing on the menu of 5 main courses that we would eat. When the meals arrived, i was not impressed. considering the cost the portions were megre to say the least. I cut into my pork to discover blood coming from the piece of meat. NOW anyone i know would always tell you that pork should be cooked thoroughly. I told the waitress i was not happy with the meal, she replied that they cooked their meat medium, would perhaps be a better idea to ask. I sent the meal back and went hungry that night with no other options for eating. I has to be said that the service from our waitress was frosty after this and she could'n wait to give us our bill. We did however, find pizza and hamburgers on sale at the visitors centre just down the road and very reasonable prices although they are only opened until 5.30. Our experience at the restaurant did not take away from a wonderful experience, although when we moved onto the Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite, we were totally bowled over by the level of service and luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

The accomodatons exceeded our expectations. Comfortable, clean, modern, and well-located. We five them a Vwry Good rating because of their unusual positioning.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Wuksachi Lodge is a good choice for visitors to Sequoia National Park. The lodge is fairly new and centrally located. It replaced 300 cabins that were torn down when the park decided they were an unhealthy choice for lodging amongst the giant trees. There is a main lodge building with small gift store and restaurant (but no lodging rooms in this building). There are three buildings that house the rooms which are a little distance from the main lodge building so it is a little bit of a walk to the main building. Also the parking area for the lodging buildings is also a bit of a walk for loading and unloading purposes. But staff is there to help with that if desired. Our stay included a free full breakfast buffet that was excellent. (Eggs, meat, pancakes, french toast, cereals hot and cold, toast, bagels sweet rolls, coffee, juice, and an array of cut fresh fruit.) Dinner options were a bit pricey, but decent quality. I made the comment that as far as food went it was one of the better National Park experiences I've had.The lodge is central to the park and only a few miles from the Giant Forest area which is the highlight of the park. It is also close to Lodgepole visitors center and Giant Forest Museum. However, it is about 25 miles to the Grant Grove and closer to 50 to explore Kings Canyon. (The road to Kings Canyon is not for wimps!!) If you are going to the park for only one or two days I highly recommend Wuksachi. If you have more time, you might consider dividing the time between Wuksachi and a lodging option closer to Grant Grove and Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Very far from anything is another Deleware North run Kitchen and hotel. Lovely room, great food, and what can you say about the setting?? Glory of the Universe!! Super everything...

Room Tip: All looked about the same, must drag luggage no matter where
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights on our honeymoon.

A good location - not too far from many of the areas we wanted to visit.

Rooms fairly basic. We had a "deluxe" - the owners might want to consult a dictionary on that one.

Service - a mixed bag. Certainly not impressed by the unfriendly front desk - or the girl who took bookings for the restaurant. When we arrived we were told there would be no problem getting a table - this is NOT the case. Book as soon as you can - otherwise you will end up waiting til late into the evening.

Restaurant staff were friendliest.

A message for the owners - try giving your customers a little warning when you decide to rip up the entrance to the main lodge building! On our last day we found suddenly that there was some major work being carried out on the property. Not a single word of warning from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.