We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
So. California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is maybe our 5th time staying at the Wuksachi Lodge because we no longer camp and there isn't a motel in the area. With a reservation, check-in was speedy. The main building houses the Lobby, restaurant, gift shop, registration desk, and mtg. rooms downstairs. Rooms are in 3 separate buildings with their own parking lot, in an adjacent forest area. No elevators, but you can request help from the front desk. If out at night, bring a flashlight because the parking lot and path between the rooms and main building is very dark.

This time we were in a double-queen room which was spacious with 2 tables, 3 chairs, small refrigerator, tv/dresser, closet, and a bench just inside the door, probably for removing snow clothing in the winter. No air-conditioning, just fans in the window plus a ceiling fan, and no safe. The standard bathroom was well-maintained. I thought our squeeky bathroom door might disturb neighbors, so I left the housekeeper a note and, by the time we returned to our room in the late afternoon, it had been fixed by the maintenance crew.

Reservations are mandatory for dinner at the restaurant. The tables are all "taken" and walkins are disappointed, although I saw some able to be served in the small bar area just outside the dining room. Notice the sign at the registration desk for the all-you-can-eat barbeque at nearby Wolverton Meadow. You purchase your tickets here. The park's support group, Sequoia Natural History Assn., has a speaker at the barbeque portraying, in period costume, someone from the early days of the park. Another activity we took advantage of was a nighttime astronomy walk, also lead by a SNHA member. It began in the hotel's lobby, we walked a short distance behind the building to a very dark parking lot, and was a wonderful experience seeing constellations; bring a good flashlight!

No cell signal, at least for us, and the only wi-fi signal is in the lobby of the main building.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room if carry luggage up stairs is difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    441
    222
    88
    32
See reviews for
351
445
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This place made me furious- because they know you can't stay anywhere else in the park their standards are low. The rooms are old fashioned (which I can just about forgive) and the walls are thin (which I can't). If you arrive in the evening as we did after a full day's driving from Vegas, you have to wait until 9.30 for a table in the dining room (even though there are empty tables all evening). At 9.30 you have to remind the girl at the desk. At 9.50 you still haven't had your order taken, and when it does come it's pretentious and not even that good. Why there isn't a takeaway snack bar instead of a rubbishy gift shop I don't know. You can't even get a packet of crisps to eat with your drink from the bar! The wifi is so weak it doesn't work. Staff couldn't really have cared less, they gave the impression they were so used to people complaining they'd given up. Avoid - it's worth staying somewhere outside the park and driving in rather than stay here.

Room Tip: Take your own food with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Okay you can read the previous posting that are negative, so I am going to give you the positives. We have been to Wuksachi Lodge multiple times and I will tell you why: Location. It is here in the middle of a National Park, where you get to stay without having to camp. If you want a "resort experience" then this is not for you; if you want to experience fresh air, nature and beauty, with some comforts from home, in a "rustic-like" setting, then this is it. There is no air conditioning or wi fi-in your rooms. (They have fans now, which they didn't have before.) It's in the middle of a forest; you're on vacation so deal with it!
The workers at this facility are students who come from all over the world to gain the American cultural experience. They are the persons who clean the rooms, serve and wait on your dinners and help you to check in, so please be patient.
If you're not in the condition to hike, then you may want to skip this hotel. You will be walking up stairs or long paths to get to your cabins, so don't bring a lot of luggage because it is in a bear area, so you need to remove everything and anything scented or any liquids that are in your car. The restaurant is expensive, but good, and is the only sit-down restaurant for MILES, so call to make a reservation before you come-They are ALWAYS booked! You may want to bring a cooler with "lunch" items and haul that to your room. There is a small fridge depending on your accommodations. In your bathroom, you will find shower gel and shampoo on the wall; use it, even though it has a pine-y smell. It seems to detract mosquitos. This is a "green" facility. Bring a large trash bag if you have a lot of trash items. They have small trash and recycling bins. The desk lets you check out family board games. Bring a good book, sit an relax. Overall, appreciate that this facility is here and that it is beautiful.

Room Tip: If you are a large family and need room, you need to be very specific about extra sleeping arrangeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albbruck, Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

After an exhausting trip we would have loved to find a 'normal' hotel service. Instead we had to learn that a rural place like Sequoia apparently requires to re-activate some tent-vacation habits. Search your lodge, find a luggage trolley, carry your luggage third floor lacking elevators. Listen to neighbours' noise and check bugs and other pets.
Subsequent to our first night, missing the tough 10am breakfast limit we enjoyed wild life and the park but finally were not convinced neither about the lodge nor about the restaurant or service.
Ups, be aware > no internet available in rooms and no mobile connection other than Verizone !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We arrived at the lodge to then be sent up the hill to our room. The views were spectacular. Our room was very inviting. At first we were a bit concerned about not having A/C but the fans worked just fine. The lodge is beautiful and it is clear that it was designed with great attntion to detail. Dinner during sunset in the dining room was spectacular. Though a bit pricey - the food was delicious and portions were just right - not too much, not too little. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the 11 million stairs up to the rooms from the parking lot. We attended the Wolverton Living History Barbeque - DON"T bother! It was a terrible performance and very overpriced. Be advised you will be at the mercy of the park vendors for food and other items and they are all pretty pricey. We did enjoy our stay tremendously and were tickled to have seen so much wildlife and beauty within steps of our room! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here while visiting the two National Parks. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and very tastefully blends into the scenic park. The food is very good in the dining room and the wait staff is very friendly. The only problems we had with the hotel were the room keys - they never seemed to work, the air conditioner was very noisy, the pull out sofa bed is uncomfortable (spend the extra money for a rollaway). The room was fairly expensive but that is not unusual for National Parks in the prime summer months.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We loved it. Fabulous help and food in the restaurant. Room was pleasant although no view. Go see the giant trees. If you can manage it, try September instead of August.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.