We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO NOISY!!!!!!!!! CHEAPLY BUILT GOVERNMENT HOUSING!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“SO NOISY!!!!!!!!! CHEAPLY BUILT GOVERNMENT HOUSING!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The National Park System has you over a barrel. If you don't stay in the park you would have to drive better than hour to a good hotel. So in order to be close to the park, we had to endure the noise of our neighbors or the flushing of a toilet two rooms away. The noise was unbearable. If you want to stay here bring ear plugs, they may help some, but don't count on it. This was not just some noisy neighbors, you can hear everyone in the lodge talking rooms away. This is just no insulation in the walls. And it was fairly quiet the time we were there. I have stayed in a lot of National Park lodgings and they are all about the same. I will have to say this one ranks right up there at the top. The rooms are nice and well kept, but it really dosen't matter if you can't sleep.
The restaurant at the main lodge is way over priced for the quality of the food. We had breakfast and lunch, and decided not to eat there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    611
    289
    109
    41
See reviews for
485
653
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed here with my wife in mid may of 2011 for 3 nights. First the hotel lodge and check in area is off the drive into the property. once there, check in went fast and painless. I would expect to pay around 150-200 per night for your stay , they do sometime take AAA discounts.
The rooms are located in 3 buildings (not connected to the lodge) just a short drive or walk from the parking lot. The hardship here noted in other reviews comes from the parking lot to the building. You must walk uphill some 30 stairs or so to reach the door.
There is a winding pathway without stairs you can take , its just a longer walk. but better for rolling suitcases. The buildings have 3 floors (no elevator) so if stairs are a problem i would request a first floor room. vending is on the second floor only. (pops,snacks,and ice.

The room is a basic motel style room ,most have a mini fridge and tv with working stations. There is also a iron board,iron. We found the room to be comfortable , bed was ok. there were plenty of towels,pillows and blankets. The toilets were noisy (loud enough to wake someone in the room when used) The heater was the same with noise, I think it could be updated.

The property was well appointed and had some wonderful walking paths to use. The main lobby had a dinning room (see other review ) and a small gift shop. The location was another strong point , just 2 mi from the visitor center. Using this as our base, we could tour both parks from this location and not feel rushed.
Overall i would say, the place is on the rustic side, Nothing so exceptional. It has its plus and minus for sure. You just have to remember that you are in a secluded area and there is not much available so as far as hotels go , for here its as good as your going to find......................

Room Tip: parking is first come first closest to the buildig
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
382 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed there just after heavy snow. we checked with National parks phone line and got wrong information about roads that were open. The hotel then told us we should have checked with the Sequoia Park phone service as the national parks one is not reliable??? Few people came in believing they could drive trough only to have to go miles round to get out. Sif weather is bad ring and ask the hotel. Stay was good , restaurant was pleasant with nice view. Expensive but thats it if you want to stay in park.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I would highly recommend this property. They do a great considering its remote location, the room was large, very clean and comfortable. We ate breakfast and dinner at the lodge, there aren't any other choices unless you want to drive down the mountain. I thought they did a great job with the food since its so far away from a town. Service was excellent, staff was very friendly.

if you are fussy traveler that needs internet in your room and a 4 page menu then staying at the top of this mountain wont be a good trip for you, if you are willing to accept the fact its in a remote location and can deal with very minimal issues as part of staying here than you will be more than satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This is not a "lodge" but rather a standard hotel, without the continental breakfast. We have stayed at the Old Faithful Inn...now THATS a lodge. Anyway, for $225 per night it was a big dissapointment. We knew about the road construction, but no one told us that we could only drive out of the Lodge every hour ON the hour...meaning you had to be * in line* when the flagger let eveyone go, or you had to wait to the next hour. The front desk clerk failed to tell me this, she just said, "you can't leave till 11." So of course, we waited till 11 then discovered we weren't able to drive anywhere till noon. Well, these things happen I guess.

Seriously, they are charging way too much for what they are offerring. Our sheets were dirty, with hairs, upon check-in. They changed them, but still. Gross. I think its from their "We don't change your sheets unless you leave out this tiny card - policy"...if the housekeeping is not keeping track of check-ins and check-outs, they will just remake the bed. Also, the coffee pot carraffe was PLASTIC. Who wants hot acidic coffee leaching chemicals into your morning brew? Not for $225 per night. We brought our own microwave and easy to prepare meals from Trader Joes because we're cool like that and we travel with small children. Thank goodness we did because we would have starved if we didn't. The restaraunt is a joke. We had a ton of grounds in our stale $3 coffee, and when I pointed it out all we got was a "sorry." A sandwhich took FOREVER....had to eat it really really fast and take our sons to-go so we could make the flagging truck to get out & sightsee.

And I don't know what is up with who built this place, but none of the rooms take advantage of the beautiful views, and it appears the whole area was leveled for construction, and the landscaping is just pathetic. They could have planned this much better.

Bottom line is, this place is just okay. I would only stay here for less than $120 per night...or just stay at the Comfort Inn down the mountain where you'll get a breakfast. Its about the same thing. When you are in your room at this place you could be in any hotel anywhere for how generic it is. But its not really bad either, expecially if you bring your own coffee maker (the hot water can also be used to prepare instant meals from Trader Joes) and possibly a microwave. Some other guests saw us with ours on our way out and were totally envious. Wuksachi Lodge is just terribly overpriced and not a good value. You are paying over $200 to not have to camp. It irks me to no end that this company is able to run it this way.

(This company, by the way, got a hold of Historic Old Town San Diego by shifty means and totally ran it into the ground. After years of decline the city finally decided they just weren't fit to run it. Hopefully someone in government will do something about these vendors running our national park lodgings).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I spent 3 nights at Wuksachi in Feb, 2011. There was 72" of snow but the roads were clear and dry and the daytime temperature was in the 30s. The lodge is only 10 years old so everything seems fresh and almost new. My room was spacious with a fridge and leather sofa. The food in the restaurant is delicious and the prices are not unreasonable considering that you are tucked away in the cozy forest. During the day I walked on the snow up to Moro Rock and through the Giant Forest. The snow had frozen sufficiently so that it could be walked upon without sinking in. The service at the Wuksachi is excellent, all of the staff are very attentive. I would definitely return, particularly in winter when it is quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Located about a 20-30 minute drive beyond the park entrance, this is the nicest and most convenient place to stay if you want to spend time in Sequoia National Park (but don't want to camp)
While the name "Lodge" may conjure up a different vision, the Wuksachi Lodge is a cluster of newer buildings with motel style rooms. A short walk down the pathway that cuts through parking lots is the hotel lobby where you can relax by the fireplace or check out board-games. There is a small gift shop,an even smaller bar and a better than average restaurant that serves delicious,though somewhat pricey, regional cuisine. The hotel rooms are very spacious and very clean (which is not always the case with hotels in the National Parks system) Our room was on the lower end of their catagory scale, but was more than enough space for 3 adults. We had 2 queen beds, a nice sized closet (with ironing board and iron), dresser/ tv armoire,desk, table with 2 chairs and a large easy chair. There was also a long bench in the entry area of the room where you could store your luggage or a large cooler (No food can be left in your car due to bears so it is nice to have a spot to store any food you may have brought) The room also has a refrigerator and coffee maker.
Generally the rooms are quiet, but the walls are a bit thin so the potential of disturbance is there. Avoid a room next to the ice machine (ie:room 120) as you will hear the compressor go off at random times and it is loud (we heard it at 1 am)
The bed and breakfast rate is a good deal so take it if they offer it during your travel times, you will get vouchers for the breakfast buffet that usually costs about $13. While not gourmet, it is much better than your standard hotel breakfast. We brought our own picnic food for lunches and then splurged on the dinner at the restaurant (the cost is about $20-$30 per person not including drinks or dessert) overall the food is pretty good, but the desserts are way over-priced, fyi

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.