We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome during the winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Meadow Loop

Crescent Meadow Loop
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Easy hiking trail that takes you past the Chimney Tree and Tharp's Log.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome during the winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hiked this in January when it's closed to traffic.
Snowshoed it in the middle of a snowstorm and it was incredible.
Saw maybe two people the whole hike.
The stillness of the forest in the snow is breathtaking.
Be very very careful if you try this in the snow. Past the campground, you can get turned around very easily. I was not wearing the best of winter gear. I stopped for something to eat at one point and got really really cold. If 'something' had happened (broken ankle, medical condition, etc). It would've been bad news bears... and speaking of bears- none to be seen the whole 8 miles- must have been hibernating... thankfully.
In summer, I'm sure this is a great family spot. In the winter, it's for friends or the experienced solo hiker.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kernville, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ah Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

While I prefer walking, for the less mobile this drive provides a true taste of Sierran forest and meadow. Wildlife can often be seen Spring through Fall, and Spring to early summer flowers can be spectacular.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed the walk, they could do more with trail markers but it was nice. It would be pretty in the spring too. We saw deer and got close to 3 bucks, within 10-15 feet and they just watched us as long as you don't move too quick they seem unaffected.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for bear sightings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We saw a bear walk across the road here and many others spot bears in the meadow. Keep your distance, of course.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as other stops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not as good as panoramic pt, moro rock, grant grove or Sherman tree but the Tharp Log was neat. The drive thru tree is on the way so that was a neat picture stop on the way to the meadow.

We we there in October. I'm sure a visit in the Spring would be more spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Meadow Loop also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crescent Meadow Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Meadow Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crescent Meadow Loop to your Saves list