We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome during the winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Meadow Loop

Crescent Meadow Loop
, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Easy hiking trail that takes you past the Chimney Tree and Tharp's Log.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome during the winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hiked this in January when it's closed to traffic.
Snowshoed it in the middle of a snowstorm and it was incredible.
Saw maybe two people the whole hike.
The stillness of the forest in the snow is breathtaking.
Be very very careful if you try this in the snow. Past the campground, you can get turned around very easily. I was not wearing the best of winter gear. I stopped for something to eat at one point and got really really cold. If 'something' had happened (broken ankle, medical condition, etc). It would've been bad news bears... and speaking of bears- none to be seen the whole 8 miles- must have been hibernating... thankfully.
In summer, I'm sure this is a great family spot. In the winter, it's for friends or the experienced solo hiker.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kernville, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ah Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

While I prefer walking, for the less mobile this drive provides a true taste of Sierran forest and meadow. Wildlife can often be seen Spring through Fall, and Spring to early summer flowers can be spectacular.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed the walk, they could do more with trail markers but it was nice. It would be pretty in the spring too. We saw deer and got close to 3 bucks, within 10-15 feet and they just watched us as long as you don't move too quick they seem unaffected.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for bear sightings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We saw a bear walk across the road here and many others spot bears in the meadow. Keep your distance, of course.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as other stops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not as good as panoramic pt, moro rock, grant grove or Sherman tree but the Tharp Log was neat. The drive thru tree is on the way so that was a neat picture stop on the way to the meadow.

We we there in October. I'm sure a visit in the Spring would be more spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Meadow Loop also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crescent Meadow Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Meadow Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.