We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah Nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Meadow Loop

Crescent Meadow Loop
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking & camping tours, Outdoor Activities, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Easy hiking trail that takes you past the Chimney Tree and Tharp's Log.
Kernville, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ah Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

While I prefer walking, for the less mobile this drive provides a true taste of Sierran forest and meadow. Wildlife can often be seen Spring through Fall, and Spring to early summer flowers can be spectacular.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed the walk, they could do more with trail markers but it was nice. It would be pretty in the spring too. We saw deer and got close to 3 bucks, within 10-15 feet and they just watched us as long as you don't move too quick they seem unaffected.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for bear sightings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We saw a bear walk across the road here and many others spot bears in the meadow. Keep your distance, of course.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as other stops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not as good as panoramic pt, moro rock, grant grove or Sherman tree but the Tharp Log was neat. The drive thru tree is on the way so that was a neat picture stop on the way to the meadow.

We we there in October. I'm sure a visit in the Spring would be more spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Muir is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We read about John Muir thinking this area was one of the best parts of the park. He is right. The various colors of the meadow compared to the nearby forests added a wonderful memory. I hiked to the Tharp log and was impressed by this lodging that was occupied during the summer for almost thirty years. Wonderful hike.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Meadow Loop also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crescent Meadow Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Meadow Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.