We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not as good as other stops” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Meadow Loop

Crescent Meadow Loop
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Easy hiking trail that takes you past the Chimney Tree and Tharp's Log.
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as other stops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not as good as panoramic pt, moro rock, grant grove or Sherman tree but the Tharp Log was neat. The drive thru tree is on the way so that was a neat picture stop on the way to the meadow.

We we there in October. I'm sure a visit in the Spring would be more spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Muir is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We read about John Muir thinking this area was one of the best parts of the park. He is right. The various colors of the meadow compared to the nearby forests added a wonderful memory. I hiked to the Tharp log and was impressed by this lodging that was occupied during the summer for almost thirty years. Wonderful hike.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy trails, bear sightings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well maintained and signposted trails. Lots of variety of hiking ease. We came across a couple of black bears here, which were quite docile - was great experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Even in September when the meadow is obviously not at it's best is is a lovely 2 mile easy walk. We saw a bear and cub while we were there, making it a highlight.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wildlife in Abundance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

GO HERE!!!!! This was our last day on vacation and I had just said that the trip would be perfect if we could just see some wildlife other than squirrels, chipmunks, and deer. And guess what??? We saw a mother bear and her cub, a huge rattlesnake who warned us with a quiet rattle and a rare white faced woodpecker. This meadow is teaming with wildlife. To see it, go in the morning or late afternoon, because the bears take a nap during the heat of the day. Walk quietly and stay alert! Wear insect repellent, and do not wear perfumes or plant based hair products-the insects love the smell!! This walk is easy and Fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Meadow Loop also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crescent Meadow Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Meadow Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.