We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not as good as other stops” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Meadow Loop

Crescent Meadow Loop
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Easy hiking trail that takes you past the Chimney Tree and Tharp's Log.
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as other stops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not as good as panoramic pt, moro rock, grant grove or Sherman tree but the Tharp Log was neat. The drive thru tree is on the way so that was a neat picture stop on the way to the meadow.

We we there in October. I'm sure a visit in the Spring would be more spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Muir is right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We read about John Muir thinking this area was one of the best parts of the park. He is right. The various colors of the meadow compared to the nearby forests added a wonderful memory. I hiked to the Tharp log and was impressed by this lodging that was occupied during the summer for almost thirty years. Wonderful hike.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easy trails, bear sightings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Well maintained and signposted trails. Lots of variety of hiking ease. We came across a couple of black bears here, which were quite docile - was great experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Even in September when the meadow is obviously not at it's best is is a lovely 2 mile easy walk. We saw a bear and cub while we were there, making it a highlight.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wildlife in Abundance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

GO HERE!!!!! This was our last day on vacation and I had just said that the trip would be perfect if we could just see some wildlife other than squirrels, chipmunks, and deer. And guess what??? We saw a mother bear and her cub, a huge rattlesnake who warned us with a quiet rattle and a rare white faced woodpecker. This meadow is teaming with wildlife. To see it, go in the morning or late afternoon, because the bears take a nap during the heat of the day. Walk quietly and stay alert! Wear insect repellent, and do not wear perfumes or plant based hair products-the insects love the smell!! This walk is easy and Fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Meadow Loop also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Crescent Meadow Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Meadow Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crescent Meadow Loop to your Saves list