We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Village

Cedar Grove Village
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-565-0100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Village in Kings Canyon National Park where you will find basic lodging, dining and a store.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The people that work there were very friendly and informative. The store was awesome for t-shirts and other collectables. WiFi was a bonus.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful park, but the store and restaurant and hotel: not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found the employees at the restaurant and the store to be extremely surly and uncharacteristic of a national park. We got to the restaurant just before closing time, after a very long drive, and they were unhappy to see any more people that day. They did reluctantly make us cold sandwiches, but just after we got our sandwiches, another couple, obviously from europe, arrived, and they were totally given the cold shoulder. They had room reservations, and were told that they could get NOTHING to eat.. I felt so bad for them, they were devastated after that very long and challenging drive into the canyon, that they were simply turned away. They couldn't even by a candy bar!!!! What a poor reflection on American hospitality!

The next day we stopped into the store, and the woman there was the grumpiest person I've seen at a cash register in many months.
The area was gorgeous, but at "the village" they really need to hire staff who have compassion and patience for the hearty souls who travel down into that canyon!

the campgrounds nearby were beautiful and we had no problems there

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Grants grove is so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Grants grove is so beautiful! It was my first experience with "the big trees." The General Grant tree was amazing! It made me feel so small. It put life's stupid little issues into perspective. Totally felt like a "puny human!"

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The views were spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a place worth driving to. You will decent to the lowest area of Sequoia and will get really beautiful views. Near the end you will pass Grizzly Falls which can be very active in the spring.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the extra time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is not on the Main Generals Highway. It is at the end of a 30 mile stretch of winding mountain roads. But it is worth it. You will want to have reservations before you get here. The rooms are ok and the AC doesn't work great, but it is cool at night even in Summer time. Nice and quiet and lots of trailheads nearby even for just day hikes. You will want to bring food, the only food available closes around 8. They provide free water refills, you cannot drink the tap water. The store and restaurant do not rip you off like in other parks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Grove Village also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Cedar Grove Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.