We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Village

Cedar Grove Village
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-565-0100
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Village in Kings Canyon National Park where you will find basic lodging, dining and a store.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The people that work there were very friendly and informative. The store was awesome for t-shirts and other collectables. WiFi was a bonus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
rhode island
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautiful park, but the store and restaurant and hotel: not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found the employees at the restaurant and the store to be extremely surly and uncharacteristic of a national park. We got to the restaurant just before closing time, after a very long drive, and they were unhappy to see any more people that day. They did reluctantly make us cold sandwiches, but just after we got our sandwiches, another couple, obviously from europe, arrived, and they were totally given the cold shoulder. They had room reservations, and were told that they could get NOTHING to eat.. I felt so bad for them, they were devastated after that very long and challenging drive into the canyon, that they were simply turned away. They couldn't even by a candy bar!!!! What a poor reflection on American hospitality!

The next day we stopped into the store, and the woman there was the grumpiest person I've seen at a cash register in many months.
The area was gorgeous, but at "the village" they really need to hire staff who have compassion and patience for the hearty souls who travel down into that canyon!

the campgrounds nearby were beautiful and we had no problems there

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank rhodeygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Grants grove is so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Grants grove is so beautiful! It was my first experience with "the big trees." The General Grant tree was amazing! It made me feel so small. It put life's stupid little issues into perspective. Totally felt like a "puny human!"

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The views were spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a place worth driving to. You will decent to the lowest area of Sequoia and will get really beautiful views. Near the end you will pass Grizzly Falls which can be very active in the spring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth the extra time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is not on the Main Generals Highway. It is at the end of a 30 mile stretch of winding mountain roads. But it is worth it. You will want to have reservations before you get here. The rooms are ok and the AC doesn't work great, but it is cool at night even in Summer time. Nice and quiet and lots of trailheads nearby even for just day hikes. You will want to bring food, the only food available closes around 8. They provide free water refills, you cannot drink the tap water. The store and restaurant do not rip you off like in other parks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojomajoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Grove Village also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Cedar Grove Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing