We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Inn in the Sierra Nevadas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snowline Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snowline Motel
44138 E. Kings Canyon Road (Hwy 180), Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky Inn in the Sierra Nevadas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed staying at Snowline Lodge on way to King's Canyon/Sequoia National Park. Lots of atmosphere, nice room, community frig on upstairs deck,bonfire at night, and owner even makes you waffles in AM

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Snowline is like the Little House on the Prairie with wrap around verandas top and bottom sitting in peace and tranquility. We loved our bedroom with the beautiful quilt, ceiling fan and spanking new and clean bathroom - complete with toiletries. As we were very tired when we arrived Jeff persuaded Robert to cook us an evening meal - his signature dish of chicken pasta florentine which was so tasty with fresh vegetables and lovely salad. They are big-hearted and interesting people, willing to chat and swap stories. Robert's waffles for breakfast were far removed from those in motel chains everywhere else and the coffee bottomless. My partner played the piano watched over by a less than impressed mannequin!! If you like to stay somewhere that isn't plastic, formulaic and sanitised this is the place for you - and no we are not young, just open-minded!! The Snowline is above all a relaxed business with a lot of trust, if there is no-one around you are encouraged to summon help via the house-phone. We hope the owners get all the encouragement they deserve to continue with this on-going project as it is definitely a labour of love.

Room Tip: Not many to choose from and from the two we saw they all looked beautiful and homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxhell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe people don't like this place! If you're young, open minded and looking for a true heart and genuine business bed and breakfasts, you'll love this place. When we arrived there was almost nobody, but i can imagine that with a bit more people this place is more lively and you can even make a camp fire. A room with a heart, a normal 2-persons bed, a clean bath room with hot water, a nice lamp next to the bed and an hige fan in the corner of the room. No need for tv or entertainment in the rooms, you can find all that in the communal living room down stairs. Be sure to ask before 8pm where you can grab a bite and if you don't have anything to drink with ya, jeff or the other guy gladly help you out. The waffles in the morning are a delight(unlike other plastic waffles we've been eating elsewhere) and the company is just true and genuine good hearted people :-) For us, europeans, this was a place where we felt a bit home. The decorations seem to be picked out by the lady of the house who roams flea markets and thrift stores to add a unique touch to it, we loved it ! a B&B with a story!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's tough for me to rip the place apart because there is a genuine feeling that the hotel and its staff are trying hard...but in the end fall slightly short. There are not a ton of options this close to Kings Canyon, and we were travelling with a small dog which limited our options even further. This hotel is extremely pet friendly with no extra fee for bringing our pup. The price for the room was fair and the location was perfect for entering the park the next morning. The room (#4) was simple and clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was new and the shower was was clean with plenty of hot water and full water pressure which was nice. Waffles are served for breakfast. No other options were presented so we just ate the waffles. They were pretty good.

There were a couple of downsides. A big one for us was that there was only one usable outlet for both the room and bathroom and it is hidden behind the bed which means no plugging in your phone charger, or fan (my husband always travels with one) and no using a hair dryer! There is no TV, phone or clock in the room which might not have been a big deal except there is also no wifi to play with your ipad, watch streaming videos or wear down your phone battery because you cannot recharge it. These guys are really committing to the "quaint" motif. Granted there is a communal room for TV watching, game playing and books but after a long day on the road we really just wanted to relax in our room and not be communal. The whole experience was a bit like staying at your Aunt's house; the TV is downstairs as are all the amenities and if you want them bad enough you'll go be social...turns out we didn't want them that bad.

A small adjustment I might suggest for the owners would be that I like to have toiletries in the room. Even in the most mom and pop motels, there is usually a little basket of toiletries. There are none here. It's just a nice inexpensive touch. Of course, first I would add outlets :)

Finally, upon driving up to the motel it looks a little bit scary...it's the sort of eclectic that leans less toward "Portlandia" and more towards "X-Files". But once you get past the mannequins and creaky floors the place is harmless and the sleep restful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway with the balcony were great and offered a view of the impressive lightening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On our roadtrip to the Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks we bumped into this motel. Jeff, the owner, gave us (4 budget travellers) a great deal for our stay! The room was very clean and cute with awesome looking blankets. I loved the fact that there was a huge living/common room downstairs where we could sit and eat our own (!!!) food. We had a great time chatting with Jeff about the process of turning a dump (see oldest review) in the great place he already has and is still working on! There is a great selection of board games, puzzles, books and DVDs for guests to use so you won't be bored here :)
Our power outlet didn't work at first, but when we told Jeff, he fixed it immediately for us and then came back later to check whether we were alright.

The next morning we were served with an amazing waffle breakfast and got to leave our 'review' on the wall with all the others.

This is one of the best places that I have stayed at in my life. It is a unique motel/lodge with the friendliest owners/people I have ever met. They are enthusiastic about their work, motel and life and genuinely love to make their guests feel welcome and appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

You've probably never stayed at a place quite like this before. If your goal is value, proximity to sequoia Nat'l Park and friendliness then this place is a home run ( as long as you're okay with a little roughness around the edges).

Super friendly staff, free wifi, waffles/coffee in the morning, 10 mins from park entrance.

If you're looking for luxury or you're picky you probably want to keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I pulled in here after deciding that the places in the park weren't good value for money and the were a couple of rooms free.

It is definitely quirky although I don't think motel does it justice but neither does hotel. It has a feel of an 'out dated' English B&B to it but for all the right reasons.

There was a real mixed crowd of nationalities staying when I was there which made for a great conversation.

It isn't the near any place to eat so I was given the offer to eat there and the Chicken Alfredo was nicely home cooked and a much more sensible portion size than I'd had all trip! I think the huge wooden bar area needs a bit of development but the whole communal sitting/dining area had a very spacious feel about it, despite the crazy decor. A lovey old wood burning stove in the corner made a real treat.

Rooms were very clean and had patchwork quilts on the beds. Breakfast fine but nothing more than standard fare of waffles and cereal.

In area that seemed to be quite expensive (purely around location rather than quality it seems) this option I think is a good value find if you can be bothered to drive the 10-15min outside King Canyon Park (I paid ~$90 inc. dinner)

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snowline Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowline Motel

Address: 44138 E. Kings Canyon Road (Hwy 180), Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowline Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Snowline Motel to your Saves list