We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home made of friendliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snowline Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snowline Motel
44138 E. Kings Canyon Road (Hwy 180), Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A home made of friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On our roadtrip to the Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks we bumped into this motel. Jeff, the owner, gave us (4 budget travellers) a great deal for our stay! The room was very clean and cute with awesome looking blankets. I loved the fact that there was a huge living/common room downstairs where we could sit and eat our own (!!!) food. We had a great time chatting with Jeff about the process of turning a dump (see oldest review) in the great place he already has and is still working on! There is a great selection of board games, puzzles, books and DVDs for guests to use so you won't be bored here :)
Our power outlet didn't work at first, but when we told Jeff, he fixed it immediately for us and then came back later to check whether we were alright.

The next morning we were served with an amazing waffle breakfast and got to leave our 'review' on the wall with all the others.

This is one of the best places that I have stayed at in my life. It is a unique motel/lodge with the friendliest owners/people I have ever met. They are enthusiastic about their work, motel and life and genuinely love to make their guests feel welcome and appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powers Lake
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

You've probably never stayed at a place quite like this before. If your goal is value, proximity to sequoia Nat'l Park and friendliness then this place is a home run ( as long as you're okay with a little roughness around the edges).

Super friendly staff, free wifi, waffles/coffee in the morning, 10 mins from park entrance.

If you're looking for luxury or you're picky you probably want to keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I pulled in here after deciding that the places in the park weren't good value for money and the were a couple of rooms free.

It is definitely quirky although I don't think motel does it justice but neither does hotel. It has a feel of an 'out dated' English B&B to it but for all the right reasons.

There was a real mixed crowd of nationalities staying when I was there which made for a great conversation.

It isn't the near any place to eat so I was given the offer to eat there and the Chicken Alfredo was nicely home cooked and a much more sensible portion size than I'd had all trip! I think the huge wooden bar area needs a bit of development but the whole communal sitting/dining area had a very spacious feel about it, despite the crazy decor. A lovey old wood burning stove in the corner made a real treat.

Rooms were very clean and had patchwork quilts on the beds. Breakfast fine but nothing more than standard fare of waffles and cereal.

In area that seemed to be quite expensive (purely around location rather than quality it seems) this option I think is a good value find if you can be bothered to drive the 10-15min outside King Canyon Park (I paid ~$90 inc. dinner)

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

Very friendly staff a few bugs but they are not to be found in our room. In the morning we got delicouis pancakes. At first the hotel doesnt come off as pretty and the black cat isnt a good sign but the luck is not needed becuase it is a fine establishment

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We happened on this place on the way out of Kings Canyon. We were going to camp, but the weather didn't cooperate...The owners, Cindy and Jeff are very nice and friendly. The rooms are unique and very clean. Loved the breakfast on the deck! they provided coffee, tea, milk, oatmeal, toast,and make you own waffles every morning. As another reviewer put it, the downstairs is a work in progress and has lots of potential. There are only 6 rooms, so the motel has a nice comfy feeling to it. They sent us to a resturaunt for dinner, down the hill a bit where the food was very good and we even got a discount. I would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

This place is fascinating! If you want to get away from the tedium of standard motel chains, try it for size. The rooms are clean and spacious with fabulous old-fashioned, handmade furniture. Bull-frogs chorus from the garden is a bonus, as is the log-cabin style porch. Friendly and fantasically helpful owners, who even went into town for us to pick up dinner and a couple of beers. Smoking is allowed on the front porch. Downstairs is still a work-in-progress but has intriguing objets d'art, like a manequin on the piano dressed up to party! If you want somewhere to remember for all the right reasons, that you could base a book on, stay here. We both loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking porch are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Snowline motel changed ownership last week. The new owner was a bit confused (our reservation had been lost) but nice enough. The room was quiet and clean, no moldy smell the sometimes exists in old motels. The bed was comfortable and the linen was new. At $85.00, I thought is was worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snowline Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowline Motel

Address: 44138 E. Kings Canyon Road (Hwy 180), Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowline Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Snowline Motel to your Saves list