We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Whitney

Mount Whitney
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
760-876-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Trails, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most climbed peak in the Sierra Nevada, and the highest.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Hiked to the summit on July 22, alone and in celebration of my 60th birthday.This was a beautiful hike and although I did not prepare as most recommend, I am in excellent physical condition (I run on the treadmill 8 or so miles most days). Had a great time and although the hike was challenging, it was considerably easier than I expected. Left my home in southern Orange County, California, at 10:30 pm on July 21. Arrived at trail head at 3 am and started hiking. Took 5 and a half hours to reach the summit (passed more than 60 other hikers), spent 30 minutes on top, and took 4 and a half hours to get down. Kept expecting the altitude to really slow me down, but it was never a problem even though I had made no attempt to acclimate. Picked up something from Carls jr in Lone Pine and drove home, arriving at 6:30 pm. It was a tiring but thoroughly enjoyable 20 hours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Bucket list hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

There are two options - do it in a day or take several days. I have done both. Last time, due to the convoluted lottery system, I did it in a day. The advantage is you only need a day pack which serves to speed up the hike. Less weight equals greater speed. The downside is the hike is faster and it is difficult to enjoy the lakes and stream.

Most important, on a day hike there is less time to acclimate to the elevation. Either way do plan to camp at Whitney Portal and take the time to have pancakes at the cafe. If you plan to do it in a day use a headlamp and start at 2 or 3 in the morning. It will take longer to reach the top than you plan.

Savor the hike. Speed is important but take your time and enjoy the bucket list experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Central, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting but not for young families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Located on the sparsely-vegetated eastern side of the Sierra Nevada range, Mt. Whitney is monstrous but offers little to do unless one wishes to take a lengthy (approx. 22 mile) hike to it. The best vantage point for families with young children is from the Visitor Center in Lone Pine, CA.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“tall mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

you get a great view from the visitor center just south of Lone Pine Ca on Hwy 395 to see the highest mountain in the lower 48 states.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Climbing Mt Whitney via the mountaneering route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had a blast doing this climb. During the summer the mountaneering route is a hybrid between a trek and a climb. I suppose the technical description of the ascent is grade 3 rock scramble, so no technical experience required but if you are a seasoned trekker and/or physically fit and looking to expand your expereince and skills you will not be disappointed. There is nothing boring about this 11 hour rock scrmable (on hands and knees) up and down Mt. Whitney. We did the ascent from and back to Boy Scout Lake. Overall trip was 3 days (last day was more of a half day). The mountain is 14,508 feet so altitude and its effects on the body come into play but are manageable. The views are spectacular.

I did the trip with SWS Mountain Guides. They were excellent (Casey and Matthew) and I highly recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Whitney also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Mount Whitney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Whitney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.