We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climbing Mt Whitney via the mountaneering route” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Whitney

Mount Whitney
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
760-876-6200
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Mountains, Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The most climbed peak in the Sierra Nevada, and the highest.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Climbing Mt Whitney via the mountaneering route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had a blast doing this climb. During the summer the mountaneering route is a hybrid between a trek and a climb. I suppose the technical description of the ascent is grade 3 rock scramble, so no technical experience required but if you are a seasoned trekker and/or physically fit and looking to expand your expereince and skills you will not be disappointed. There is nothing boring about this 11 hour rock scrmable (on hands and knees) up and down Mt. Whitney. We did the ascent from and back to Boy Scout Lake. Overall trip was 3 days (last day was more of a half day). The mountain is 14,508 feet so altitude and its effects on the body come into play but are manageable. The views are spectacular.

I did the trip with SWS Mountain Guides. They were excellent (Casey and Matthew) and I highly recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Cap
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highest Elevation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Didnt go all the way to the top, just to the Portal.. still awsome waterfalls and sights... very high altitude, so walking somewhat slowers, the drive up is slow w/ lots of turns, but road is good..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Hiking Accomplishment to Date...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

50% of the people who try to summit Whitney will not make it. Among the challenges you need to overcome: the highly restrictive permit application process, physically demanding conditions, extreme weather, dehydration, and if you can overcome all of those things, you never know if acute mountain sickness (altitude sickness) might set in. I am very thankful to have summited last October. We arrived in Lone Pine on a Tuesday night, camped out at the portal the first night (8000'). Be sure to say hello to Doug if you stop at the Portal store, he's one of the good guys. We let the portal at 10 am and ascended to Trail Camp by Wednesday night at 4pm (12,000'). We summited on Thursday (14,505') by leaving at 4:45 am and made the trek all the way down by 7:30 pm. We took Diamox to help with AMS and stayed well-hydrated and loaded with caffeine and ibuprofen. My most difficult time on the mountain came at 10,000 ft, but after making it past that point, I was issue free with the exception of a persistent dull headache while 11,000 ft.

I would HIGHLY recommend planning this trip well in advance, especially if you will be flying to this location. I started planning more than a year in advance. The permits are hard to obtain, and I would hold out for an overnight pass rather than a 24 hour one. Rent a bear canister from the Eastern Sierra Interagency Visitors Center for $5 as they are required gear in the Whitney Zone. I would try to eat as much as possible while climbing in lower altitudes as I have heard AMS makes you lose your appetite, and you'll need the energy. Water sources beyond Trail Camp are scarce to non-existent. Plan on taking 3 liters of water per person to get you up the 97 switchbacks and the final 5 miles to the summit. We got hit with a blizzard near Trail Crest (13,600') but weren't about to turn back. I would also start early from Trail Camp as unpredictable weather can pop up as noon approaches. This was a killer experience, truly extreme, highly rewarding, a great team effort, and provided unrivaled views of the Sierras and beyond. As they say: The summit is optional, the parking lot is mandatory. Be safe and take your time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful trail, challenging hike to the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Beautiful, varied scenery on a nice trail, a bit scary on the ridges, but breathtaking to see over the crest. Of course, the bad news is you have to join lots of others along the way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Mt. Whitney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

At 14,496 ft, the highest point in continental US; 10.6 mile trail gains 6000 ft. to get you to the top. All sorts of permits required. Must be in good condition to survive the high altitude, but it's worth the view from the top!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Whitney also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Mount Whitney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Whitney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Mount Whitney to your Saves list