We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Grove is the best place for pictures when you camp at Stony Creek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stony Creek Campground
Save Saved
You added Stony Creek Campground to your Saves list
Rt 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Corona, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lost Grove is the best place for pictures when you camp at Stony Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Take the 180. Much smoother and less loopy. Plus there's road work on the 198 at the other entrance. We had to wait an hour in the sun, cars parked. Besides that, Stony creek is in the middle, very far from everything else, but there is a BEAUTIFUL sequioa grove nearby in between Dorst Creek and Stony Creek called the LOST GROVE. It's unmarked, but you'll see cars parked there. I liked the Lost Grove better than the crowds at General Sherman. Lost Grove is the best place for pictures if you camp at Stony creek. Our campsite was great, but sites 20,21,23 had DEER in their campsites every morning, since they were by the woods more. :) The rangers wear white shirts and are pretty nice. The bathrooms have mirrors and sinks, nightlites at night, (Still bring your flashlight) no soap, and 2 flush toliets in the ladies room. The market/ gift shop/ gas station is only like, a mile away, or less. We bought potatoes there one morning. They have showers there and a restaurant. We got a large PIZZA , it was full of cheese and was pretty good.
There was a light shower of RAIN every morning even though the forecast for Three Rivers said SUNNY. When the rain did clear up, it was pretty warm, but not hot :) Last but not least, I didn't see any fish in the creek or anyone fishing there. Lots of families and teens. Everyone was really QUIET at night and we didn't encounter any bears. EXTRA CARS ARE $5.00 A NIGHT, NOT BAD AT ALL.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Please note: there are 2 campgrounds across from each other: Stoney Creek and Upper Stony creek. We stayed at the latter, and are very glad for it!

So maybe I shouldn't write this.... one of the best things about the campground was that it was so quiet. We didn't plan to camp here, first tried Lodgepole (full) and then Stoney Creek (also full and felt very "packed"), but in the end we were very happy we stayed here. Of 2 weeks camping (with moderately sized camper), this was our most memorable stay.

Only 3 or 4 other campers far far away, very spacious grounds, prints of bear paws everywhere, good sized fire pit, nice ranger, very cheap, store & gasstation close by and only a short drive to wonderfull hiking trails (I recommend The Trail of the Sequoias - beautiful, quiet, ran into a bear ;-)). There are no amenities, save for a tap with cold water and an outhouse, but dumping stations close by.

If you want to camp IN NATURE, hear absolutely nothing at night, experience true darkness, see deer and (if you're lucky - we weren't) bears: this is your spot!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

This really is a beautiful place. Most campsites, except for a few choice sites, are fairly close together, limiting privacy. There are a few sites though that are very secluded, right on the creek, and are excellent places to camp if you can get them. There are 49 total sites and at least 10-15 of them are quite nice, in my opinion. Campsite #16 would be my first recommendation. As others have said, there is plenty of bear and deer activity, but as long as you don't do something stupid, you'll be fine. USE the food lockers! Lock up everything with a scent - not just food. Gum, Citronella candles, bath products, etc. The lockers are pretty big and will accommodate pretty much everything a family of 4 could bring. There is a store 1/2 mile from the campground that has all the essentials - milk, bread, drinks, etc. Both pay phone stalls were bare, so don't expect to be able to call anyone. Of course there is no cell phone reception either. The campground has flush toilets, and sinks with running cold water. They're not fancy but hey, it's a campground. The campground was nearly full when we were there and I was surprised by how many cars drove through at night! Most places I have camped are fairly quiet after dark, and I swear 30 cars drove through this place from 8PM to 10PM. But all in all, it was a very positive camping experience. On the 10 scale, I give this campground a solid 7.5, maybe 8. One of the better campgrounds in the Kings Canyon/Sequoia area. (Better than Crystal Springs, our previous favorite.) If you're interested in fishing, you might really enjoy this area as long as there haven't been drought conditions during the year. We were there in mid August, and the creek was nearly un-fishable. We saw a few decent rainbows (8-10 inches), but you better have a drop line and some bait because the water was only about a foot deep. You couldn't drag a spinner through it. But I would guess that under better conditions, it's a very fun stretch of river to fish. If you're heading to this area and want a nice place for family camping, you're not likely to be disappointed with this campground. $20 per night as of Aug. 2009. One word of caution - forget about 'Upper Stony Creek'! It's horrible! The roads are unpaved, the campsites are unkempt and ugly, the bathrooms are vault toilets... yuck! Stick with Stony Creek. :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

This was by far one of the best campgrounds in the area. We have stayed at Azalea, Dorst, Potwisha and at cedar creek. We also have had a good look at lodgepole. I would say out of all of these our favorite has been at Stony Creek.
We stayed here in June of 2008 with our 30 foot trailer at site 40. One of the greatest things about this park is that most of the spots are LEVEL. This took setting up to be a breeze. Since we set up so quick we were able to really enjoy the camping experience. It started right away due to the fact that there is a running creek right next to our camp site. We were able to fish and swim in the many swimming holes.
Another great thing about this campground was the bathrooms. They were so clean. Compared to the other campgrounds this was a nice surprise.
One thing to let people know. We did have bears visit us every night. I left out the dirty laundry one night and they scattered the clothes everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, ca
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

This was a nice place to camp. We reserved the site back in April. This campground is not in the park, its between the two parks on the Generals highway. Stony creek is a large campground . Mostly locals were camping here. There are only 48 sites all very large, it has flush not pit restrooms .The creek flows rite next to the campground and many sites are next to it. We stayed 4 nights at site #3.The bear boxes are very lg 4' X 4' X 17" high set on a cement slab. We seen a bear the first day. It was a yearling and didn't bother anyone. The 2nd nite a car alarm went off about 3am and a few sites where food was left out were rummaged through. Keep all food in the lockers! There were deer in and out of the campground day and nite. This is a great place to camp if you want to avoid all the tourists. Its a 1/2 mile to the store at stony creek lodge and gas station gas was $3.49. There are showers at the store $4.00 for 15 min per person.The pay phone at the store was broken. The showers were disgusting. Lodgepole is 10 miles down the hwy if you want to shower. We stopped in just to look around. The showers there were $3.85 for 8 min and 25 Cents a min for extra mins and line was long. Lodgepole looked like a nice campground, it just had to many tourists for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stony Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Campground

Address: Rt 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.