We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice centrally located campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stony Creek Campground
Save
You added Stony Creek Campground to your Saves list
Rt 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice centrally located campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I just spent 3 nights in Stony Creek Campground from Wed-Fri night. Campground is in a fantastic location in Sequoia National Forest between Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks. Campsites were huge and the campground itself was pretty empty the first two nights which was nice. Restrooms are pretty basic- cold water taps, flush toilets, and very dim sensor nightlights (but only the men's room one worked). The camp host was nowhere to be found until Friday night and we were a little disappointed in the lack of bear safety (stoves and such left out) although each site had a spacious bear box. The one disappointment was the showers at nearby Stony Creek Lodge. They were $4 for 10 mins and were the most disgusting showers we've ever encountered. We told them they could have the other tokens back, and the cashier there was very gracious and gave us our money back towards ice we were purchasing despite their no refund policy. If you want a hot, clean shower we'd definitely recommend the drive to Lodgepole, which also features the best market/gift shop in the parks. Overall, it was a great stay and we'd visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Not all sites are large but are clean and near the creek so you will hear the soothing sound of running water. Bear boxes are large but don't have two doors so its a pain getting items in and out. Also some bear boxes are not shaded so they can get hot which will warm up your cooler so if you can bring a canopy too put over bear box. They have clean restroom with flush toilets. Not too far from Lodgepole where they have great showers for $3.50 for 10min and have great hot water and water pressure. Definitely coming back too this campground again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My Family and I have been coming to Stony Creek for 20 years and Love it. I noticed a review that stated the campground is all dirt. The roads and site where you drive and park your vehicles are all paved. Motorized vehicles are not allowed off the pavement. The campground has flush toilets and a mile beyond the campground is a market, hotel and gas station. Yes there are animals, there will be feces. We've seen bears, deer, mountain lions, bats, etc... When you go camping expect the unexpected like bee's, heat, rain and what ever else can happen then make the best of it. We Love Sequoia and Stony Creek Campground and have never had a problem with the camp host, plus the place has always been well taken care of. Sure the place is old but well maintained. We went to Stony Creek last summer and are in the process of going within the next month.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Expensive gas. Pay phones have lots of mice feces and some hair on the top and around them. Only one pay phone in working order, but on the other I had to yell to be heard. Unconcerned clerk. I had thought of eating and staying over but I don't want hantavirus or something.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited Stony Greek Campground over Labor Day weekend. We started at a site (#28) in Lower Stony Creek. When we arrived, it was obvious that the camp hosts were overwhelmed and had not been able to rake the site or clean out the fire pit. We found some trash and dog poop in the site. The next day, we discovered a bee hive right next to our tent. The camp hosts were not at all helpful in spraying or removing the hive and told us our only option was to move to another site (of which few were available). We ended up finding a spot in Upper Stony Creek across the street (#13). This is a large camp site close to the creek, which was great. It does not have as much shade as lower Stony Creek and does not have flush toilets. Worst of all, the bees were swarming in this site as well! As soon as any food came out, the bees appeared. It was extremely frustrating and made for a much less than relaxing camping experience.

I rate this "Very Good" because if it wasn't for the bees, we would have had a great experience here. Since no other reviews mention this, I am not sure if it was the time of year, or the fact that this is a very dry year, or just bad luck that caused our bee issues. The camp sites here are extremely large, and spaced out so you don't feel like you are on top of your neighbors. The creek is easily accessible, but by September there is little water running in it. Lastly, be prepared to see bears and take bear warnings seriously. Having said that, we did not see any in either camp site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA County
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I just returned from spending several nites tenting in this campground. It's really nicely located between Kings Cyn and Sequoia parks. It's located in an open area of Sugar Pine trees on the banks of the creek. However nothing in this CG is paved-this means clouds of dust when any one drives by(or any time a big gust of wind blows).
Besides the dust my two big gripes were:
1: The campsites seem to run into each other with no real definition of diveways or sites. People seemed to park their cars/trailers anywhere in their site. This tends to degrade possible reasonably level tent sites(which seemed to be non existant in some camp sites.

2: The state of the vault toilets- these are "vault" toilets not "pit" toilets. I've camped in a wide variety of CG's in my life, but these ones are the worst I have seen in many, many years- particularly the dozens of flies buzzing about and lying dead on the floor. Plus the smell!
Worse than some of the old time Forest Service CG's I stayed in as a child in the 60's!
Most mornings I walked down to the lower CG and used their nice clean restrooms.

My sleep was poor due to noisy neighbors-but that can happen in any CG.

Just a tip: The showers at Lodgepole are 1$ cheaper for the same lenghth of time as S.C. Lodge.
The sodas/ice cream @ Lodgepole seemed a little cheaper w/ more selection, too.

Also, if budget allows the breakfast buffet at W. (sp) Lodge is very good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great place to camp across the street from Stony Creek and upstream of it. Doesn't have a shower or flush toilet but the latrine bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen. I saw Steve, the host, come by at least twice during the day to clean it out. He was also very friendly and helpful. They have drinking water on site so no need to bring filters or iodine tablets. Also, bear boxes are provided at each site so no need to bring your own container. The Stony Creek runs right next to the site and is a great place to go exploring, fishing and swimming. The trailhead to Lake Jenny is right on the camp site and looks like a great hike. It's literally two minutes away from Stony Creek Lodge, showers, a restaurant and convenience store. In the morning, a deer ran through the camp.

The only things that marred the experience were obnoxious neighbors. One of them decided to vacuum their tent AT MIDNIGHT and the other one had a very loud, obnoxious generator for their RV which they, thankfully, turned off before the posted quiet time. Who brings a vacuum cleaner to go camping?

Anyway, I would camp there again and hope for the best where neighbors are concerned.

Room Tip: We stayed at camp site 17 which was nice. I would recommend sites 9, 11, or 12 if you have kids who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
0.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sequoia High Sierra Camp
Sequoia High Sierra Camp
#2 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Campground

Address: Rt 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.