We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saguaro West

Saguaro West
2700 N. Kinney Rd., Saguaro National Park, AZ 85743
+1 520 733 5158 (westside) +1 520 733 5153 (eastside)
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The western section of Saguaro National Park.
Bedford, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Impressive Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stopped at the visitor center and took the road trip, The road is unpaved but not difficult. Take the short trail to the petroglyphs.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    89
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, Oregon
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We drove the loop and stopped at the Visitor Center. Beautiful cactus. Saw a roadrunner. Bought some prickly pear candy. Worth while and would do again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A wonderful slice of the old west.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I visited this alone but it was a wonderful time. The Saguaro were amazing. You can easily spend a couple of hours walking the trails....but be sure to take water.

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Majestic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The saguaro cactus make this park unique. In July it is not crowded at all, although it can get very warm in the desert. Having water is essential if doing any hiking. The nature trail is a paved walk through the desert, very easy walk. In the evening the summer sunsets are breathtaking. The lack of visitors this time of year makes you feel the park is yours alone. This visitor's center is very helpful when looking for hikes or any information about the park.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great fun but it kicked our butts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My husband and I just got our collective hides handed to us by the King Canyon Trail. This was a great hike if you like it strenuous and with little shade. Thankfully we packed enough water for a small army and had electrolyte tablets with us for when we both started getting light headed. This was a great hike and made us work to reach the top. We will return to conquer more trails!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saguaro West also viewed

 

Been to Saguaro West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saguaro West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.