We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty darn good food at almost 12,000 feet....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trail Ridge Store Snack Bar

Trail Ridge Store Snack Bar
Trail Ridge Road, Near Alpine Visitors Center, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
970 586 3097
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
557 reviews 557 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
977 helpful votes 977 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good food at almost 12,000 feet....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I had the chili and hot chocolate and were impressed. We were not expecting much but came away satisfied. The cup of chili was almost $6 and the hot chocolate was $2. The views out of the windows are very nice. Service is slow but okay. They also offer pulled pork sandwiches and a couple other items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than airport food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you consider where you are, and the total lack of alternatives unless you bring your own food, this place is NOT BAD. And, it's clean, efficient and the food is fresh. There are not enough healthy choices, though, unless you buy a prepackaged salad or sandwich and pick off the less healthy ingredients.

It's pricey - but it supports the area, so no complaints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“better than I excpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Remember it is a store not a restaurant. Nobody serves you. You pick what you want, pay for it, find yourself a table and enjoy. One of the highest located store in the Rockies at 11,796 feet. With spectacular views of the mountains and if lucky wild life views while you munch. The food and snack options are limited so not much to choose from but the food quality is excellent, very fresh. It has options for veggies and meat lovers. You pay for the drinks when you buy food so enjoy as much as you want. Parking could be difficult to find around. Might have to drive around in search of parking for a while before you find one. Afternoons could be chilly up there so take your light jacket in summers too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent view and really good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My expectations were very low for a cafe in a national park store. The selection was very limited but the BBQ sandwich was excellent and actually better than the BBQ sandwich I had at Smokin daves in Estes Park and around the same price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,512 reviews 1,512 reviews
1,016 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
3,030 helpful votes 3,030 helpful votes
“45 years ago there was nothing to match Trail Ridge Café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Trail Ridge Café is located near the Information Center in one or the U.S. grandest National Parks. Services such as gasoline, fine dining, and supplies are best purchased in Grandby, CO or in Estes Parks, CO.

We discovered the Rocky Mountain National Park 45 years ago on an eight-week camping excursion across the U.S. We were stunned with the magnificence of the Rocky Mountain National Park. And 45 years ago there was nothing to match Trail Ridge Café in the Rocky Mountain National Park.

Try primitive camping and hiking in the Rocky Mountain National Park for several weeks, and one has a greater appreciation for Trail Ridge Café and the sales department and Native American department.

Trail Ridge Café (11,800’) is located near tree line elevation in Colorado (about 12,000’) and it requires little imagination to envision the snow depth in midwinter.

Quite frankly, we do not require the sort of fine dining that is available at the Grand Canyon National Park, and our guess is that most tourists and naturalist are quite pleased with a commercial property that blends in with the Rocky Mountain National Park. The seating area in the café has ambience, and the floor to window ceilings that brings nature to our table side is wonderful. Who in their right mind wants a McDonald’s in the Rocky Mountain National Park.

Trail Ridge Café may not offer a gourmet menu, but it does offer interesting fare for the traveler who may have ½ hour to satisfy appetite needs. And we found the young employees more than friendly.

If one is day tripping, hiking, biking, or camping,Trail Ridge Café provides a nearly perfect respite. As one who has backpacked for 3-4 weeks at a time, the fare at Trail Ridge Café is a real treat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail Ridge Store Snack Bar also viewed

 

Been to Trail Ridge Store Snack Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail Ridge Store Snack Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.