We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An obvious stopping point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Visitor Center

Alpine Visitor Center
Trail Ridge Rd., 22 mi from the Beaver Meadows entrance station, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
970/586-1206
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Shops
Attraction Details
Laporte, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An obvious stopping point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Alpine Visitor Center is on top of Trail Ridge Road and is an obvious stop when you reach the top. Air is thin and even native Coloradans can feel the altitude. If you are from lower elevations, be careful about physical exertion. There is a medical station on the park ranger side of the center and they can help if you feel any distress.

On a clear day, you can practically see to Kansas and the views are 360 degrees.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the part of Trail Ridge Road that separates the east side of the park from the long downhill trip to the west. We were just here briefly, as it was snowing and hailing -- in late July!!! Be prepared for any kind of weather when you visit.

We had to wait awhile to get a parking spot, but after circling twice, we managed to get a spot on the third try around. Just know that it might not be a fast stop if you're hoping for a quick in-and-out of the center.

We had fun walking around and looking at the incredible views -- and the typical visitor center souvenir shop -- which had a good selection of items including things for kids, clothing, mugs, etc. and we were very happy to stamp our Parks Passport with the date and location.

There are also some great Native American works of art on display and for purchase.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great stop in the Rockies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very nice little visitor center with some really great views and places for pictures. There is also a store with souveniers and a little cafe with some food items. The bathrooms were clean even with the large amount of visitors on the day we went.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Incredible view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There are so many scenic outlooks in the Rocky Mountain National Park that it would seem impossible to pick out the best spot. However, the Alpine Visitors Center clearly (pun intended) is the best. It is only 11,796 feet in altitude and has a restaurant and gift shop. Being located at the halfway point to Grand Lake it is a good place to eat and use the restroom facilities. The visitor center view is world class. We were going to go to Grand Lake, but by accident found out that an old friend was working at the Moraine Park Visitor Center, and turned around to go surprise him.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stopping-off point between Old Fall River Rd and Trail Ridge Rd.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a nice visitors center!! Large selection of quality souvenirs, maps, hand crafts and photos. Also has a nice little restaurant where you can eat overlooking the beautiful view. Be prepared for a great temperature drop and some lots of gusty winds.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Visitor Center also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Alpine Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.