We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting story behind this natural "disaster"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alluvial Fan

Alluvial Fan
Fall River Rd., about 3 mi from the Fall River entrance station, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
Attraction Details
Delhi, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“interesting story behind this natural "disaster"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice short walk with a view of a pretty falls. Interesting sory of how the fan was formed. Neat geological feature.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    10
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottsboro, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Falls were Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was an easy climb and a great place to take pics. This also a very popular area to have a picnic or just people watch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Take Time to Stop Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My nine year old grandson and I enjoyed the adventure of climbing on the rocks and boulders surrounding the falls. A different and interesting area to explore.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a stop at Alluvial Fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

From Estes Park, we took 34 to the Fall River Entrance into the park. The Alluvial or horseshoe Fan was at the back, right before you get onto Old Fall River Rd. There were tons of picnic tables with parking spaces all around this area, so I would advise you to pack a lunch. This stop was a 0.3 mi upward incline paved hike to the Alluvial fan waterfall. Worth seeing and more great pics!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a beautiful attraction and one that isn't to be missed. This is an easy to get to attraction for young and old. We were able to walk and climb up on the rocks and took some amazing pictures. The history of the Alluvial Fan is interesting, as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alluvial Fan also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Alluvial Fan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alluvial Fan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alluvial Fan to your Saves list