We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting story behind this natural "disaster"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alluvial Fan

Alluvial Fan
Fall River Rd., about 3 mi from the Fall River entrance station, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Delhi, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“interesting story behind this natural "disaster"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice short walk with a view of a pretty falls. Interesting sory of how the fan was formed. Neat geological feature.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottsboro, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Falls were Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was an easy climb and a great place to take pics. This also a very popular area to have a picnic or just people watch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Take Time to Stop Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My nine year old grandson and I enjoyed the adventure of climbing on the rocks and boulders surrounding the falls. A different and interesting area to explore.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a stop at Alluvial Fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

From Estes Park, we took 34 to the Fall River Entrance into the park. The Alluvial or horseshoe Fan was at the back, right before you get onto Old Fall River Rd. There were tons of picnic tables with parking spaces all around this area, so I would advise you to pack a lunch. This stop was a 0.3 mi upward incline paved hike to the Alluvial fan waterfall. Worth seeing and more great pics!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a beautiful attraction and one that isn't to be missed. This is an easy to get to attraction for young and old. We were able to walk and climb up on the rocks and took some amazing pictures. The history of the Alluvial Fan is interesting, as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alluvial Fan also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Alluvial Fan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alluvial Fan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.