We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Sisters Peaks Trail

Twin Sisters Peaks Trail
US Hwy 7, access road to trailhead is the dirty road adjacent to the Lily Lake Vistor, Center parking lot., Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Coming from the Midwest, the steep incline and elevation change was tough to battle, but we did reach the summit. Walking sticks helped a lot, so I recommend. If you hike in the afternoon, make sure you have rain gear. We were told and did experience rain (sleet actually) in the mid afternoon. Watch your steps on the trail, as there are lots of places you could easily twist an ankle. Remember where you crossed at the mud slide area, so you don't get off the trail. The views from the summit are great. It took us 3hrs to reach the summit, but if you're an experienced hiker and used to the CO elevation, you could probably make it in 2hrs or so. Lastly, to save some time and breath, you can drive up past the lower lot and park closer to the trail head. Just make sure you're down the mountain before they close the gates. Good luck.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Mountain Summit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was my boyfriend and I's first summit and it was well worth it. The trail was definitely strenuous for us but was worth it for the spectacular views. It took us six hours to get up and down the mountain but most could probably do it quicker than us. With the recent 2013 flood damage, about four switchbacks have been washed away and it can get confusing to find the trail. We crossed the washed out area once then headed straight up along side it until we reconnected with the trail.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning Views, Lots of Switchbacks, Walking Sticks Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Some steep climbing making the descent a challenge. Walking sticks were a help. Starts in a wooded area and as you climb there are many great views. Towards the top there a number of stunning views and at the top it is like being at the top of the world. Some, but not a lot of rock climbing at the very top.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Winter Hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We did this hike in December. We didn't use snowshoes just cleats, but in the winter it is a trek just to get to the trailhead. This trail has a ton of switchbacks, but beautiful views. Stop and enjoy the scenery.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A Great Hike with Excellent Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Twin Sisters trail is a 7.2 mile roundtrip hike with a little less than 3,000 ft of elevation gain. There are long sloping stretches, as well as steeper stretches with multiple switchbacks. As with most hikes in this area, you start in the forest, transition through krummholz (gnarly, twisted trees) and then out into the open tundra above the treeline.

You arrive at the saddle between the two peaks of the Twin Sisters. There is small research station located there, and the peak next to the station has a pretty well defined and easily traveled path to the summit.

The other peak is more of a bolder pile and scrambling is required to summit it. There are cairns to mark a very doable path to the top, and there's a summit registry on the summit.

I recommend experiencing both summits, as each is a different experience. Not only in climbing, but you get somewhat different views from the two summits.

Those who rise real early and summit before daybreak should be rewarded with spectacular sunrise views. The rising sun reflecting off of Longs Peak also is a great photo opportunity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Sisters Peaks Trail also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Twin Sisters Peaks Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Sisters Peaks Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.