We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Trail for First Few Days in the Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cub Lake Trail

Cub Lake Trail
Moraine Park Road, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
970-586-1206
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Trail for First Few Days in the Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Because this trail isn't at a high elevation, it's a good trail to walk during the first few days of being in the park (we could breathe easily on this trail). The trail is in a valley surrounded by mountains. There are streams and ponds and lakes to observe on the trail. It does not go through woods. There are birds to view everywhere and lots of people on the trail are wearing binoculars. We met a few groups of bird enthusiasts like us and shared notes about what we saw. We saw lots of elk out in the meadows. We saw marmot with young. It was a very enjoyable walk. Get to the trail head early because parking fills up quickly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    46
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was one hike that I will never forget. I have spectacular photos of it! A bit of a hike but it is all worth it when you get there! So glad we decided to hike this trail!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We avoided all the construction on Bear Lake Road and detoured toward the Cub Lake Trailhead. On the way we saw elk in the the Moraine Park area. We continued to a small parking lot in between the Fern Lake and Cub Lake trailheads. There were expansive views of the valley before the trail climbed towards Cub Lake. The trail actually skirts around the lake at a higher elevation, the continues to The Pool and Fern Falls. We turned around at the The Pool and headed back on the trail towards the Fern Lake Trailhead, which made the hike a loop. It was dry, but did see a lot of burned trees from the 10/12 winter fire. Already a lot of renewing growth post fire.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once pretty now crispy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a lovely trail much of the time, however parts of it have been ravaged by fire. We were very disappointed to arrive at the lake and find that the entire area had been burnt. It was not the view we had imagined. The last portion of the trail is mostly uphill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an easy hike which takes you through part of the Moraine Meadow then up into the trees. There are many sites to behold along the way and when you get to Cub Lake you can relax with a snack or lunch before heading back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cub Lake Trail also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Cub Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cub Lake Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.