We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Scenery, Low Cost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trail Ridge Road

Trail Ridge Road
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
970-586-1222
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Activities: Driving
Attraction details
Fort Collins, CO
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Epic Scenery, Low Cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's always nice to take a drive here. Certainly scenery you don't see every day (unless you live there). The short trails make for easy, interesting excursions. Alpine Visitor Center makes for a nice stop, as well. They have food and drinks in addition to an extensive gift shop, much larger than the Headquarters Visitor Center.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,515
    143
    10
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Unbelievable scenery without leaving the car!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really wanted to go hiking the the National Park, so when my friend suggested a drive I wasn't that excited but was told this was the perfect day trip because you could do the beautiful drive and just stop somewhere along the way and do a hike. This is exactly what we did and it was stunning. The drive was incredible and the Park Ranger at the entrance to the park (who was a wonderful person, as they all seem to be!) gave us suggestions on where to hike and it was great. Couldn't recommend it more, I can't wait to go back and explore some more of the trails. We were there in early October which was just before trails started to close etc but meant it was quite quiet compared to the very busy summer months. And we saw the Aspens in their full glory.

It does cost $25 per car to get in, but if you're going to go to more than 3 national parks in a year it's worth buying a pass for $80 (i think) for entry to all of them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“TRAIL RIDGE ROAD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went over trail ridge road over and back three times in Sept. The Alpine Visitor Center on top. My wife loves shopping up there. Every turn had different beautiful colors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

LIKED: the amazing views;the Winding road contributed much to the scenery.
DISLIKED: the altitude after 10500 ft(causing dizziness)
But the last half of this road (going towards Grand Lake) was NOT scenic

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Only open half way but worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The road was closed at many parks curve but the views were gorgeous on a blue bird day. I was there the first week of November and I was glad to be there off season. No problems parking for photo opportunities.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail Ridge Road also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Trail Ridge Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail Ridge Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.