We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mountain Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Lake

Bear Lake
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountain Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We drove to Bear Lake Trailhead after 4 p.m. (between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. during the week, the road is closed to car traffic...only shuttles are allowed due to road construction). The lake trail is easy to walk. In early June, there was still snow on the trail. The lake was serene and beautiful. There is a interpretive guide for $2 that is well worth the cost. It explained at various points what you were seeing. I found that very interesting...explaining about rock slides, lichen, various types of trees, names of mountain peaks, etc. We decided to take the mile hike to Nymph Lake. It was not a difficult trail, but the elevation changes left us breathless along the way. Luckily, there's plenty of boulders along the path to sit on to catch your breath. While on the trail you can hear rushing water down below and occasionally you see a glimpse of the stream. Nymph lake is small and very beautiful. Walking down from Nymph Lake was much easier than climbing up the trail. Because we're from the Midwest, we saved this trail for later in the week...thinking we were getting used to elevation. I guess it takes longer than 5 days to acclimate.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    162
    39
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Perfect Base for Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Bear Lake is a perfect family hike. Plus, it has numerous trails branching off from it, allowing it to be your hiking base for the day! Alberta Falls & Dream Lake are two worthwhile hikes!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must see and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I took both boys ages 2 and 6 on this beautiful walk around the lake. It is breathtaking and serene. As stated by other reviewers, the road to Bear Lake is closed for construction from 9a-4p mon-fri. When you do drive up, use the shuttle lot, there are so many cars with the limited schedule and you will have already driven the way up only to find not find a parking place. Oh and take the hike to Alberta Falls!! Not to miss!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great small lake with scenic beauty. Nice hike around. Usually busy or full after morning so go before 9:00 to be sure you can park or else you may have to take the shuttle, but even that is not bad at all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easy hike, great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Bring your camera! You will need it. Beautiful drive to get to this lake. If desired, you can take a shuttle bus. The road to this lake is currently undergoing road construction (June 2013). We waited until 4:00PM when travel to the lake via car was allowed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Lake also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Bear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.