We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy trail with fantastic views and plenty of lakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Lake Trailhead

Bear Lake Trailhead
Bear Lake Road, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$89*
and up
Private Tour: Front Range Hike with Transport...
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This easy, half-mile hike will take you past beautiful alpine lakes and forests.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Easy trail with fantastic views and plenty of lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

From this trailhead you can access some great easy hikes that offer excellent value for effort. Bear Lake itself is beautiful and takes 2 minutes to walk to, making it one of the most popular destinations in the park. We took our photos here and carried on the trail towards Nymph Lake. It's pretty small but is very picturesque and looks as though it's been taken from a fairytale book. After more photos we carried on up the trail to Dream Lake; was quite a long lake and seemed popular with fishermen. The trail carries on around the edge of the lake and eventually ends at Emerald lake a little further on. I'd recommend this trail for people that don't feel they can handle some of the more strenuous ones in the park, or anyone wanting to see some fabulous Rocky Mountain Scenery. We went in mid September and hada glorious sunny day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    30
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hike to Emerald Lake (3.29.13)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spectacular! My husband and I began at the Bear Lake trailhead and hiked to Emerald Lake passing over Nymph and Dream Lakes. The lakes and trails are snow covered and while we had on our hiking boots, we wish we had opted for snowshoes. Snow began to fall on our way to Emerald Lake and by the time we reached our destination, we were in the middle of a snowstorm. Many hikers and a few skiers on the trail.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Snow Covered, But Gorgeous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Currently, the park has some major road construction going on. Combined with the snow we experienced, it wasn't a very fun drive up to Bear Lake! There's also a $20 entrance fee, which is a little steep! We did see tons of wildlife though, including elk fighting at the entrance, a fox, and lots of deer. You can always tell where people spot animals on the way up/in from the cars pulled over on the side of the road. I was really surprised by how much snow was on the ground. You CANNOT expect to comfortably walk around in normal shoes/clothes right now!! Everything is covered in packed snow/ice- including the parking lots. They are extremely slick! We did not stay long due to the poor weather, but there are some amazing views!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easy hike up to Bear Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is in Rocky Mountain National Park and we traversed it in September when the first snow flakes in the season started to fall. The trail is an easy one, wide and smooth and ends up with a beautiful view. The lake is crystal clear!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nola
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a little crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we were there in jan. when most of the roads - and trails - are closed. so i understand why this trail head, basically the only one accessable during that time of the year, is so busy. the parking lot is huge but still full. bathrooms who well tended but full. and the short trails were also full of people. if you have the equipment (snowshoes?), take one of the longer trails. the solitude and beauty of the rockies is well worth the extra effort.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Lake Trailhead also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Bear Lake Trailhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Lake Trailhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.