We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach camping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaloch Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalaloch Campground
Save Saved
You added Kalaloch Campground to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Olympic National Park, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
SEATTLE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach camping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during winter Feb 2013. Weather was overcast for most of the day with short breaks of actual sunshine. Light to strong winds as you would expect being at the beach. Great beach hiking; cliffs, forest, and small headlands for exploring although beware at high tide due to debris. Small pools of water developed when it rained so tent camping on the ground would have been uncomfortable. Some sites located on the cliff for lovely beach views, although its only a very short walk to the beach if at an inland site. All sites priced the same and cheap ($14). Bathrooms were clean but no showers. Most sites had good tree cover to deflect wind and rain. Must walk down path to get to beach which did not look wheelchair accessible. This is one of the better campgrounds in the area. Open year-round.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have camped at Kalaloch for over 50 years and have always enjoyed it. Of course it is much better to put on our backpacks and head out to the wilderness but if you need to stay in a campground then this is a good one. The location is great for exploring the coast and interior parts of Olympic National Park. The camp is clean and the rangers are nice and helpful. The beach is terrific and it is nice to have a nearby store and restaurant. Try to get a camp spot near the beach and away from the highway. It can be noisy at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pretty campground right by the ocean. It was bit chilly and damp but well worth it. Even though the campground was full, our campsite felt secluded. We attended a ranger led talk in the evening about being a beach medic and a tidal walk the following morning. The programs are worth checking out. Both rangers were very knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this campground for 2 nights this August and had a great time. Some of the sites offer very little privacy, but there are some private ones. Use the recreation.gov website, which shows approximate spacing and has pics of each site to get a better idea. We booked late so we had to switch sites after the first night, but we liked both that we stayed at. The bathrooms are quite clean for a campground. There are no showers. The picnic tables are solid concrete, which means you can't move them closer to the fire so bring chairs. The fire rings do have a grate for cooking. It seemed like a pretty family oriented campground, complete with kids on scooters screaming at 6am. We went to one program and it was geared more towards kids, but still ok. One of the nicest things is that it's right on the beach so you can hear the sound of the waves crashing as you fall asleep (except maybe in D loop, which seemed quite close to the road). On a clear night you can walk down to the beach and see the sky just littered with stars. You can apparently also have beach fires, which is pretty cool. They do have bear boxes, but I doubt there are really ever any bears there, just a bunch of hungry crows. Overall we had a nice time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I wish I could have stayed longer, I stopped for one night over labor day weekend and I will be back. There is so much to do and see in the area. I chose Kalaloch initially for it's proximity to the beach and Fork's Wa. Yep there's a twilight fanatic in my family. I now can't wait to go back to camp longer enjoy the beach right at the campground, and several other areas Olympic National Park has to offer. The campsite was a perfect size for the three of us, the bathrooms were conveniently located and this is the only campground in the area that takes reservations! You can literally hear the ocean while you sleep!

Room Tip: Book early if you want an ocean view site, no onsite showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I disagree with those who have anything negative to say. I have to admit when we first came here, it was 1983.....was very LESS crowded, and you could just 'arrive', no reservations were needed. For 20 years we camped....D44 was our favorite spot, with it's own carved out stairs on the cliff, down to the beach! I love all the different beaches, with different attractions: beach 4 for the big rocks and tide pools....Ruby Beach for rocks, beach walking and all kinds of discovery...and very easy access.....there is the beach for fishing, one for 'smelting'....sand on some, rocks and driftwood on others....so many things to do. I don't think I will go during the summer busy season again.....after the crowds leave, is a little more like the 'good ol' days'! I have nothing but the best memories of this place....it is magical.

Room Tip: cabins...2nd row with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We tent camped here for two nights in mid September, getting to the campground at about 2:30pm. We never saw a ranger or the site host. There were no sites left right along the beach, but we got A32 which is right near a path to the beach. We could hear the ocean clearly and didn't hear the traffic on 101. We had great privacy and felt our site was quite roomy (it is on the southern edge of the campground). There was even a separate area to pitch a tent on moss that was tucked into the salal. Very comfy! We had lots of native salal to buffer us from view of other sites and were not near any camping vehicles. There was a guy who seemed to have his fire smoking every time we saw him, so it would have been a drag to be nearer to him. In this respect, I can see what one of the other reviewers was complaining about. Being nearer the beach will help clear the air at your campsite. The three sites east of ours were great sites like ours (roomy, privacy, not too near the road) without being as in-demand as the beach sites. We walked down to the beach at night and saw the Milky Way stretch clear across the sky, gorgeous.

If you are coming after the reservation season, then try to come around 11am which is check-out time to snag a good site.

Room Tip: Think about a place with good air from the beach to alleviate the smoke issue. A loop sites on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalaloch Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaloch Campground

Address: Olympic National Park, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalaloch Campground 2*
Also Known As:
Kalaloch Campground Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaloch Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.