We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love awful, this is your campground” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dosewallips Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dosewallips Campground
Olympic National Forest, Olympic National Park, WA 98512   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you love awful, this is your campground”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This campground is an utter joke. I would sooner set up my tent in the middle of a football tailgate party. We reserved site #31, having never been there before. We arrived to a large, open park with almost no tree cover or foliage. There was a disproportionately high number of RVs and tent-trailers (a sure signal of low-quality camping), a lot of drunk rednecks and their obnoxious offspring skating and biking around the park, and the most miserable campsites I have ever seen. Ours was particularly bad--about 15'x25', with basically no plant life other than grass--but all of the 50+ sites we saw were similarly tiny, naked and just... just terrible. We were so disgusted that we left to go check out Seal Rock, about 2 miles to the north, deciding that if we couldn't find anything else we'd rather just go home. Fortunately, Seal Rock was beautiful and had open sites. If you even remotely care about being in beautiful northwest forest while you're camping, DO NOT camp here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North America
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay the night and pulled into this part despite the "full" sign hoping that they would have an overflow area. They had a site for our camper but frankly I wish we had kept driving. The park was very crowded, each site near us had 3-4 tents/campers in it, only 2 bathrooms in the park, each with 3 stalls and one shower for the entire park so long line ups and cold water if you managed to get a shower. The bathrooms were filthy, I have seen cleaner ones in a sketchy roadside truck stop! As well our spot was right by the highway and all night I wondered if a truck would jump the curb and come down on top of us. Would have slept better in a parking lot and not paid the high fees they were charging.

Room Tip: Be sure you are as far fom the highway as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We camped with our pop-up trailer at a sunny site. This camp seems to be popular with medium and large size dogs, but they were quiet and well-behaved. The dogs and numerous kids seemed to enjoy the large grassy campground area to run around and play. We hiked the several trails and found them all well-maintained and easy. If you do the full outer loop of trails, you will get about 1000' elevation gain. There are several geocaches along the trails. We found these. We also hiked out of the park for several more, but were not so skillful. The locals hanging out at the Brinnon restaurant were friendly and welcomed us into conversation.

Room Tip: There are some riverfront campsites to the east
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

The name of the this vacation rental is called The Historic Balch Waterfront Retreat. It's a Nantucket style home on Hood Canal built in 1920 and steps away from Dosewallips State Park. This was so great for us, since the group we were with had RV's, but we didn't, so it was super convenient. We also had our two dogs which was no problem. I was sweating bullets trying to find a place that took pets close to the State Park. It also allowed us to walk right onto the hiking trails at the state park, right from the house. It really was like walking back into 1920, but with the perfect touch of modern amenities. So many thing were original about the house it was really neat. It's also at the mouth of the where the Dosewallips river meets Hood Canal. I had no idea how much of a draw that is for wildlife. The Brinnon Elk showed up!! We thought we'd really hit the jackpot when we saw a navy submarine that was practicing along the Dosewallips shelf. It was so entertaining with the escort ships watching it's every move. Can't wait to go back and spend more time there. The big bonfire pit and covered balcony with heater and outdoor recliners was a great touch. The panoramic view jetted spa was to die for, especially if you used it at night because the opening skylight above it let you look at the stars and the moon on the water out the windows was..........lets just say inspiring.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

40 miles NORTH of Shelton WA. The road leading us there was a curvy Highway 101 two lane (single in both directions) with pull outs for slow vehicles. Beautiful scenery all the way.

Campground is on both sides of the Highway. Spaces seem pretty good size through out. They have full hook-ups, partial, and primitive. They also have 3 Platform Tents. This is where we stayed.

We rented PT1 & PT2 for a night. Out of the 3 PT sites available, I believe PT3 is the best. PT3 is the furthest out on the road - away from most other campers.

All 3 have electric and water. But PT1's water is used by all of the other campers near by. They are told by the rangers to use the nearest one available - this is PT1.

PT2 is directly across from the PIT Toilet. When we were there, the site constantly smelled like a restroom. The PIT Toilets are non-flushing basic port-a-potties sheltered in a wood building with a concrete floor. This is the closest toilet to the platform tents.

Full service restrooms are a five minute walk away. (Very worth the walk) Lots of trees and grassy areas. Some of the roadways are paved, and some are gravel.

Our sites had picnic tables and deep fire-rings with a flip up grill. They also had a full size bunk-bed with a single up top. A full size futon and table with small step stool. They also had a heater, a table lamp, rugs, and small covered porch area.

There are trails through out the park. MOST all are non-marked. There is a walkway/roadway that passes under Hwy 101 leading to the other side of the park.

This is also where the trail to the Bay is located. LOOK Close for it, or YOU WILL MISS IT. You walk up at the underpass and walk across the bridge along the highway over to the otherside of the river. Then you walk across what appears to be a field. The walk from the platform tents all the way to the bay was a VERY long walk. My six year old was good most of the way, but the walk back (after playing in the bay) was almost too much.

The river was very cold. There were people fishing in it. There was some sand, but not an actual beach, mostly rocks and gravel. The bay was pretty neat to look at and my kids found exploring under the rocks to be the highlight of their trip.

  • Liked — Simple camping even for the family who would normally be looking for the nearest hotel.
  • Disliked — PT1 - lack of privacy PT2 - smells from the PIT Toilet & the distance to full service restroom.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We spent a night in platform tent 1 at this campground over the weekend. We had a great time and really enjoyed the variety of activities - saltwater clam beds/ocean wading, river wading, horseshoes and lush campground hiking trails.

The only disappointment was that you can't really swim in the ocean (too shallow) or the river (too cold), but that's pretty common in Washington.

The park itself was beautiful - lush and well kept with the platform tent locations being nicely isolated. The best platform tent site appeared to be site 3, but we stayed in the least secluded and saw almost no foot traffic. The only foot traffic was people from nearby tent sites who were told that "our" water pump was the closest one for their use. That's why I'd recommend platform tents 2 and 3 over 1. Still, it wasn't a major annoyance.

I'd totally recommend going here. It's quiet and beautiful and has an interestingly diverse landscape.

  • Liked — The variety of the landscape
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

A caution on Dosewallips: People get the Dosewallips State Park campground mixed up with the ones up the Dosewallips Road that is washed out.

The state park is on the main highway (101), the road is fine, and you don't hike in. There is plenty of RV parking and tent sites this time of year, but you should make a reservation.

The river (right there at the park) is rather low, but fun to visit, especially in the Fall when the salmon are spawning. There is also a trail out to the beach on Hood Canal (it is level and takes about 20 minutes each way).

The grassy sites are cozy and unless there is a serious drought, allow campfires. You can buy wood at the campground, and there is a small store nearby. Bringing a boat? People staying at the campground can use a boat launch for free, just up the road at Triton Cove.

Whichever way you choose to get there, the drive is lovely. Try going over the Hood Canal Bridge---there is a great view and once in a while a submarine comes by.

  • Liked — Clean and beautiful campground.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Remember you are in "rain country" If you're tent camping, bring your rain fly!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dosewallips Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dosewallips Campground

Address: Olympic National Forest, Olympic National Park, WA 98512
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Specialty lodging in Olympic National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 87 sites for tents and 40 RV campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dosewallips Campground Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dosewallips Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dosewallips Campground to your Saves list