We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime camping at Olympic National Park entrance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heart O' Hills Campground

Heart O' Hills Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heart O' Hills Campground
Save
You added Heart O' Hills Campground to your Saves list
Olympic National Forest, Olympic National Park, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Prime camping at Olympic National Park entrance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

120+ campsites in 5 loops, 5 miles from ONP Visitor Center at Port Angeles, and 12 miles from Hurricane Ridge. Camp sites are mostly private, with bathrooms, garbage disposal & drinkable water in reasonable walking distance. The morning & evening ranger programs are a blast, especially for kids. Ideal base camp to explore the park from the North side, and to explore Port Angeles and its fantastic waterfront. Some great restaurants in Port Angeles, should you tire of camp cooking - we lucked out at Sabai Thai after a tiring day of hiking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cedarview2
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Large campground with numerous sites for tent/rv camping. Some heavily wooded sites and others with thinner trees for more sunshine. Nice ranger led campfire talks. Location is about 5 miles from Port Angeles where you can pickup food, firewood, clothes, etc. Just across campground and near entrance station are two trail heads which you can take up to Hurricane Ridge should you rather hike up then drive. Nice campground for families.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at Camp Site #37 in C Loop and I must say we were quite lucky to get the site we did. The camp ground filled up quickly and the weather could not have been better. From there we ventured to Hurricane Ridge, Lake Crescent, Marymere Falls and Sol Duc Hot Springs (what a great way to end a day of hiking!). My only regret was the trail at the camp ground for which the Ranger Station gave us a ratehr misleading handout. It was described as an "Easy" 4 mile round trip hike. It started easily enough but qithin a mile it became the Bataan Death march with overgrown Devils head and mad scrambles over and under huge fallen trees. It became too dangerous to proceed after about a mile and a half so we turned back. Otherwise the weekend was a major success. Just get there early to make sure you get a good spot.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We arrived at Heart of the Hills in mid-July and the rangers said it was the warmest weather so far that year. The campground is well-designed with some privacy between campsites. The campfire programs presented by the rangers were excellent. There was a large wooded area behind our campsite where our young kids had a great time playing all kinds of imaginative games.

It's a short drive into Port Angeles if you need anything and the main visitor center for the national park is along the access road between Port Angeles and the campground. The visitor center has a special room just for kids. It's also not too long of a drive to other attractions in the area such as Dungeness Spit, Lake Crescent, Sol Duc Falls, and Salt Creek Recreation Area. We visited most of these areas when we camped at HOH and I have posted separate reviews of some of them.

Probably the two biggest attractions in the area are the ferry ride to Victoria, BC and making the 17-mile drive up to Hurricane Ridge. We loved the ferry ride to Victoria and enjoyed all the sights and sounds there. We also made a couple trips to the incomparable Hurricane Ridge, which you can read about in my separate review.

The only drawback to HOH is no showers, although there are places to take showers nearby and the rangers can advise you on that. Heart of the Hills is a well-run campground in an area with lots of great things to see and do. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

If you enjoy seeing wildlife, this campground is a must. Fairly private campsites. 17 miles from sea level to 5200'. Both times we've camped have seen MANY fawns, some a day or two old, does, bucks, black bears, marmots, birds of many different spiecies. It is very close to being in Heaven. We're going for the third time the end of Jun 09 for another week. Can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlympiaWA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

HOH has easy access from Hwy 101 thru Port Angeles. The campground is spacious with larger than usual camp/RV sites which are relatively private; access to hiking trails; water, toilet but no shower. BUT the best thing about HOH is that it is directly on the road to Hurricane Ridge (17 miles further up the road). Note: there are no closer campgrounds to HR than HOH. If you haven't been to HR, go and stay the night at HOH. The negative is that the steep and narrow HR road beyond HOH should not be attempted by RVs as there are few turnouts and brake failures will result in a serious accident as happened in Summer 2007 when a Class A RV went off the road and the driver was killed.

I personally stay at this campground when in this area as Hurricane Ridge is the must see view in the entire Olympic National Park. The HOH campground I rate above average but Hurricane Ridge I rate magnificent/awesome.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart O' Hills Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart O' Hills Campground

Address: Olympic National Forest, Olympic National Park, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Olympic National Park
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 100 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heart o` Hills Campground Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart O' Hills Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.