We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice option for a campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mora Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympic National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mora Campground
Save
You added Mora Campground to your Saves list
Quillayute River, Olympic National Park, WA   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really nice option for a campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This campground is a reasonable price, beautiful, and well-maintained. I think you could walk to one of the beaches from here, but we always drove because the weather was a bit bleak. Firewood is available to purchase, and even on a Saturday evening in the summer, there were open campsites. It's rather close to Forks, so you can drive into town and stock up at the grocery store or eat at some of the [mediocre] restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Campground is very well maintained. Price very reasonable. Not on the beach. You have to drive because people go too fast on the road and it isn't safe to walk, but it is only 2 miles away. "Running water" means there is a faucet next to the bathroom only, not at your site. No other utilities, but RV water and dumping station at the entrance. Just FYI because we didn't look this up... If you plan to hike in the natl park, don't bring your dog. They're not allowed beyond where cars can drive, and the other hiking areas outside the park are just flat wooded trails, nothing exciting.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A lush, forested campground by a rocky coastline -- perfect! Beautiful sites -- many quite spacious and private. The kids love exploring the trails & can make their way down to Rialto Beach. The beach, itself, is a classic Pacific NW coastline with ample driftwood, mist and rocky shore! Nature's playground for kids of all ages. The campground has a quiet beauty, $12 per night (bargain) -- though no showers (all National Parks are that way), clean restrooms, access to firewood (less $ at roadside stands approaching the campground). Forks is the nearest town with groceries, restaurants and shops. Our family camps quite a bit & this one is a favorite!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

As you take the road leading to the campsites, the sky seems to disappear amongst the tall canopy of trees. It's like a scene from a Jurassic Park movie where you're surrounded by a lush forest filled with moss ladened trees, ferns and bits of flowers peeking through the thick foliage. Our large group selected a nice site with a stove/fire pit, picnic tables and short walk to the restrooms. No showers but clean and adequate for a one-night stay. Firewood can be purchased at the unmanned shack and watch out, sign says camera watching so be sure to pay up! Travel date was late June 2010 before July 4th weekend and to our surprise, many of the sites were empty, amazing! Lucky for us this made for a peaceful setting away from crowds and as close to nature as you can get!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Definitely my favorite campground I've ever stayed at. Every single other site was also accompanied by a vehicle, I think we were the only people who had actually transited and walked in (from Vancouver BC.) Definitely gave it a more 'middle-of-nowhere' feeling having come in by foot.

Beautiful surroundings, didn't ever want to leave. Never saw any rangers around or anything, so they seem to be going on the honor system - to 'claim' your site you put your bit of paper in a slot behind some Plexiglas. Not the best system, but seemed to work fine.

Great large sites to set up camp, quite private as well. You don't see your fellow campers. (Well we didn't where we were.)

You are charged for firewood (although again seems to be on the honor system) which is fine although at one point the shed with the wood got locked so we couldn't get any more - not the most convenient.

Note that there are no showers here, nor are there any amenities. Closes is at Three Rivers, three miles down the road. This was fine by us, but if you're staying for several nights you'll need to go somehwere else to wash up (or not) and restock on supplies if needed.

Walking distance to Rialto Beach. Can walk to Three Rivers (3 miles each way) though takes a while, so this is where a vehicle does come in handy. You also can't really reach La Push from here as it's across the river. So if you don't have a boat or something, you need to drive to Three Rivers, then into La Push. Also right next to James Pond trail and the river.

Cannot wait to go back some day.

Room Tip: Grab a secluded site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

What a wonderful campround in such a beutiful place. Lapush, Forks area is amazing. Rialto beach you won't want to leave. Going there again this Sunday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

The park is great & the campsites are all wooded; most of them flat. Rialto beach isn't necessarily walking distance but you may be happy just hanging out at Mora. I rated the service poorly because of mismanagement by the park rangers. You must put your envelope in a plexiglass slot where all can see that you occupy a particular spot. The problem is that this park is frequented by lower class individuals who will either try to fish your envelope out of the slot, or just put their envelope on top of yours and then set up camp at your site if you are off at the beach. When you come back you've got 5 or 6 rednecks challenging you to your campsite. This happened to us while with our 6 month old child. To avoid an ugly scene we asked the park ranger to intervene. It turns out that the ranger helped them set up their camp at our site and, due to embarrassment, he wouldn't enforce the rules. Of course, the ranger didn't own up to his complicity. It took one of the screaming rednecks to rat him out. We had to use the handicap site in a packed campground. Bottom line: the campground is great but don't rely on the rangers to keep the peace. You're on your own.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic National Park
0.0 mi away
Kalaloch Lodge
Kalaloch Lodge
#1 of 6 in Forks
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 18 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#6 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#12 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Crescent Lodge
Lake Crescent Lodge
#1 of 15 in Olympic National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mora Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mora Campground

Address: Quillayute River, Olympic National Park, WA
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Olympic National Park
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest campground to La Push Village and Second Beach with 90 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mora Campground Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mora Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.