We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need a bit more to offer for the price it charges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort
Sol Duc Road, U.S. 101, PO Box 2169, Olympic National Park, WA 98362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$119 w/ pool passes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“need a bit more to offer for the price it charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've stayed at this place on few occasions and always had the same opinion about it. The location is great, with few hiking trails surrounding it, and a natural hot spring spa in the main lodge. The only issue is there is no control of who comes and leaves the "resort" so it feels like staying in a middle of a parking lot. Cars fill out the place by midday and there is no assigned parking for overnight guests, so if out of luck one might need to park outside of the resort. All sorts of people flock the place, not respecting the national park rules, loitering, yelling, and destroying the nature and wildlife. The pools area fills out quickly to a point of standing place only, and it is disgustingly dirty by the end of the day. These one day visitors seem to be more venerated as a revenue source by the staff that doesn't seem to have a limit on how many people is too much for the pool, nor do they offer special pool hours just for the guests. Half of the time they also ran out of towels that are supposedly one of the benefits for the resort guest coming to use the pool. This last time it seems like they've upgraded the beds and sheets which was a very nice surprise, but more needs to be done with the kitchens that are short of utensils and the appliances seem to be a bit on the broken side. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, but the shortcomings seem to be a result of higher management not enforcing quality standards common for other 'resorts' of sort.

Room Tip: they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallinson7143, General Manager at Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for stating so succinctly your concerns regarding your recent visit. It is always an advantage for me to receive as much detail as I possibly can.

I have made note of your concerns around parking, pool cleanliness, and outfitting the rooms and will certainly follow up to see if we can't solve some of these issues.

We piloted this year a "lodging guests only" hour from 8:00am to 9:00am from about mid-July to September 1st. It seemed to be very well received so you can expect something similar in the year to come.

Thanks again for taking the time to offer your feedback; it is greatly appreciated!

Have a great day!

Duncan M Allinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    99
    59
    43
    22
See reviews for
94
121
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

7:30 a.m.!!! That's right. You're ready to hit the highway for another day of adventure, but you can't leave until they open at 7:30 a.m. You can't kill time eating breakfast because they open at... 7:30 a.m. I thought perhaps the employees lived a distance away (it's 18 miles from the entrance at 101) and Van Winkle hours were for their benefit, but no!! The employees all live upstairs! All of them!! Wow!

The rooms themselves were fine, but due to privacy concerns I wouldn't book two (non-kinky) couples into a single cabin with 2 beds. Bathroom is literally 2 feet away from the rear bed.

So, unless your really into sitting in the pool/springs, I wouldn't stay overnight here. It's very pretty and peaceful, but you have to be the right kind of humans, which we are apparently not. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would describe these as completely developed swimming pools, not hot springs. And I was very surprised to read the previous reviewer's comments about it not being for children, because it was quite full of them when we came to visit. So full of screaming children, in fact, that we changed our minds and decided not to take a dip after all. I'll stick with less developed hot springs that still feel like you're in nature when you're there, not at the community kiddie pool. It's probably a decent place for other families looking for a different experience... now I know. I do recommend the short walk/hike to Sol Duc Falls, though. It's easy and the falls are very lush and beautiful. We didn't spend the night here so I can't comment on the accomodations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Sol Duc for a three night stay during our visit to the HotSprings and HOH National Rainforest. I had booked here after reading out it in U.S.A. Today. We're not normally "hot springs" people, but we thought we'd give it a try. We were about 12 miles off U.S. Highway 101 into the forest, with no cell service, no landlines, and no internet. You had to go about 2 miles away from our cabin towards the highway to get internet & phone. The cabin that we stayed in was nice - clean beds, bathroom, etc. No fireplace, and very cool at night.
We booked a cabin with no kitchen, refrigerator, microwave or hot plate, all we had was a coffee maker, and they supplied the Starbucks coffee. We were not told until the day of the outage that there would be no electricity from midnight to 6am on Saturday night / Sunday morning. This meant that I had no power for my C-Pap machine, meaning I got almost no sleep that night. Unfortunately we also lost power again for another 5 hours on Sunday A.M., from about 10:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. This meant no hot springs soaking until the electricity came back on. This was out of the control of the resort, but their communication was poor. We used the time of no electricity to leave and go to the Hoh rainforest.

There were 4 pools: the largest one with a "fountain" in the middle that was about 103F, 1 medium sized pool that was about 108F and one smallest one that was about 99F, and a large swimming pool that was chlorinated and about 77F without mineral water. The water in the 3 hot spring pools feels "slimy"and smells of minerals, especially sulphur, but make you feel great. The lodge does provide towels poolside.

The restaurant food was good, though as they like to frefer to it in the NW "spendy". The only alternatives to the lodge restaurant is bring your own food and ice chest / microwave, or go about 30 miles into Port Angeles (where dungeness crab is plentiful), unless you happen to have a cabin with a kitchen, which we did not.

The best part of our stay there was soaking in the hot springs pools after we got over our "fear" of intimacy with other people, mostly from Eastern Europe and Asia, and exploring the surrounding rainforests (60 miles to the Hoh). It was very quiet, the views were amazing of the surrounding mountains and very restful.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 127, with a view of the river out of our front door, and even saw a family of rac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was really looking forward to this lodge. The draw of hot springs seemed wonderful. Suffice to say, it was so not worth $300. We booked a duplex with a kitchen. The door connecting the two units was open, with the refrigerator blocking our ability to close the door. Management told us to move the fridge to close and block the door. No need for a key. We were told at check in, there would be no electricity from midnight to 6am. When you are 15 miles into the forest, with no cell service, no landlines, and no lock on your interior door, you sleep with one eye open.

The hot springs were just a bunch of pools. Extremely crowded--personal space is relative I guess-- and kind of dirty. I couldn't check out fast enough. The only bright spot was the hike through the forest to the falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

There are three hot pools of different temperatures which are nice. The room is ok but definitely not top bar. The sheets are not soft somehow and noisy (I can hardly believe what i type but yes that is how it is). And we were given the wrong keys.

However, since there is only one restaurant, it is literally monopoly (unless you want to picnic with your own food). The food is good but the service is bad. The waiting time is long and the waiter does not seem to care or came up with any explanation. There are tables available but no one clean up even though there are waiters wondering around and there is a long line out side waiting. Even worse, I ordered eggs with toast at one breakfast. The food came in really late (after those came in later were served by different waiter and waitress) and the toast never came. I asked the waiter and he just said, "oh sorry I forgot" then brought me the check promptly with the toast charged. We dinned at Lake Crescent Lodge the next day and service is much much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Sol Duc for one night during our visit to Olympic National Park. The cabin that we stayed in was functional for the most part - clean beds, bathroom, etc. The cabin was about half the size of the one we stayed in at the Kalaloch Lodge, which also had a couch, fireplace, and kitchen for the same price. The hot springs themselves were not spectacular. There were 4 pools: one with a fountain that was hot, 2 smaller pools that were less hot, and a large swimming pool that was chlorinated. When we got into the 3 heated pools we found the water to be quite slimy and tepid. Furthermore, there was nothing really natural about the pools. While real hot spring water is used to heat the pools, they resemble most hot tubs that you would find in a regular hotel. The lodge also does not provide towels. However, the worst part about the lodge was that the entire place reeked of sulphur. The awful smell made our experience dining in the restaurant unpleasant despite the fact that the food was fairly good. Also note that there are no alternatives to the lodge restaurant for many miles unless you happen to have a cabin with a kitchen.
The best part of our stay there was exploring the surrounding attractions including the small but very beautiful running trail that goes along the river close by. We also enjoyed hiking to see the sol duc waterfalls. In my opinion it would be a good idea to see the falls via the 1.2 mile trail and completely skip the hot springs and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Address: Sol Duc Road, U.S. 101, PO Box 2169, Olympic National Park, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Duc Hot Springs Hotel Olympic National Park
Sol Duc Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.