We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spring Break at Sol Duc Hot Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort
Sol Duc Road, U.S. 101, PO Box 2169, Olympic National Park, WA 98362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$119 (USD)
Seattle, WA, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Spring Break at Sol Duc Hot Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited April 18-20, 2013. Our family (2 adults, an 11 year old) enjoyed our low key cabin at Sol Duc Hot Springs. The cabin had two large beds with nice linens and lots of pillows, a sofa, table and chairs, and a small bathroom - everything thing was perfectly fine. There was also a tiny closet, a nightstand, alarm clock, a couple lamps and mini-coffee maker. The heat in the room was adjustable and worked quite well. The room was just big enough for three people and our hiking gear but perfectly comfortable. We were in easy walking distance of the lodge. Meals were fine (of course they were a little pricey - we're in the middle of a national park, 12 miles plus from the main road) with a decent selection. The hot springs were wonderful - deliciously hot, with an ever hotter pool option steps away and a swimming pool (55 degrees??!!) steps beyond that. No one wanted to get out. We also took an easy hike to the beautiful waterfalls, and a day trip to Neah Bay and the Makah Reservation - we loved the museum there, one of the best small community museums we've ever seen. We also stopped at the Salmon Experience off the road to the lodge and saw salmon swimming and jumping upstream! Worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    90
    55
    39
    20
See reviews for
91
109
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Even the drive to this spot is to die for!Research and make other stops on the way here like stop by Hurricane Ridge on Olympic mountain etc. I lived in Washington for over 20 years and this spot remains special to me.
Remote spot surrounded by awesome rain forest, hiking trails, rivers and waterfalls and on-location hot springs is in the "must visit in your lifetime" list! Watched salmon jump up the rapids even when sign said that it was uncommon to see it anymore. Just be patient and keep looking at the rapids. You can fish without license in the park! Hikes are exceptional on any trail you pick (remember to apply bug repellent!)
Cabins are nice, bedding crispy clean, plenty of grass for kids to play on.
Check lodge menu to make sure it is affordable for your budget, or get a cabin with kitchen and bring your own food from Port Angelos, or bring portable cooking devises for outside cooking.
Will be coming back here again and again.
If you have not been here, I would strongly recommend to visit this Washington gem!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Sol Duc Hot Springs resort was an unexpected and delightful surprise. I rate the resort as VERY GOOD only because the resort lacks the range of amenities expected of an EXCELLENT resort. But for anyone seeking a hot springs resort nestled deep within a national park, this resort would meet ALL your expectations! No cell phone reception, no internet access and no televisions. Tranquility, solitude and bliss.

My wife and I were vacationing for a week in the Pacific Northwest and we decided to do the two-day 350-mile loop on Highway 101 around the Olympic National Park. While reviewing the park's web site, I discovered that Sol Duc Hot Springs was one of the few lodging options inside the park -- and I knew that my wife would LOVE soaking in the hot springs. So we opted for the bed-and-breakfast stay in one of the no-kitchen cabins. (There are also cabins with a full-kitchen option.) Even though we visited in mid-April, several inches of snow had fallen in the previous week and there was still snow on the ground under the evergreen trees bordering the hiking trails.

We knew the trip would be interesting when our Tom-Tom GPS displayed the resort as a destination but could provide no driving directions! Our cabin was clean and the queen beds were very comfortable. There are three hot spring pools (109 degrees, 103 degrees and 100 degrees) and one chlorinated freshwater swimming pool (51 degrees direct from the Sol Duc River). And, of course, the inevitable and omnipresent sulfur smell... We were very impressed by the attentiveness of the lifeguard at the hot spring pools. Massage services are also available, although the masseuse was totally booked during our overnight stay.

After eating breakfast, we enjoyed an early morning hike through the temperate rainforest to the Sol Duc Falls. The hike to the falls was the highlight of our stay for my wife. Although the resort's small on-site restaurant has a limited menu, the food choices were very tasty and the young wait staff were friendly and helpful. The Food & Beverage Manager expanded the limited list of "wines by the glass" just to ensure that we would have wines meeting our individual taste preferences with our dinner meal. We especially appreciated the friendly service provided by our server, Melinda, and the front desk clerk, Omar.

Room Tip: Check the Olympic National Park web site for specials and discounts. The bed-and-breakfast option is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Second time visit-Stayed in a kitchen unit, 1 bed. My way of describing to others is that they are really worth $100.00 per night in any other hotel. The cabins are not fancy, well stocked, condominiums. Our unit was clean. The beds are great! We had 2 plates,bowls,cups 1 wine glass. The pots and pans are well used, 1 lg fry pan, 1 small frypan, 1 small pot. The pools make up for everything the cabins are lack! The stores are over an hour away, so take everything you will need, including salt and pepper! The hike to the waterfall is nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

First time visit - April 14th check in, 2013. Cabin 132 was clean, two double beds, bath with towels ( hand and bath ), soap, bath mat, shampoo and hair dryer, all fresh and clean. Hot water was hot ! Beds were firm, yet comfy, with clean fresh linen, warm cover and spread. Bring your own pillow - 3 provided were quite thick, still plush and with clean covers. Electric baseboard heat worked and would drive us out if left on. Coffee maker, with instant coffee, powdered creamers and hot chocolate. We brought our Hamilton Beach hot water maker. Bring your own snacks, soda, fruit and such. Clean, newer carpet. Its not a "Bellagio" interior, but comfy and a great way to "camp" And, the outside bench / table, was NOT filthy - clean un finished wood, yes there can be mold where the picnic table doesn't get the sun.

Hot tubs - the fountain pool is the best and I believe "coolest", at about 100 F. Swimming pool is not heated, and cold at time of year of our stay. All hot pools have one hour rest periods throughout the day. Start at 9 AM, go until 8 PM during spring. Bring flip flops ! Bring your bathrobe - change in your cabin unless you have heavy rain and/or wind. Mens' shower room is cleaned 4 times each day, yes tile is older and wood trim is not fresh, but the large open shower gave hot water and there was foam soap in the dispensers.

The one negative regarding the hot pools is that the lifeguards were not enforcing the posted rule to take a shower before entering the waters. Way too many old and young were entering the water un showered. Having sad that, yes, be prepared, a long black hair may float by on occasion - still, the 100 F water is really wonderful. Slight smell of sulfur, but its a mineral pool !

Restaurant - Pool food deli - portions were large, food was reasonably good, not spectacular, but then, it's not a destination resort. Dinner for three with one wine = $ 38, breakfast = $ 13.
Staff was more reactive than proactive, however all were friendly and trying to please. Tell them how you want your hamburger, medium or well done, tell them to bring you condiments, burgers and sandwiches are served dry. French fry servings are huge. Ask for frys in a separate tub, to keep them from going soggy sooner.

We checked in at 4:10 PM - check in was quick and not fuss - bring your confirmation print out.
Yes, no cell service, no internet, so be prepared to sleep early or remember how to converse. Some of the "guests" showing up were pretty sad, not even realizing there was no cell and asking for a 800 number so they could call and confirm their reservation. Check out is 11 AM.
Housekeeping showed at the cabin each AM at 9, supplied any / all our requests and was always friendly - hey, how about leaving them a tip ? Some people are just plain cheap !

I suspect the best visit windows to Sol Duc are in April, to mid May OR from the 3 week of Sept until the resort closes for the winter. In the summer, the place gets overrun with too many people, making too many unreasonable demands and accompanied by way to many rug rats. I truly feel sorry for the staff then, I am sure they simply get run down, and the service and accommodations most assuredly start to show it. But, Ohhh, that wonderful mineral water in the fountain pool ...

Room Tip: You just never know what is going to be in the cabin next to you, a quiet couple, or a 4 kid family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ever since my first visit to the hot springs I have wanted to stay there. This last weekend I had that opportunity, and I am so glad I did! The resort is nestled amongst the mountains and trees, providing the most peaceful and beautiful setting. I was fortunate to spend a weekend when it was snowing, which made the whole experience even better! So quiet and relaxing .. and surreal to sit poolside in your bathing suit with the flakes falling around you and not be cold after soaking in the warmest of the pools! After spending about an hour in the pools, I returned to my room and got cozy with a book and a glass of wine, all snoodled up in the great bed. I returned for dinner and had the most wonderful meal with the most attentive staff and management. The manager, Sheldon, even concocted my favourite cocktail for me, capping off a perfect day! If the rat-race is getting to you and you just need time to regroup and reconnect with your partner .. or just yourself .. this is the perfect place to do it!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. They have different cabins to suit your needs .. some have ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in the cabins at Sol Duc and had a wonderful time with our 2 kids. The hot springs were amazing, and the trails were decent. It is early in the season and a few spots on the trails were so covered with fallen trees and snow that it made finding the trail a bit tricky at times.
Our cabin was comfortable though lacking in some of the kitchen items mentioned in the description, but the staff was quick and eager to bring what we needed.
No TV or cell service, so be prepared.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the service was pretty bad (this was the first weekend open for the season), but the manager was eager to please. The food was outstanding though lacked a decent children's option. That said, the chef was willing to assist to make the kiddos happy.
So, even though we had some problems the willingness to be made right made up for it all. We plan on going back in a few weeks to camp.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Address: Sol Duc Road, U.S. 101, PO Box 2169, Olympic National Park, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Duc Hot Springs Hotel Olympic National Park
Sol Duc Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.