We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort
Sol Duc Road, U.S. 101, PO Box 2169, Olympic National Park, WA 98362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$119 (USD)
Bellevue, Wa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent one weekend at the Sol Duc resort. We had a cabin/ duplex with 2 beds and a kitchen. The overall room looked ok with the comfy beds and was impressed with the nice white bedding. The value however is not that great, close to $260 for 2 adults/2 kids giving the accommodations and location. We had dinner at the restaurant and again I would rate it as an average experience.
The changing rooms/shower/ restrooms at the pools were not close to acceptable and looked "plain" dirty. I'm not sure that I would return to this resort. There is no cell phone connection no TV and ofcourse no wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    90
    55
    40
    20
See reviews for
91
109
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we loved our little "cabin" and the Starbucks coffee provided. It was both quiet and clean, and a comfy bed/pillow put us close to a great waterfall hike to start our day... off to the hot springs pool afterward made for a great start to our day!

Room Tip: Our cabin was furthest from the pools/restaurant but the whole complex seemed fairly quiet, so it mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our third trip to SolDuc - second overnighter. I've rated it before and found that some areas have improved. Our cabin was cleaner and a little more charming than the previous one. It sported some pictures on the wall, and the bath accessories were more plentiful. The beds are definitely very comfortable - but I'm glad I brought my own pillow this time - theirs are just too tiny and poofy.

Last time the food was excellent - this time I'd rate it just "good". The Brine pork loin was slightly pink - but surprisingly tough. Two in our group ordered it and neither one of us liked it. It doesn't happen often because I'm not a fussy eater - but I was forced to discard a really tough piece into a tissue. Breakfast was very good for everyone.

But the most important thing to be aware of is especially the medium hot pool's condition. By the time we arrived around 4pm it had turned from a clear turquoise to a murky green (no chlorine). No way did any of us dare get into that one. Last time we actually felt itchy after using it. The majority of people are day-users, not over-nighters. On a nice day like this October day it was mobbed.

People bring their kids of all ages, treating the facility like an aquatic fun park - running around inside the pool, screaming and splashing. That is highly annoying for people like us who came to relax - some even in wheelchairs - and enjoy the water's medicinal properties. I didn't notice that last time. It would be better if they didn't allow children under 16 in those pools. Since daily unlimited use of the pools is included in the nightly rate - you won't get your money's worth unless you arrive early in the morning and don't get out until your room is ready (unless of course you don't mind the murky thing...). The next morning we all went in immediately when it opened at 9am and the color was turquoise again (they drain and refill it overnight).

Everything else was pleasant. We remembered to bring something to read and games (no TV or cell/internet coverage), and had a relaxing time in quiet surroundings. The star studded skies are super clear - maybe bring binocs or a small telescope. Do bring a flash light though! We forgot to take ours to the restaurant - but my husband's Droid has an awesome built-in flashlight (the only thing it was good for up there...). Lighting is not very good across one side of the parking lot to find your way back to the cabins - especially the ones way in the back. I don't know if anyone pooper scoops after the deer so watch out for the occasional "land-mine" on the grass.

Despite some of the pitfalls we will be back, but not during the summer months when it's mobbed up there. We had changed our August reservation to October because of it - but our glorious weather held up so it was still mobbed.....

Room Tip: Unless two beds are needed - try to get one with a king size bed. The cabins with two queen beds wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

All rooms are cabins that have a porch with a bench, lawn area, picnic tables, and a swing. There is a slow running river (Sol Duc) on the property, but no children's play area...just lawn. Park your car beside your cabin...no dusty roadways as all are paved. This property is located in a forested area. We saw birds (Bluejays) and chipmunks beside our cabin.
When we opened the door to our cabin (wood siding), our mouths dropped with how nice it looked inside. The cabins must have been newly decorated as the feature wall was a pleasant mint green, head boards for the 2 Queen beds had moose and bear motifs, duvets were a fresh white with brown accessories, love-seat, nice looking drapes, clean carpet, and wood dining table and bedside tables. The room looked quite posh. This is our type of "camping out in the woods"! The room had coffee/tea/hot chocolate supplies, but no TV, no phone (a phone booth was available in front of the lodge). Bathroom is a bit tight, but it had a tub with a shower and fluffy towels. It is not luxurious. The cabin has electric heat and the screened windows slide open for cool evening air (no AC).
We arrived in the late afternoon to enjoy the outdoor hot pools before dinner. Pool entry was included in the room rate otherwise they charge about $13. The pools are located behind the lodge/main office building. It is a large area with a regular big swimming pool for serious swimmers, 1 shallow splash pool for kiddies, one not so hot, larger pool, and one smaller hotter pool. Both hot water pools are not for swimming in, but for sitting/soaking. Plastic chairs and loungers are available on the spacious patio. There would be sun for part of the day shining down on this area even though the pools are surrounded by large evergreen trees. In mid-September, we had a temperature range of 9C to 22C. Spa is also located in rooms beside the pool area. The pool hours were 9am-9pm and a lifeguard was present at all times. Food is available steps away...order deli food from a window and eat it on the patio in your swimming suit or get dressed and eat in the dining room.
We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room which has views to the pools. Don't expect tablecloths on the tables, nor a fine dining experience. Dinner menu had several selections with average prices (under $25), but I went for the special of the day...almond breaded snapper with blackberry sauce ($23) which I wouldn't order again - too much breading. My hubby had meat loaf ($18). Salmon was $24 and chicken was $18, and burgers around $6. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. 2 eggs as a side were $3, omelets were $10, 3 pancakes (8") with fruit were $6-8, steel cut oat porridge was $5. We had morning coffee in the room instead of paying for it in the restaurant. There are no other restaurants close by. Some cabins have kitchens. The office has a small selection of drinks, milk, fast foods....mini-mart foods.
We were surprised how flat the drive was to this accommodation....no switch backs, etc. Easy drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I have come to Sol Duc every year for many years. The hot springs are an amazing experience, and we're always surprised by the number of people from all around the world who somehow find their way to this remote location. There are two hot pools, a cold "swimming" pool, and a shallow kiddie pool.
On a clear night, there are so many stars, and it is very quiet and peaceful. The beds are new and very nice. No TVs or cell phones, which is a huge blessing. People read, converse, and there are beautiful hikes to be taken nearby, nature at it's finest. Of course, it is Washington so you need to be prepared for rain but even then it's mostly a fine mist and perfect for soaking in the hot water.
Reservations are a must because they are always booked solid. And because the location is remote, I absolutely recommend calling a few days ahead to confirm the reservation, and bring your paperwork with you. I've just seen it happen too frequently that reservations get messed up, and by the time you get there you're an hour away from other accomodations.

Room Tip: The kitchen cabins are duplexes with thin walls, so we always rent a non-kitchen cabin and bring an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed one night in the River Suite. The view of the river was actually not much, and the River Suite is over the maintenance facility for the "resort." It was spacious, but the cleanliness left a little to be desired. The location is very nice, and close to many trailheads in the park. The restaurant at the "resort" was surprisingly good, with full bar service. The mineral hot springs were an unusual, somewhat quirky and retro attraction. This was an interesting stop, but we would not return. Olympic National Park is beautiful and a must-see, and this "resort" is centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a non-kitchen cabin and were very pleased. The cabins are well maintained, very clean, and serve their purpose. They have very comfortable queen beds, attractive, nature themed decor (flat metal tree shaped headboards, theme lamp shades, etc.), a loveseat and a large square table that could be used for eating although there are only two chairs. There is no AC but with windowns on opposite walls, we got a good cross breeze and did not need AC, even during the middle of the afternoon. There is no phone, TV, refrigerator or much of anything else. But with the river just a few feet away, a nice covered porch with a bench, the hot springs, and several trails nearby, you probably won't be in your cabin that much unless the weather keeps you in. The hot springs were crowded but not too bad. They do smell of sulfur. The staff were nice and helpful. The restaurant is reasonably priced with good quality food considering there are no alternatives within 20 miles. There is a nice little shop with some amenities and souvenirs. We were glad we stayed here. It is quite isolated, so I would not recommend a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort

Address: Sol Duc Road, U.S. 101, PO Box 2169, Olympic National Park, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Duc Hot Springs Hotel Olympic National Park
Sol Duc Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Duc Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.