We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Crescent Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake Crescent Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Crescent Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   416 Lake Crescent Road, Olympic National Park, WA 98363   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$119 (USD)
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“most beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family of four stayed here for 3 nights. We stayed in the Singer Tavern cottages. This was a total splurge - the rooms are expensive. But I was very happy that we chose the cottages. They are so cute and they look out at the water and the beatiful lodge. You could not ask for a more picturesque place to go to sleep. The rooms have been updated and they are sparse and tidy with very comfortable beds. The floor in the bathroom could use a better scrubbing. Food here is expensive and I would recommend eating on the lodge porch rather than eating in the dining room. You can order off the main menu or the porch menu and I think the porch is a prettier setting. The hardest thing about staying here is food. There is nowhere to get something quick and inexpensive. The little grocery has almost nothing to eat. Breakfast is a struggle with kids if you don't want to spend a lot of money. We found a larger grocery store and bought bananas and muffins and even had a picnic of grocery store fried chicken one night. Plan ahead for food. It can really break the bank. Having said that, we loved our stay here. All the staff was very friendly. We loved the lodge and played games by the fire every night. I was so happy that we decided to stay here and we will remember this trip as one of our favorites.

Room Tip: Go for the splurge and stay in the Singer Tavern Rooms - they are special and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    153
    53
    23
    14
See reviews for
136
239
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carterville, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The lobby of the lodge is very welcoming with rustic park lodge ambiance and 24/7 fire in the fireplace. Plenty of leather chairs and sofas for visiting, reading, email, wining etc. Free wifi. The bright, flower filled solarium overlooks beautiful Lake Crescent, huge douglas firs and rhododendron rich landscaping. It is another good place to sip tea or wine, visit or read and while away the hours. If the weather is good there are lots of adirondack chairs for relaxing on the lawn overlooking the lake. The lodge restaurant has an excellent menu and jovial staff and more good views. Stayed three nights. The room wasn't anything fancy but was roomy and clean. Didnt spend much time in it anyhow.
The lodge location is convenient for day trips to Sol Duc, Hurricane Ridge, Port Angeles, Dungeness NWR etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, wa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ok - balmy it wasn't, but the setting is gorgeous and the employees are exceptional. It was cloudy and very cool - but the location just makes you sit down in an Adirondack chair - and soak it all in. No sun soaking - to be sure - but still compelling and beautiful.
Went with my in-laws - one wheelchair, 90 and 87 years of age. We were treated like royalty. Anyone we interacted with made us feel special. Tammy (a waitress and overall ambassador for the property) was exemplary! Tammy is new to this company - and she is a keeper! Wendy was fabulous too. Mary in the gift shop was very helpful and interested in making our stay enjoyable. It is not inexpensive. The Singer cabin #5 was fine, but there are no bargains here. Once you tell yourself you are paying for the location and conveniences - my cheapskate tendencies start to wane . We left needing more time here. We will be back. Stop reading and book a slice of paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed just one night in Singer Cabin #27. The view and setting of the whole complex made you feel like you were on a movie set location from long ago. The room was nothing special but possessed charm that cannot be made at a new facility. We had dinner at the lodge and ate off of the bar menu. They have a great selections of local wines and beers. The bar menu is a little more reasonable than the main dining and has portions big enough to share if need to save a few dollars. We also had breakfast in the main dining in the morning and enjoyed the view and food. The lodge has tons of old character. The lodge is a little pricy but the view and feel of the place is priceless. There's a reason this place is always booked up. Wish I could have stayed longer and made it home base to visit Olympic National Park. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Singer cabin 27 faces the Lake and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Depending on what you are looking for and which room/cottage you stay in, this property could be mediocre or fabulous. It may not be for everyone, but we enjoyed it very much. The setting cannot be beat. The grounds are very well maintained and there are numerous trails through old growth forest along and across Barnes Creek and to Marymere Falls. The lodge is just wonderful with its large stone fireplace, gift shop, bar and light snack area, dining room and huge sun porch. The beach and dock area are liberally dotted with picnic tables and Adirondack chairs. The accommodations are a bit mixed. We stayed in one of the Singer Tavern Cottages. It was clean and the linens were fresh, had a small refrigerator and coffee machine (with Starbucks coffee), lots of seating including comfortable chairs on the porch which looked out on the lake. Walls are thin and some of the furniture was worn. For us, the setting made up for it and we were okay with the trade-offs. However, next time we will stay in one of the Roosevelt cottages which are right on the beach, much more private and better furnished including a fireplace. The restaurant was excellent for dinner, but only so-so for breakfast. Staff members were friendly, professional, helpful and knowledgeable without exception. We will definitely return and would recommend this place to others who are looking for pristine wilderness areas, a well kept historic property, and spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: Recommend the Roosevelt cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband & I just happened to come across this place after reading about it in Sunset Magazine. The website does it no justice at all, because as soon as we arrived, we realized this was a very magical place! We stayed in the Marymere rooms near the lake ... very basic, but it's the location that matters. Had some drinks at the main lodge bar and then headed out for a walk along the gorgeous lake and then through the wooded nature trails. Dinner was INCREDIBLE ... probably the best meals we've had in a long time (filet & cedar plank salmon). Service was wonderful in all aspects. In the morning, we jogged a 2 mile loop to view the creek and waterfalls. Wish we had more time - would have rented kayaks for a peaceful boat around the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My mom and I stayed in one of the two room Singer Tavern Cottages. It was the most affordable way for us to stay at Lake Crescent (we split the cost). The lodge rooms won't work for us because they have a shared bath and the other options were out of our price range. I was very pleased with our cabin. It did have two rooms with a door separating the bedrooms, although there was only one bathroom and you had to walk through one of the bedrooms to get to it, but that was fine. The beds were extremely comfortable - we slept well each night. All of the Singer Tavern Cottage have a great view of the lake and are right by the lodge ... the other options are more of a hike to the lodge if that matters. We did get a tour of the Roosevelt cottages and I didn't think they looked like they were worth the extra cost over the Singer cottages plus the one we visited smelled very smokey from the fireplace. The location cannot be beat - the setting on the lake is unparalleled. When we were there the flowers and trees were all blooming and the air smelled like perfume - so lovely! The hike to Marymere is nearby and easy and in the evenings I found all kinds of trails just in the nearby vicinity of the lodge. I couldn't get enough of the trees and ferns - and deer!

The only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the restaurant. They have it set up to be VERY formal with whitetable clothes and formal settings. The wait staff is very stiff and formal and while polite it just feels too stuffy for the location. Most of the entrees are $25 and up per person unless you order a burger. You can eat at the bar too and they have a bar menu but it's pretty limited. We at breakfast there every day just for convenience but again the menu is limited.

Lake Crescent has the best gift shop of all the Park operated gift shop locations and the gift shop staff is a wealth of information about the area. If you have questions I'd start by asking the gift shop staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Crescent Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crescent Lodge

Address: 416 Lake Crescent Road, Olympic National Park, WA 98363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Crescent Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge located in the Olympic Peninsula on the shore of Lake Crescent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Lake Crescent Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Crescent Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Crescent Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.