We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fjord-like lake setting, fabulous lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Crescent Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Crescent Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Crescent Lodge
416 Lake Crescent Road, Olympic National Park, WA 98363   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fjord-like lake setting, fabulous lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Depending on what you are looking for and which room/cottage you stay in, this property could be mediocre or fabulous. It may not be for everyone, but we enjoyed it very much. The setting cannot be beat. The grounds are very well maintained and there are numerous trails through old growth forest along and across Barnes Creek and to Marymere Falls. The lodge is just wonderful with its large stone fireplace, gift shop, bar and light snack area, dining room and huge sun porch. The beach and dock area are liberally dotted with picnic tables and Adirondack chairs. The accommodations are a bit mixed. We stayed in one of the Singer Tavern Cottages. It was clean and the linens were fresh, had a small refrigerator and coffee machine (with Starbucks coffee), lots of seating including comfortable chairs on the porch which looked out on the lake. Walls are thin and some of the furniture was worn. For us, the setting made up for it and we were okay with the trade-offs. However, next time we will stay in one of the Roosevelt cottages which are right on the beach, much more private and better furnished including a fireplace. The restaurant was excellent for dinner, but only so-so for breakfast. Staff members were friendly, professional, helpful and knowledgeable without exception. We will definitely return and would recommend this place to others who are looking for pristine wilderness areas, a well kept historic property, and spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: Recommend the Roosevelt cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    208
    74
    31
    15
See reviews for
191
309
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband & I just happened to come across this place after reading about it in Sunset Magazine. The website does it no justice at all, because as soon as we arrived, we realized this was a very magical place! We stayed in the Marymere rooms near the lake ... very basic, but it's the location that matters. Had some drinks at the main lodge bar and then headed out for a walk along the gorgeous lake and then through the wooded nature trails. Dinner was INCREDIBLE ... probably the best meals we've had in a long time (filet & cedar plank salmon). Service was wonderful in all aspects. In the morning, we jogged a 2 mile loop to view the creek and waterfalls. Wish we had more time - would have rented kayaks for a peaceful boat around the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My mom and I stayed in one of the two room Singer Tavern Cottages. It was the most affordable way for us to stay at Lake Crescent (we split the cost). The lodge rooms won't work for us because they have a shared bath and the other options were out of our price range. I was very pleased with our cabin. It did have two rooms with a door separating the bedrooms, although there was only one bathroom and you had to walk through one of the bedrooms to get to it, but that was fine. The beds were extremely comfortable - we slept well each night. All of the Singer Tavern Cottage have a great view of the lake and are right by the lodge ... the other options are more of a hike to the lodge if that matters. We did get a tour of the Roosevelt cottages and I didn't think they looked like they were worth the extra cost over the Singer cottages plus the one we visited smelled very smokey from the fireplace. The location cannot be beat - the setting on the lake is unparalleled. When we were there the flowers and trees were all blooming and the air smelled like perfume - so lovely! The hike to Marymere is nearby and easy and in the evenings I found all kinds of trails just in the nearby vicinity of the lodge. I couldn't get enough of the trees and ferns - and deer!

The only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the restaurant. They have it set up to be VERY formal with whitetable clothes and formal settings. The wait staff is very stiff and formal and while polite it just feels too stuffy for the location. Most of the entrees are $25 and up per person unless you order a burger. You can eat at the bar too and they have a bar menu but it's pretty limited. We at breakfast there every day just for convenience but again the menu is limited.

Lake Crescent has the best gift shop of all the Park operated gift shop locations and the gift shop staff is a wealth of information about the area. If you have questions I'd start by asking the gift shop staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a week at the Crescent Lake Lodge and loved every aspect of our stay: We stayed in a beautifully appointed Roosevelt cottage with a captivating view of the lake. Just gazing out the window at the lake was so relaxing and tranquil... We had a comfortable bed with good linen. The resort provided two bundles of firewood every day and we enjoyed spending time near the fireplace at night. The restaurant at the lodge is very good - we had a number of meals over there and every time had great experience - the food was yammy, the servers were very helpful. The personnel at the lodge was very friendly and accommodating. There are a lot of things to do/explore in the area: hiking in the "enchanted" forest with waterfalls, rivers and streams; hot springs, kayaking, Hurricane Ridge, lavender farms, etc. After coming back home, our stay at the Lake Crescent Lodge seems like a dream vacation. We highly recommend this place as a vacation spot.

Room Tip: Choose Roosevelt Cottages. They are more expensive but will provide the most unique and memorable e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, General Manager at Lake Crescent Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the details of your stay. My staff and I are delighted you had such a great time. Thank you so much for visiting us and sharing your experience here for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Between the amazing Aramark staff and the pristine beauty of this lake and lodge there is just no equal. Add in superb food ( not fussy precious food, just fine) and you have perfection. Katherine -- May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, General Manager at Lake Crescent Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Katherine, Thank you for being such a loyal fan of ours. We are always delighted to have you out each year. Hopefully we will see you back for the Holidays to celebrate our new extended season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was able to enjoy a dinner and one perfect night's sleep at the charming Lake Crescent Lodge.
Dinner was absolutely delicious and our server (a wonderful man with a divine singing voice) was outstanding. The goat cheese appetizer was beyond yummy (we ordered a second round!)and the rose wine complemented it all.
My cabin (one of the Singers) was charming and serene. I love the dutch doors! I wish I could be there right now. I will definately be back. Thanks to everyone on staff. My stay couln't have been better!

Room Tip: Try to stay in the charming Singer cabins!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, General Manager at Lake Crescent Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feelings about Lake Crescent Lodge. Guests like yourself make our jobs even more fulfilling. Thank you for visiting, we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the BEST lodging in Olympic National Park! It is gorgeous, quiet, clean, has tons of outdoor activities, the restaurant is cozy with delicious food, and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely be back with my friends and family!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, General Manager at Lake Crescent Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing comments. Please return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympic National Park
18.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 18 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
17.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#6 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
18.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#12 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
#8 of 16 in Port Angeles
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
24.8 mi away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
19.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#3 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Crescent Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crescent Lodge

Address: 416 Lake Crescent Road, Olympic National Park, WA 98363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge located in the Olympic Peninsula on the shore of Lake Crescent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelsClick so you can book your Lake Crescent Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Crescent Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Crescent Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.