We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Crescent Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake Crescent Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Crescent Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   416 Lake Crescent Road, Olympic National Park, WA 98363   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a last minute change in our plans around the Olympic Peninsula that was worth it! The place felt like we had gone back in time. The charm of the lodge and the helpful staff will have us staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, General Manager at Lake Crescent Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We cannot wait for your next trip. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    147
    52
    23
    14
See reviews for
130
225
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

what a beautiful setting. We stayed in a Roosevelt Cabin for two nights and this is really a special place. I have stayed in other Park Service concessions and this one is much nicer than any I've stayed in the past. The facility is great, the quality is surprising, the staff are friendly. My only hesitation is that the restaurant is probably trying to be better than it is, and the prices for food and drinks are quite a bit higher than the value.

Room Tip: if you can get the Roosevelt Cabins, do it. worth the extra money. The other places are OK, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lake Crescent Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. It is right on a pristine lake, and is an easy drive from Port Angeles. Our cabin was very comfortable, and had two separate rooms. The privacy was nice to have, and the cabin was clean, simple, and lovely. The Lodge was a great place the hang out - the bar was open all the time, and also served the full dining room menu. It was great fun to sit on the sun porch, sipping a mint julep and looking over the lake. It really felt like going back in time!

One day when we were there, the activities sign said "This week is the 75th Anniversary of FDR's visit to Lake Crescent Lodge." I could really imagine him there, as I don't think it has changed all that much in the intervening time.

There are lots of beautiful hikes in the area, and we had a great time canoeing on the lake. I wish we had had even more time. We were there 5 nights, and by the end of the time, I felt like I had just sorted out all the fun things I wanted to do some more of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While we were not able to stay at any of the lodges overnight, we were able to visit Lake Crescent, Kalaloch and Quinault in early October of 2012. One thing became apparent to us. The whole Olympic Peninsula experience is one of getting away from the rat race and, thanks to these lodges, being able to step back in time to a more graceful period of our history. Our suggestion is to plan ahead and pay any extra for the chance to experience this grace. Of the three, we loved the location of Crescent Lodge the best - a beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. Serene and lovely. We are not comfortable giving them 5 stars because we did not stay overnight, but suspect we would have given them the five stars had we.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Lake Crescent Lodge on a trip around the Washington National Parks in September and October. I wouldn't give the lodge four stars when compared to nicer hotels and B&Bs I've stayed out, but it's a four star when compared with other NP lodging I've visited (Old Faithful Inn, Bryce Lodge, Zion Lodge, Paradise Inn, Ross Lake, Kalaloch Lodge).

Based on reviews on Trip Advisor and National Parks Traveler, I decided to book a room in the Marymere building (single-story motel on the lake). The room was clean and recently renovated, including a large updated bathroom, with a lovely view of the lake. The room was rather spartan with two queen beds, a dresser, nightstand and bench, but we did have plenty of room to spread out. The walls were thin like many NP lodgings (I could hear a neighbor snoring through the bathroom), but it was quiet in the bedroom area. We did have an end unit, so it may be louder if you have a room somewhere in the middle (or during high-season).

It was a short walk to the charming main lodge where the food was pricey, but also *much* better than any I've had at any other lodge. Overall it was clean and comfy and I would recommend a stop here when visiting the north side of Olympic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lake Crescent Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The view and the setting are lovely. The room was what we expected from a National Park Lodge, not luxurious, but a good size, clean, comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the StormKing rooms. The rooms are very simple and basic, but clean. There is just a bed and small bath. There is a coffee maker, but no fridge and no luggage rack in the room. It has a nice view of the lake. You can park behind the building so it’s easy to bring in the luggage. This building of rooms is’nt attached to the main lodge, but you had to walk just 100 meters over for the main building. The lodge is set far from the highway so it's very quiet, terrific location in the forest, accessible to hiking and activities. The lodge overlooks the beautiful Lake Crescent. The lodge is charming with a large fireplace, beautiful lake views and a small gift shop. There is free wifi in the lodge. The lodge restaurant was fine for both breakfast and dinner, with plenty of menu choices. It has large windows with great views, the food was very good and staff friendly and fun. The staff at the reception is helpful and informative too.
The StormKing rooms are fine, but I would also recommend checking out the cabins. The lodge is beautiful but many rooms share a bath and maybe a little overprized; I suggest the cabins because the ambiance may be better than StormKing.
If you are going to the Olympic National Forest, I would definitely recommend this lodge and have time to enjoy the lake and hiking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

the walls in the rooms, which are themselves quite lovely, are so thin, that unless you are the heaviest sleeper, good luck. i could literally hear the woman next door breathing, not even snoring. other side was someone with a bad cough. i barely got any sleep at all. then my neighbors got up at 4.30 and talking in their normal voices woke me up.
the cabins could be better, if you can afford them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Crescent Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crescent Lodge

Address: 416 Lake Crescent Road, Olympic National Park, WA 98363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympic National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Olympic National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Crescent Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge located in the Olympic Peninsula on the shore of Lake Crescent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Crescent Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Crescent Hotel Olympic National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Crescent Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.