We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Hike With Nice Scenery.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainy Lake

Rainy Lake
Rainy Pass (Highway 20), North Cascades National Park, WA
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Small Hike With Nice Scenery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A short easy trail in the North Cascade Scenic Highway a few miles after the Washington Pass Look out Post. The Trail is completely paved and is suitable for children and elderly.The trail is about two miles bothway and you have a look at a wonderful lake and scenic mountains at the end of the trail.The only snag is that look out post at the end of the trail is a very small one and gets cramped if more hikers are there. On the whole it is a nice hike with beautiful scenery on the way.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Easy hike with wonderful mountain lake at end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a very easy hike, one mile in and one mile back. The trail is completely paved and level and hence friendly for small children, those who have some mobility constraints, or (in our case) those who have already had a full day of vigorous hiking and are tired but wish to get in one last gentle walk before calling it a day. There are some small streams along the way and then at the end of the trail is a viewing deck from which to behold the stunningly beautiful cirque containing Rainy Lake.

It would be nice if a trail could be constructed around the entire lake, or at least if there were a larger or multiple viewing platforms at the end. With hikes that have a vista point as their goal, you kind of want an opportunity for some quiet solitude at the endpoint in order to admire and reflect at what nature has created. This was not a crowded hike late on a Sunday afternoon in mid-July, but there were a few other parties there and voices tend to carry in this setting. I suppose if you are looking for solitude, choose a longer hike or go on a weekday.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very easy short paved trail to a beautiful lake. fine for wheelchairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great place to stretch the legs if driving the N. Cascades Hwy. There are no easy trails bast the overlook at the end of the paved trail.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Nice hike to the lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We did the Rainy Lake hike after coming off of a 7.8 mile hike from Maple Pass. We were there so we continued on to Rainy Lake as we had heard from another hiker that there was a moose there earlier in the morning. So we make it to the lake, but with the fires that were going on in the area, the smoke had filled the canyon where Rainy Lake is. We couldn't even see the other side of the lake because of the smoke. So, needless to say, we saw no moose. But, it is a nice hike, the trail looked to be wheel chair friendly and the scenery along the way is beautiful!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosterzele
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“lovely little lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

this is a very nice trip of only 2 miles (roundtrip).No elevation.
Behind the lake is the Lyall Glacier with his falls.
Trip of one hour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainy Lake also viewed

North Cascades National Park, WA
North Cascades National Park, WA
 
North Cascades National Park, WA
North Cascades National Park, WA
 

Been to Rainy Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainy Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.