We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing but a sunny beautiful day would help” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Cascades Highway

North Cascades Highway
North Cascades National Park, WA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic highway measuring 132 miles.
Yokneam Moshava
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
177 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Amazing but a sunny beautiful day would help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I came to see th North Cascades Highway and the NP on a cloudy and partially rainy day (had no other choice). And since this was February, you couldn't drive fully through if from west to east, as some of the major parts are closed throughout the winter. Yet, you still see the high potential of this amazingly beautiful area, with its lakes (the very small ones were frozen), its snowcovered peaks all around you, and the fascinating views all along the way. I'd definitely want to come back, and complete the ride in the spring/summer, or even just on a sunny day, where the reflections on the small lakes would give fantastic photo opportunities.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Easy Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is one National Park you don't have to miss. The road is a scenic highway with many overlooks and colorful towns to stop in. You get the best of both worlds, both convenience and natural beauty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“North Cascades Trip - Evergreen Escapes 09 Sept 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

North Cascades gives you a little bit of everything you'd wish for in Washington State. I had a great day out with Evergreen Escapes. The State of Washington was having one of its longest recorded days without rain. I think this was the last day before it rained and the clouds were ominous. However, as the day progressed the clouds cleared away so we were able to see the beautiful scenery. We started off with a couple of walks through old growth forests at the Sauk Springs and Evergreen trails. We spent some time at the Nth Cascades Visitor Centre and then headed off to the Skagit River Hydroelectric Project. Doesn't sound very interesting but it provided some great views and photo oppertunities. We were lucky enough to see salmon swimming upstream from the bridge. The garden and falls behind the building were lovely, especially during the autumn season. We stopped for a really delicious gourmet picnic lunch by Lake Diablo followed by a longer walk through the Thunder Creek trailhead. The neon coloured fungi were indredible to see. We also stopped for an extended period at the Lake Diablo lookout for some fabulous views of the mountains, glaciers, lakes and trees. Not forgetting the cheeky chipmunks of course. On our way out of the Park we stopped at The Gorge Overlook and walked along the short trail there. We had a few welcome unscheduled stops (or slowdowns) in Darrington to take pictures of the old houses and old shops there. I thoroughly recommend Evergreen Escapes, clean and comfortable mercedes van, knowlegdable and thoughtful guide / drivers. Small groups and varying interests catered for.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The True Beauty of Washington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This drive pretty much shows me every time why I love this state. I have driven it many many times and it never ceases to awe and inspire me. The huge mountains and beautiful waterfalls, Diablo Lake and the lush green. I love this drive. Closes in the winter and that is sad but all the more beautiful in the spring.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you have the time take this scenic route. It is beautiful with hidden gems along the way. Take time to stop and take pictures. You don't see these kinds of views everyday.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Cascades Highway also viewed

North Cascades National Park, WA
North Cascades National Park, WA
 
North Cascades National Park, WA
North Cascades National Park, WA
 

Been to North Cascades Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cascades Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.