We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Cascades Highway

North Cascades Highway
North Cascades National Park, WA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A scenic highway measuring 132 miles.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very scenic drive with many hiking options. Washington Pass and Diablo Lake overlooks are the highlights.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Goodell Creek Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just spent four days here. The campground is in Newhalem, an old company electrical town that serves the three dams (Gorge, Diablo, and Ross Lake). We stayed in the Lower Goodell Creek group camp. No water or electricty on site, but water is not to far away. It has a great fire pit, large covered eating area, large/clean pit toilet, large bear lockers and 4 picnic tables. It has several very nice camping spots, each with a table and fire pit, and very well maintained sites for pitching your tent. I was surprised how few of the camping spots were taken at this time of the summer. This are is unbelievable beautiful. Lots of hikes (short and easy to very difficult), tour of the town, park ranger talks, Skagit River (we whitewater rafted one day!), you can drive over the Diablo dam (really cool), tour of the Gorge power house, and much more. We didn't even make it to the top of the pass as there was so much to do in the area. This is a great place to camp and visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dedicate a whole day to this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We only had a half day and didn't get to enjoy all of this amazing drive. We stopped at the National Park visitor's Center in Newhalem and were greeted by enthusiastic rangers. We took 2 short hikes there are Newhalem, both in the town itself--the waterfalls behind the electric plant and the one just past the store. Both were incredible. The waterfall hike was magical. We want to go back at night when the falls are lit up. The other hike was a great forrest hike. Both were short, but entertained our 3 kids, 7, 11, 13. By that time we had to head back for other obligations. The drive was spectacular and we can't wait to spend mutliple days in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of the few U.S. Ntl Parks with glaciers left.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tons of waterfalls and plenty of glaciers to view - the mountains aren't too bad to look at either. I prefer this park to Glacier actually... There are plenty of pull offs, campgrounds, etc, including a few waterfalls close enough to the road to play in... probably not recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful - a photogs delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We drove through here in early June and saw snow drifts still in some areas. The cascades range from trickles to deluge and are all sparkling clean. There can be and were cloudy areas and the road can be a little tricky even when it's just a little damp.

Well worth the trip and my pics are spectacular!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Cascades Highway also viewed

North Cascades National Park, WA
North Cascades National Park, WA
 
North Cascades National Park, WA
North Cascades National Park, WA
 

Been to North Cascades Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Cascades Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added North Cascades Highway to your Saves list