We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Alpine Lodge in Paradise!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Save
You added Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier to your Saves list
1.5 of 5 Inn   |   Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98398   |  
Hotel amenities
Dedham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rustic Alpine Lodge in Paradise!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

You can't get a better location for a National Park lodge than this! There is so much history to this rustic, classic alpine lodge - it is an honor to be able to stay and enjoy the history and splendor! The great room is spectacular! Beautiful hand-painted lanterns adorn the ceiling of the lodge with it's lodgepole timber exposed beams throughout. Giant fireplaces are at each end of the room with comfortable seating throughout. A special hideaway section upstairs has you tucked in with romantic lighting and seating for two but with a view of the great room below. The dining hall was reminiscent of an era long gone with large windows and a great wide open dining area with round tables throughout. We were lucky enough to come late to the first come first served dinner hours and we were seated by the fireplace. We had a lovely romantic meal and an amazing blackberry pie for dessert. As for the accommodations, it's an alpine lodge supported by the US Dept of the Interior. Not much funding coming it's way to make the rooms as nice as the great room area or dining hall. They are in dire need of updating - the bathrooms are crazy, industrialized straight out of the 1950's laboratory, the windows are old and thin, the walls are paneling, and they are small. But really we didn't expect much better. We didn't come here to spend time in the room. It was for sleeping and getting ready for our adventures in the park! We really didn't mind it, but it was the one thing that took away a 5-star rating. Otherwise the Paradise Inn is by far and away one the special lodges to stay at in any National Park! Worth the price!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter - they all will have some issue with them I'm sure. Just go for the locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in the Paradise Inn. It was our honor to have you as our guest and we certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    224
    113
    61
    28
See reviews for
154
276
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The room we stayed in was the size of a dorm room or cabin on a cruise ship. Any character of the original lodge were paneled over and carpeted to look like a best western. If I had wanted to stay in a generic hotel room I would have picked a generic hotel. The room was stifling hot without any sort of fan to cool. There was humming coming from the walls like an HVAC system that certainly wasn't doing anything for us.

The bed was comfortable and the room was mostly clean although they don't vacuum very well because I found a slipper under the bed which wasn't ours. The bathrooms for the rooms which are down the hall are very poorly maintained for the number of people using them. If I was to stay again I would stay just outside the park and drive in. The lobby is the best feature and the only thing with character left in this lodge.

Room Tip: If you do stay in this hotel and want a mountain facing room ask for an odd number room in the old p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts and comments. Please accept our sincere apologies as we did not meet with your expectations. We take feedback very seriously and will share your comments with our team and certainly address the housekeeping concerns.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and perspective regarding the Paradise Inn.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a lovely rustic old fashioned lodge in a truly beautiful setting.
The rooms are not big, but then you do not go here to spend time in your room. We had the added problem that the power was cut at 8am as new power cables were being laid up the mountain. We discovered that an internal bathroom is very dark without power! Also our shower did not work properly, so they really should fix that.
However having said that, we had a lovely time. The dining room was very good and all staff were very friendly. I loved the shop, and the main lobby where there were ranger talks in the evening.
My teenage son was not impressed, but the rest of us were perfectly happy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay but would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of the power outage and the issue with your shower. We will share your comments with our team and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Mt. Rainier National Park is a beautiful and amazing treasure. Staying at Paradise Inn is less so.
I stayed on night in the Annex in a $210 night room with tax. The room was very small, had cheap paneling that was coming up,one funky chair that was broken,bad lighting,a cheap shower with poor water flow and numerous stains including a 10 inch one on the ceiling to look up at while laying in bed. The parking was scarce and a hassle. I liked the historic features of the main lodge. The dining in the hall was a disappointment because of the low quality and high prices of the food.Most staff I found to be polite, but the service for my dinner and breakfast buffet was amateur at best. I would rate the food as below the quality of a Denny's. The management here can do better. Telling guests that there is a renovation planned three years from now in 2017 is not good enough at the prices charged.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. I would first like to apologize for your disappointing visit. We appreciate all feedback and I have taken the liberty of forwarding your comments to our entire team. We strive to offer consistently quality food with exceptional service and you did not experience this. Again, we offer our sincere apologies and will work diligently to perform to a higher standard.

Thank you again for your review.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The location is visually gorgeous and centrally located in the park. If you don't stay here, you end up driving 20-30 min from the nearest hotel in order to access the trails here. I knew in advance that it was a rustic place with small rooms, no internet, TV, etc. I totally understood that it is a historic hotel and not a 5 star resort. What I did not expect was how small the room in the Annex actually was. There was barely room to pass by the end of the bed to get to the other side, yet there was a desk in the room. Who uses a desk in a closet sized room when Mt Rainier beckons outside? The room was also quite hot and stuffy. Fortunately I thought to ask for a fan which they were able to provide. Other than that, the room with a private bath was adequate and clean but not a place you would want to spend much time in except to sleep.
My major gripe has to do with parking. Even on a weekday, we could not find parking upon check-in and had to take a drive and come back later in order to find a parking place. Then we were afraid to go anywhere for fear of not being able to find a space upon return. There is a small, inadequate section that is supposedly for hotel guests only but it is not enforced. I find it unacceptable that we should pay such a high price for these simple accommodations and not be guaranteed a parking place. There is a big visitor center here with a lot of daytime visitors and it is commonplace for the parking lot to fill early in the day.
There is a patio with limited seating at the end of the lobby with gorgeous views. Unfortunately, it was completely overrun with people not even staying at the hotel preventing hotel guests from using the patio. Again, a shame considering how much it costs to stay here.
The restaurant was adequate, the service was fine but since its the only show in town, its quite pricey.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay based on the grandeur of the surroundings. Not sure I would stay here again though since I felt that it was not worth the exorbitant prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to offer your thoughts and comments on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry you could not find parking when you arrived and agree that parking can certainly be a problem at Paradise during our peak visitation months of July and August. The National Park Service allocates parking spaces in front of the inn for overnight guests and vehicles parked there must display a blue parking permit. Unfortunately, this is the only area the park service reserves for overnight guests and our staff monitors this throughout the day and evening hours. Parking outside of this area is open to the public and managed by the National Park Service with the best available parking before 10 am or after 6 pm. The small patio outside the Tatoosh Café is certainly popular and we are sorry seats were not available. The Paradise Inn is open to the public and seating generally becomes more readily available during the evening hours.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for sharing your thoughts and perspective regarding the Paradise Inn.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stay one night before climbing Mt Rainier in July in Paradise inn lodge and I love the service of the staff in the front desk,the restaurant is excellent,the diner was perfect and the breakfast delicioso. I like the gift shop and the coffee shop. The hotel is a historic inn almost 100 years old hand crafted wooden beans and stone. The views of the surrounding and the Mt Rainier are beautiful.
Very clean hotel and very attentive staff.
I like that is not TV,and no cell phone coverage at the lodge. For mi is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3 floor have a nice views of Mt Rainier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our third attempt at climbing Mt. Rainier in the past 5 years. Each time we climbed the mountain, we treated ourselves to a night at Paradise Lodge on the night before the climb. It's a lovely place, hand-crafted of wooden beams and tree-trunks and stone. The building is gorgeous! The staff is attentive, and while the bathroom and shower is "down the hall", it is a minor inconvenience. They provide thick fluffy white terrycloth robes and sandals to scuff around the halls in. The beds are excellent and comfortable. Staying at the lodge is a classic experience that takes you back to the 1920's with fires in the fireplace, board games on the big wooden tables and a piano player knocking out Broadway tunes and classical music. In one evening, you meet people from around the world. The dining room is big and the meals filling. The water is PURE! The chairs are comfortable. After a night in the lodge, we really did NOT want to climb the mountain and sleep in tents... It's my third stay here, and I would definitely come back here again! Please note that there is no cell phone coverage at the lodge. If you want to call out, you must use the pay phones...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
You are a valued returning guest and we would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for your fourth visit!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

Address: Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98398
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Rainier National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier 1.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1916 and designated as one of the "Great Lodges of the West" this historic guest lodge sits in the shadow of Mount Rainier surrounded by mountain meadows lush with wildflowers. Miles of hiking trails just outside the front door lead to adventures in all directions and offer panoramic views of glaciers and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Paradise Inn Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.