We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Great Historic Lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Save
You added Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier to your Saves list
1.5 of 5 Inn   |   Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98398   |  
Hotel amenities
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location - Great Historic Lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lot of beauty and history here, Ranger gave us a wonderful history of lodge reconstruction and stories of the area. Really enjoyed talking to the Ranger - he made the trip.

No fire in fireplace, lodge cold, later snow and no electricity, food was bad, served cold, service was spotty, staff seemed unprepared and uninterested in helping guests with basic needs, lodge parking lot was full of snow - but no staff to help get cars out, (1) shovel shared by about (20) hotel guests trying to get cars out.

Room Tip: Look around or listen to previous travelers on choices, We had out of control kids running up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. First, allow me to apologize for your disappointing experience – this is not at all indicative of what we expect of our team members. I have forwarded your comments to our management team so that corrective measures can be put into place immediately.

Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope you have the opportunity to visit at another time.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    222
    113
    60
    28
See reviews for
153
275
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fantastic. Historic lodge is a trip back in time, rooms are plain & cozy, views are breathtaking. Location the best for hiking Mt. Rainier. Rustic and beautiful, but not spartan, despite shared shower down the hall. Toilet is down the hall, but small sink in room. We spent each night on the patio stargazing in the dark - never knew there were that many stars are up there! Hope to go back someday. One money-saving idea though: the dining room in the hall is expensive for dinner, so pay attention to the prices. Good good though, especially breakfast. No screens of any kind: TV, computer, cell service, internet. Heavenly. Being right on the mountain and waking up to the view was incredible. Highly recommend as a unique place and wonderful experience - can't say enough about how much we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts and comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It's actually the only place I stayed, so I don't know ... but I loved it! The food, the hall, the room, the facilities were all clean, well organised, classic and traditional. The views are stunning and the facilities are warm and cosy.

Furthermore, there are a number of great hikes straight from the door.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms don't have bathrooms - so make sure that you check you are getting a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Paradise Inn is located in an amazingly beautiful meadow on Mt. Rainier. Views are stunning, hiking trails are excellent. We spent several days walking the trails, eating in the lodge dining room, and spending wonderful evenings sitting in the lodge with the crackling fire and the beautiful piano music provided by a very talented gentleman. No Internet, no TV, and no room phones. What a glorious way to 'get away.' Our room was in the annex on the 4th floor, which is basically the attic. It was very small, but adequate. Beds were comfortable. Toiletries were very nice. And the view out the window? Mt. Rainier in all its glory! We used the room only for sleeping and the bathroom. It almost forces you to get out and experience the fantastic lodge and surroundings. Our only complaint was it was rather warm and stuffy at night, even with the window open. If you are looking for luxury and room space, this may not work for you. If you want a place to sleep and shower while experiencing this beautiful National Park, Paradise is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Paradise Inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location is utterly wonderful, with the snow covered mountain peak soaring above. Lots of the walks start right at the hotel parking lot.

The hotel, built in the "parkitecture" style of the National Parks, has two halves. The older part, with the reception, entrance and public rooms is a magnificent, lofty, soaring atrium. The floor is set out with rustic tables, chairs, grandfather clock and piano in an original style, all created historically by a carpenter for the Inn, as well as stone fireplaces with wood fires lit in the afteroon. Here you can take your pre-dinner or evening drinks, reading, and listening to the piano player riffing his way through show tunes and the better known tunes from the classical repertoire. There is a small verandah, with natural views, but at this altitude it was cold sitting out in September. The atrium has an internal mezzanine floor where tea is served in the afternoon. From the mezzanine floor there is access to a number of bedrooms, which I suppose have been recently refreshed, because this half of the hotel was recently restored, very well in the parts I saw.

A corridor behind reception at ground level leads to an Annex which forms the second half of the hotel, and, since this half is built at a lower level than the main half, the corridor connects into floor 3 of the Annex, with staircase access to floor 4 above and to 2 and 1 below. The Annex rooms are built to an old standard: they are smallish, thin-walled and decorated in National Park brown. But they are authentic, considering their historic origin, comfortably furnished and warm. The bathrooms are modern, but some rooms have no bathrooms and you'll need a trip down the hall. I was told that the Annex is due for renovation soon - it might be closed for a season or two, as was the main part when it was done up.

No internet, no TV, no telephones - wonderful!

The Dining Room is comfortable, service is efficient and the food is good (better than average but not wonderful). There is a café, with good beer and coffee, but poor food.

There is a limited number of room with level access: some in the corridor joining the two halves and some on Level 3 of the Annex. The rest are up or down steep, narrow staircases; there is no elevator. The main entrance to the Dining Room was down a small flight of stairs but I saw a wheel chair so I think there are other, level ways in.

I'd like to go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are individual. Think carefully beforehand about your requirements and discuss them on the ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Paradise is probably the most popular location in Mt. Rainier. So - if you go in peak season - as we did ...... be prepared for long - I mean LONG - lines of cars to just get to the Paradise Inn. Then be prepared to not find parking near the front of the lodge. The parking reserved for guests will probably be full - so you'll need to walk a bit. Be prepared for no elevators, no internet, no air conditioning.

On the plus side --- yes there is one :-) ........you will probably have an incredible view from your room - no matter which direction it faces. The rooms are clean - You may get a room with only a tub bath - no shower. So that was an experience from the past.

The people who work at the hotel are very nice and helpful - This in itself is amazing with all the looky-loos pouring in and out of the lobby. The General Manager was helpful, gracious and a true lady.

So ..... a mixed review here. To sum it up - this is an old historic lodge which comes with the good and the not so good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed one night here. The views were awesome. Great area for short hikes. We stayed in main building. Had to share bathroom, but it was no big deal. No internet, but you are up in the mountain! Would definatly stay there again. Desk clerks very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

Address: Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98398
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Rainier National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier 1.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1916 and designated as one of the "Great Lodges of the West" this historic guest lodge sits in the shadow of Mount Rainier surrounded by mountain meadows lush with wildflowers. Miles of hiking trails just outside the front door lead to adventures in all directions and offer panoramic views of glaciers and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Paradise Inn Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.